We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Comfortable Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was a very cute hotel. Very nice especially for the price. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. It is a very short walk to the City Centre. There was a bus stop out in front and we were able to park our rental in lot that gave hotel guests a discount. We would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear hippymo,

Thank you for leaving very positive feedback from your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you and your family found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable, our breakfast to be value for money, and our location ideal for what you wanted to do and see whilst in Edinburgh.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully if you ever return to Edinburgh we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a great staff very helpful. Location was great easy to get to the main attractions would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend . The hotel was in a quiet l.ocation and had parking space if traveling by car and only a short taxi ride.David on reception was exceptional with helping us find another hotel as we needed one more night in Edinburgh and this hotel ess full the hotel he chose for us was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrybeano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a conference at the Edinburgh international conference centre which is an easy 10 minute walk .
The hotel is a converted Victorian hospital and from the outside looks a little grim but the rooms a large with high ceilings . The room was clean but sadly there was a smell of stale cigarettes which did not go away .the bed was large and comfortable. All the staff were cheerful and helpful.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good and plentiful.
As I was here for 4 days the free wifi was great and easy to access.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippasmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Pippasmum_12,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after staying with us. I was pleased to read that you found our hotel a good base whilst attending a local conference. Thank you for also pointing out that we are within a short walking distance of the EICC and that we have free and fast WiFi available throughout the hotel. Your feedback on the smell when you entered your room is also much appreciated and I have discussed this with our head housekeeper. We are a completely non-smoking so something like this should not have happened to take the shine off your stay.

Hopefully if you are in Edinburgh again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for four nights in june 2013. We picked the hotel based on the ratings here on tripadvisor and we were definetely not disappointed.

Our twin room was spacious, nice looking and well equipped. The housekeeping staff keeps this place very clean too!

The front desk staff have been lovely and helped us sort out everything frm taxis to adapters.

The location is great, walking distance from most of what you wanna see and do.

The breakfast was very good, and dinner was nice also (though we only had it one evening).

To sum it up; this hotel had everything i ask from a good hotel at great value for your money. I would recommens this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Jenny E,

Thank you for leaving such kind feedback following your recent 4 night stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you booked after reading the comments from other TripAdvisor reviewers.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Friendly staff, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated room. Plenty of choice for breakfast, including Scottish classics of porridge, haggis & potato scone, all cooked to order.

The local bus no 35 was really convenient, you need the correct money £1.50 for a single journey to anywhere on the route or £3.50 for a day ticket. We walked most places but did catch the bus to the Royal Yacht Britannia, Holyrood House Palace and the airport.

We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast, the dinning room was pleasant and if the standard of breakfast is anything to go by I'm sure evening meals would be good too.

Staff were happy to hold our luggage after checking out of our room until later in the afternoon, this was really helpful as it meant we could go out for the day and return for our luggage on our way back to the airport.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanne950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel was perfect for our city weekend break. In a fantastic location just a short 15 min walk from all the main attractions of the Royal Mile, The Castle and Grassmarket. The staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived, and the room was extremely clean providing us with everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family for the excellent location, modern rooms, and unbeatable price. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our second stay in this hotel, which was a former maternity hospital, now turned into a very nice hotel. We were given an upgrade because we had stayed before, which was a nice surprise. We managed to get a parking space, which was an even better surprise (they only have 4 available). Breakfast is good and dinner was also good - not fine dining, but an imaginative menu at an OK price and friendly serving staff.

Room Tip: Room 209 is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear janet l,

It is always a great pleasure when a guest chooses to stay with us after having an enjoyable first experience. I was delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations on your second visit after you booked directly through our website to stay with us again. Our family rooms are not always available for upgrades but I was pleased we were able to make your stay extra special, and that when you chose to spend extra in our hotel on breakfast and dinner you found it to be good value for money.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you have travelled to Edinburgh and hopefully we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,416 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing