We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Central”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for two nights. We arrived with our hire car at 17.45 to find the Hotel doesn't have any dedicated car parking. We parked in the street while unloading and checking in and considered that by 6pm we would be clear of parking wardens. Big mistake for when we went for a walk at 6.30 we found we'd already been hit with a £60 parking ticket.
The Hotel itself is of a very high standard and the room was very well appointed, nice big bed and bathroom.
We tried the restaurant attached to the hotel and wasn't so impressed. Soup of the day "cream of parsnip" mixed Vegetables with the main meal - sliced boiled parsnips and carrots. The Buyer had obviously bought a large quantity of parsnips cheap!

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at a Hotel which very nearly has views of the castle and a ten minute walk to Princes Street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandAliBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    498
    88
    20
    15
See reviews for
247
592
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

There are a couple of reliable markers for a good hotel I reckon: Can they unprompted make a proper Club sandwich? Do they understand how to make a gin and tonic? Simple things perhaps, but get those right and as a general rule other things tend to fall into place. Another simple hotel benchmark is can they poach an egg at breakfast? And I mean properly poach - not with once of those gadgety poachy things but by using a spoon, a fresh egg, and a pan of water. I'm happy to report this hotel can. A sure sign they actually have standards unlike so many purely for profit driven hotel chains that want your cash but don't actually like you or want you to treat the place like a hotel. The City Hotel, part of the Best Western chain (I think) is really nice. Clean, well presented rooms, comfy bed and helpful staff. FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET thank God which should be (and will be) standard for all hotels. If you run a large hotel chain and still charge people to get online the game is up my friends. The food's OK, but as you're in the middle of Edinburgh you might want to go out for dinner anyway. Decent breakfasts, although they need more staff in busy periods as my mental 'time and motion' study I conducted saw the poor lonesome waitress spend 90% of her time getting endless toast from the kitchen. Solution: Get a front of house toaster so people can help themselves. There is a bar there, but it's more of a gesture really, so no gin and tonic test. I'd go out for a drink if I were you. You are in Edinburgh after all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights when I visited Edinburgh for international science festival with my 7 yr old daughter. This hotel is a short taxi ride from Edinburgh Waverly train station (approx £4-5). Our train arrived 7 am so we were in the hotel quite early in the morning but unfortunately our room was not ready for us to have an early check in. So we went to a local cafe for breakfast and when we came back our room was ready. The receptionist Sylvia was pleasant and helpful. Other staff were also pleasant.
My first impression of the room was good. I felt the room looked modern and spacious. The room had two separate tables with neatly arranged chairs. The bathroom was very nice too. The only thing missing from the room which I found a little surprising was a fridge and it should be looked into by the hotel management.

The restaurant is the biggest downfall of this hotel. I had dinner at the restaurant (Simpsons) on the first night. The choice of the food was very limited, although it has a kids' menu but again there is hardly anything to choose from. The standard of service was poor, there was only one waitress serving and she had to serve atleast 4 tables so obviously there were poorly understood orders and a gap of atleast 20-30 minutes before the appetizers were served followed by further delay of 40 min for the main course. My daughter ordered a cheese and tomato pizza and when it arrived I could not believe how badly it was made and served. The outer layer was completely burnt and it was burnt generally with crust gone hard. The pizza was not cut into pieces and because the crust had gone very hard my daughter found it impossible to cut. I had ordered a salmon steak which was nothing to write home about.
Over priced at £13.99 for 2 course and £16.99 for 3 course for one person this is a expensive for as bad as it gets food and service.
Next morning we had breakfast(which cost £7.0 if you let the reception know a day in advance and kids eat free but double check as it might have been a promotion of some sort at the time of our visit). After the dinner I had no expectation from it and therefore I found it a slightly better than the dinner itself both in terms of choices (continental, scottish, and hot cooked B/F) and price. However the service was slow as the night before. For 7 quid its not bad for an adult and a child. But for dinner I would certainly recommend to avoid this place at any cost. Just a short walk from the hotel (turn left from Lauriston place where this hotel is ) there are several places to eat including India, Chinese, Thai, Lebanese restaurants and also the usual KFC and Nando etc.

Over all not a bad hotel to stay but the food is a disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked a short break just before Christmas. The location was perfect, Right in the middle of old town. Rooms were good quality, staff were friendly and the amenities were good. A short walk to a load of different restaurants and pubs. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Ingles, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were pleased to be able to walk to Usher Hall and Princess Street without going up or down hills. With everything else quite close the location turned out to be very good. Rooms very nice. Pet complaint doors in most hotels could be better sealed (like in Switzerland) other wise bathroom etc. to a high standard. A small refrigerator would have been the only improvement. Wish I had tried the resturant in the hotel as I found eating out quite disappointing in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms not on the street side. Okay but I would have enjoyed the traffic free zone outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canaryfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for one night on a deal which included dinner, bed and breakfast in a family room. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Dinner, for the adults, was a bit of a disappointment. It took a long time to be served despite there only being 4 families in the restaurant (we were seated at 6.30pm and were not eating our main course until after 8pm) The fixed two course menu was limited. I ordered the salmon which was dry and without flavour, it was served with a very small portion of vegetables and potatoes. However, the children ate like kings, with three courses and large portions. If we stay again we would probably not opt for the diner as there were plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Parking is a bit tricky there are only a handful of hotel parking spaces and the on street parking is £2 per hour.

Overall, however, a nice family friendly hotel with a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Very good city centre hotel. Spacious room, great location and nice breakfast.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kinshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing