We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel was very quiet. The beds were fine and there was always shampoo etc. We had dinner, it was good although not the greatest selection. Breakfast was wonderful at 7 pounds each. There was a fresh fruit buffet and made to order hot items from the kitchen as well as buns toast, etc. The location is good close to the Grassmarket but you have to walk around fairly deserted streets with a fair number of empty shops.... I would be a little worried at night. The nearest good selection of restaurants seem to be the Grassmarket area. We left a wake up call for one morning and we never got it, so we were scrambling a bit..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Judi K,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our hotel. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and your dining experiences. I have spoken to our reception team to re-iterate the importance of guest wake up calls and I sincerely hope you were caused limited inconvenience by this error.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights from 13th-15th July. we had a family room as the original booking was for three people, although one dropped out at the last minute. The room was spacious and we found the beds very comfortable and the room a comfortable temperature.
We ejoyed the breakfast both mornings and found the choice perfectly adequate for our requirements and having it freshly cooked and served at the table was a very nice touch.
We booked the room upgrade to have wine, crisps, chocolates etc for when we arrived and it was a nice touch. As we didn't arrive at the hotel until about 8.30 we ordered a meal for room service at 8.55, just 5 minutes before it was due to stop, but there was no problem and within 20mins a lovely meal was delivered to our door.
The staff were very friiendly and helpful and I would certainly use this hotel again if i were staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimwinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear kimwinst,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and how helpful you found our staff. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team.

Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

First impressions on entering the hotel reception area were good it looked bright and modern . The whole look is modern and up to date from the furnishings to the coffee cups (the travel kettle could look better). The staff are helpful and friendly. I asked for soap, more coffee satchets, an iron and ironing board and these were brought up to the room by one of the staff. I had the £20 superior upgrade and thought it was a nice touch and value for money. The breakfast had everything you could want my only gripe is the Coffee ran out twice and they didn't top it up again. The beds weren't that comfy and we were cold through the night they were lacking in blankets. Overall It's a good value hotel with pleasant furnishings efficient staff and good food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear curlyjulz,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for giving such positive feedback. Our shareholders have invested considerable money to refurbish the reception entrance and the hotel bedrooms over the last two years so it is pleasing to read your positive comments on both these areas. I will speak to our breakfast team to ensure that future guests do not suffer the same problem of coffee not being topped up: this is something that should not have happened and for that I apologise.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A group us stayed here for a hen weekend and the staff could not have been more accommodating and polite. Nothing was too much bother for them and they were so friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and well appointed (hair dryer, trouser press, kettle, good shower etc). The breakfast was really good with several options - full English/ Scottish (with haggis), smoked salmon and poached eggs, cereal, fruit, yoghurts etc.

It's really well located, about 10 minutes from the Royal Mile and 20ish to the castle. I would definitely stay here again, mainly due to the lovely staff :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosats148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear arosato,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your lovely comments are very much appreciated and I will make sure all the team are made aware of how much you and your group enjoyed your hen weekend. I am sure it was a very much anticipated trip away and I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.

It would be a joy to welcome any one of your group back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here for new years and loved it. Our room smelled of smoke when we arrived, we told reception and they upgraded us to a larger room. Breakfasts were lovely and hearty! Rooms modern and warm. You can take a short walk to haymarket to pick up the tour bus which will take you to all the major tourist attractions. We walked back from princes st on new years eve and took about 20mins. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, they just couldn't have done more for us. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank CookaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear CookaDuck,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay last Hogmanay and that your initial problem with the room was sorted swiftly by our team. There are times when things are not as perfect as they should be but the important, and pleasing, part is that our team was able to fix this quickly to your satisfaction so that you could enjoy your new years break.

I hope we are able to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I wasn't impressed by this hotel at all. Maybe I have higher expectations than the average traveller (traveling from Ontario, Canada).

Pros: Large room (stayed in room 401), had a sitting area in the room with a comfy couch, clean rooms, in a fairly good location (20 min walk from the Royal Mile) and felt safe walking at night.

Cons: Not air conditioned, no hair dryer, shower is not accommodating to tall people (I'm 5'11), large step out of the shower/tub so those with mobility issues would have a difficult time getting in & out, THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BEDS I have ever slept on in a hotel before! Mattress was thin and lumpy, you could feel the springs and the grooves from where the mattresses had been worn down. If you read this review Edinburgh City Hotel please, please, please get your guests new mattresses in room 401 or all rooms if they are like that!!! Breakfast not included with stay and breakfast menu lacked at the restaurant associated with the hotel.

I will not stay here again as I didn't get much sleep due to the mattresses being so uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Room 401 had awful mattresses and the view from the window was their garbage dumpster. It was also b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear keclarke,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments as generally we get very positive feedback from our guests. All of our rooms have been renovated in the last 2 years at which time all of the mattresses in our rooms were replaced. In light of your feedback I have gone back through our in-house customer comment cards for room 401 but we do not have any previous guests that have found the bed uncomfortable. The step out area from the showers is because it is a bath with a shower above, which is very common, but we do have 3 rooms in the hotel which are designed for those with mobility issues so that they can have a walk in shower if they require it. All of our rooms have a hairdryer in them and you would have found this in the desk drawer of your room. Our breakfast menu includes a continental buffet, the option of a full cooked Scottish breakfast, smoked salmon, smoked kippers, or porridge: plenty of variety to cater to each guest individually.

I would have preferred for you to have alerted our team during your stay so that we could have had the opportunity to improve your experience and not for you to have left dissatisfied. However, thank you for your comments and I will monitor our guest feedback regarding the mattress in this room.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Spacious triples and good value . Restaurant service good with attentive service.

Hotel Front entrance through side alley is disappointing.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank WorldTraveler0944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,030 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing