We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the first weekend in March for two nights. We had room 311 which was quite small but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is about 20 min walk from the main train station where you will find all the tour buses and the shops on Princes street. We had 2 good nights sleep at the hotel and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. If your looking for a hotel for a short stay they is within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh book this one you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henllys_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    491
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
239
572
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Wanted a long weekend away so choose Edinburgh as not huge and plenty to do, travelled by Train from London (this would be another review). Looked at a lot of Hotels, but this was central, on bus route and near centre. Room was good size, clean and so much hot water. Breakfast was good and as we had booked in advance had full choice and as much as you wanted. Room was cleaned daily. Tea and Coffee making facility good but why 3 of each item when there are 2 in room!! We each morning took a couple of fruit tea bags from breakfast. In conclusion good location, near bus route, near good restaurants, quite room, breakfast good. just what we needed.

Room Tip: All rooms we looked at had good size windows, but none with any great view, either onto road, or ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear crazeUk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and also post useful information on travel details for future guests. We are very lucky with our location in that we are a short walk to the excellent airlink bus to Edinburgh airport but we are also within a short walk to the Castle, Princess Street and many visitor attractions. Your feedback on the tea & coffee making facilities is also most welcome – I will pass this on to our head of housekeeping to make sure we can learn from your feedback to improve this particular service for future guests.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for a week. It was in a great location, only 10mins walk from the Royal Mile but away from any noise as our room looked on to a quiet garden & old church/chapel. The staff were very friendly & helpful at all times. The rooms were large, very clean & well furnished for a 3 star. We took an offer via Lastminute for a room-only, but there is both a Tesco extra & Sainsburys only a 5 minute walk-away for breakfast/simple lunch. Then we dined out in the many restaurants available nearby. We also had a meal in the hotel's 'Simpsons' restaurant which was very good and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone & would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

we have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel stayed in room 301 a massive room with a huge bed and sofa looked more like a flat then a room really easy to get to from waverly station about a 20 min walk although we found some sneaky routes about 10 mins to base of the castle if you went the opposite way and a 10 mins walk down lothian road you come out at the top of princess street and heart of the new town we had the £20 upgrade on the 1st night which was a lovely little touch of wine chocolates and crisps the staff were all friendly and helpful even having our room ready to check in at 11am instead of the usual 2pm worth the phone call to explain if your due to arrive on an early train the bus stop is a 2 min walk from the hotel and we found you didnt wait long for a bus to arrive well worth the £1.30 fare into the town we only had breakfast 1 morning using a breakfast token at £7 a person if you buy before 11pm night before was a good selection of foods to eat and the choice of a hot breakfast included this works out good value as the cafes sell full scotish breakfast for around £6 without a drink included we would stay again as its a lovely hotel with lots of character and at the price we payed worth the money at £69 a night

Room Tip: corner suites are large and bright and the £7 breakfast token is a good deal if you like a good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscandmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear misscandmrd,

Thank you for your review and your very positive comments about the hotel and your overall stay. It is also great to read you decided to indulge yourself with one of our lovely superior packages for an extra £20.00. Thank you for also choosing to have breakfast with us and posting your feedback. You are right in saying that a few local cafes do offer breakfast for £1.00 less that us but our offering of a buffet style continental breakfast along with a cooked breakfast made to order plus tea, coffee and fruit juices is definitely much better value for money.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel,it was fantastic.
The rooms are large,very clean.
Excellent food,the staff are very efficient & helpful.
Great car parking,there's a bus service into Edinburgh city centre,bus stop 2 mins from hotel.
This was our first stay at this hotel,I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Overall a fantastic hotel,great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hi stayed here for 1 Friday night , and really cant fault the place at all . Its close enough to walk in to royal mile etc - you are immedietly on main shopping street with cafes and bars - 10 minutes in , to Princess street , we walked to the discovery experience at the end of the royal mile and back with about 30 minutes . Theres a few parking places outside of the hotel - which we managed to get , otherwise its a discounted rate round the corner at the multi story (£15)
Our room was huge , and had just been re-furbished , the staff could not do enough for you , the sofa bed was not made up for our son , and they did this within minutes after 10pm when we got back from the city . breakfast is very good , freshly cooked for you - not buffet . -- all in all a very friendly comfortable , and quiet place couldnt hear a sound at night . would go back without a thought ... 1 thing , many guests are foreign tourists - which is fine obviously but many guests were room only and the breakfast(12.50) , and i suspect room rate is pretty pricey - we booked with travel zoo which included breakfast for £69 -family room , it was a last minute deal. Edinburgh castle was a disappointment to our son (9) - i can see why lots of just empty castle rooms. camera obscura is a good trip especially for kids , mary kings close we all enjoyed and missing the zoo because of the very cold weather we opted for the 4d discovery experience which was a good choice. Had a great time and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: we arrived at 1pm so managed to get a free space outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miaowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just returned following a 3 day break in Edinburgh and really enjoyed our stay at this refurbished 3* hotel. The hotel was previously a maternity/memorial hospital and this is evident from the architecture. Simpson's restaurant is named after the hospital's patron who developed cholorform anaesthesia.

Our room was very quiet - overlooking the Courtyard - it was very spacious - we had a family room and we had a king size bed and my daughter had a king size sofa bed. The bathroom was small but adequate with bath and overhead shower. The room was newly decorated and the furnishings were smart.

We took the 2 person dinner package which was very good value, they also had a special offer for dinner 2 courses for £10 and 3 courses for £12. The food was very good and the bar was not too expensive. We did not take breakfast in the hotel as we thought at £12 per head it was a bit on the expensive side. There are lots of tea shops nearby and we went to Costa for breakfast enjoying coffee and pastries for £16 for the 3 of us. We also ate breakfast at Jenners department store - 15 minutes walk to Princes Street. Jenners served luxury Scottish breakfast for £4.50 per head - well worth a visit to see the interior of the store and the Italian food hall.

Hotel/room were spotless and the staff were extremely friendly. This is no longer a Best Western hotel it is now run by the Portland Group - I hope that the high standards are maintained because this is a real jewel. Well done Edinburgh City Hotel - we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 310 was a good quiet but spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hop2it_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing