We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and staff extremley friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    489
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
236
566
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel at the beginning of March. The hotel is extremely clean and spacious. We were allocated a room initally which had an issue (TV did not work), but after speaking to the reception staff we were moved immediately to another room. The room which we stayed in, was extremely quiet as it was located at the side of the hotel.
The reception staff were extremely helpful and reccommended some nice restaurants.
The hotel is in a good location and it is a short walk to both the grassmarket area and the royal mile, with a number of cafes and pubs nearby.
The ghost tour starting from the royal mile at half 7 is a must and we had a lovely meal in a restaurant called the outsider, just off the royal mile.

Room Tip: request a side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baker660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

When we got there we upgraded the room to get a bigger one and some extra stuff like bath robes!!! The room we got was great and very spacious!!! The staff were very friendly and made sure the extras I arranged were done on arrival!!! I can say with out a doubt one the nicest hotels I have stayed in for staff and room.... The breakfast was a little disappointing and so after one day of trying it ate out for the next two days... Well worth the money paid and would recommend anyone to stay there when in Edinburgh !!! Nerve to all places to visit and some great restaurants just around the corner!!!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is about a 15mins walk from the train station, and a short walk to the Grassmarket and Royal mile, but since Edinburgh is very hilly, that short walk can be exhausting at the end of the day. It's also about a 10-15mins walk to the bus stop for the airport bus. The interior of the hotel is well furnished, but one or two spider webs can be seen hanging from the ceiling. The room was spacious with a couch, but the bed was abit too thin, like you'll feel like you've hit the bottom when you do a 'jump-sit' on the bed. There's a Sainsbury just down the street that closes at 11pm, which makes a great stop every night on the way back. There's also a bike rental 5 mins away, for 16GBP a day you get the bike for 24hrs, we did that and rode to the seaside, it was beautiful and a great way to get out of the city. We got the room online for a really good price, it was cheaper to book on their website than anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

When we arrived we noticed that the hotel was on the main road but didnt actually think that it would affect us, little did we know, we was given room 210 which looked right out onto the main road and it was so noisy it was like laying beside a motorway, i asked reception if we could be moved at 10pm but was told that the hotel was fully booked but offered me an extra duvet! in the end my husband went down aabout 11pm and he refused to leave until we was given a different room, it worked we was given a disabled room which looked out onto the side street which was perfect but the TV didnt work which is why the room was not being used, but we didnt care we just wanted to get a good nights sleep!!

We had dinner in the hotel on our first night 2 courses for £11.99 or 3 courses for £13.95 which was great value and the food was lovely. We had a great variety at breakfast time, cooked breakfast, porridge or smoked salmon. :0)

Other than the noisy room the hotel is great value for money, its very clean and the staff are very friendly especially Laura on reception, I would recommend this hotel its really close to everything, shops, castle and restaurants.

I would also recommend a restaurant called Smoke Stack its about a 15 minute walk from John Lewis but the food is great!

Room Tip: Stay clear of rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Kat M,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with our hotel. It is great to read you thoroughly enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast in the hotel, founding them both to be value for money. However, I am sorry to read that your stay was disrupted by noise. The hotel has invested substantially in the last couple of years in double glazing in all our rooms to reduce noise level and since then we have received very few complaints regarding noise levels. I am glad that our team were able to help you move rooms so that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay undisturbed and that you found everyone to be friendly and polite.

Thank you again for such a thorough and balanced review and I hope I am able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great hotel.....but somebody please do something about the roller blind on the dormer window in room 412. We are sleep deprived having spent 3 nights at the hotel and dawn breaking at approx 5.30am each morning through a totally inadequate roller blind arrangement in the room.

Other than that a lovely hotel, good location, nice staff and good food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planb4ugoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel in March 2012, the hotel was beautiful, really clean and modern. The location was great, not a far walk to Princess Street and the Royal Mile. Customer Service was great and i would defenetly go back to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing