We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by the outside view - excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the outside view - excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Compared to the shiny new Novotel and Premier Inn nearby the outside view on Google street view looks a bit grim, but go inside and it is different picture. It is well decorated in light colours and the bedroom that we had was spacious, with a comfortable bed. It is a very quiet hotel since the walls were solidly built by the Victorians, although it is on quite a busy street. Excellent breakfast which kept us going for the day without making us feel too bloated.

We were there for my wife's 60th birthday and we found all the staff to be very helpful.

It is only 10 minutes walk down to the Grassmarket where there is a wide range of bars and restaurants as well as some upmarket clothing shops. You have to walk back UP the steps of course, unless you cheat and get a taxi when you get to Princes Street! There is a bus stop just near the hotel which might be useful if you know where you want to go or where the buses comes from in town. One of the buses goes to the Airport, although it is not an express bus so you would need to check the times. There is a free PC in the hotel lobby as well as Wi-Fi in the rooms so you could check all those details at your leisure.

Overall we had an extremely enjoyable stay, with sunny weather every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sslmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear sslmmm,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a very informative review of your recent stay with us that I expect to be very useful to any TripAdvisor user who is considering staying with us. More importantly, I was very pleased to read that after choosing to book with us whilst celebrating such a special occasion you were not left disappointed.

Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully we can welcome you back to our hotel one day should you return to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    491
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
239
572
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My mom and I stayed here when we first arrived in Edinburgh for two nights and absolutely fell in love. The hotel is actually an old hospital and the hallways are decorated with photographs from when it was in use. The hotel is in a very quiet location so you have no issues with leaving the windows open all night and the room was very spacious and clean.
Caroline at reception was very nice and very helpful.
The hotel does have a small bar and a restaurant, but the Grassmarket is only about a 5 minute walk away and once there you have a substantial variety of different types of pubs and restaurants to get food or to just stop in and get a drink. It is also only about a 5 minute walk up the street to the Hop on, Hop Off Tour Bus stop
I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to Edinburgh who wants to be in walking distance of all the sights, but doesn't want to be in the middle of the chaos of a tourist city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Room was quite big, comfy beds. Good location and very quiet at night. The staff are great, we had organised a tour for a couple of days and couldn't take all our luggage, the hotel were happy for us to leave it with them. We also left some clothing behind, this was forwarded to us on our travels.
No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLLEEN57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear COLLEEN57_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying in our hotel, but also that we were able to help with your luggage and the item you left behind.

I will pass on your thanks to our team and hopefully you will be able to stay with us should you decide to return to Scotland.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family while on vacation to Scotland. This old heritage looking building has spacious rooms. My room was quite big with many big windows. Staff is friendly and guides you well for any excursions. The breakfast was quite good. The best part is the location which is very convenient and at a walking distance from the Edinburgh castle.There are many eateries/restaurants nearby the hotel including a Indian restaurant, Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was a very cute hotel. Very nice especially for the price. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. It is a very short walk to the City Centre. There was a bus stop out in front and we were able to park our rental in lot that gave hotel guests a discount. We would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear hippymo,

Thank you for leaving very positive feedback from your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you and your family found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable, our breakfast to be value for money, and our location ideal for what you wanted to do and see whilst in Edinburgh.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully if you ever return to Edinburgh we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a great staff very helpful. Location was great easy to get to the main attractions would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend . The hotel was in a quiet l.ocation and had parking space if traveling by car and only a short taxi ride.David on reception was exceptional with helping us find another hotel as we needed one more night in Edinburgh and this hotel ess full the hotel he chose for us was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrybeano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a conference at the Edinburgh international conference centre which is an easy 10 minute walk .
The hotel is a converted Victorian hospital and from the outside looks a little grim but the rooms a large with high ceilings . The room was clean but sadly there was a smell of stale cigarettes which did not go away .the bed was large and comfortable. All the staff were cheerful and helpful.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good and plentiful.
As I was here for 4 days the free wifi was great and easy to access.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippasmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Pippasmum_12,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after staying with us. I was pleased to read that you found our hotel a good base whilst attending a local conference. Thank you for also pointing out that we are within a short walking distance of the EICC and that we have free and fast WiFi available throughout the hotel. Your feedback on the smell when you entered your room is also much appreciated and I have discussed this with our head housekeeper. We are a completely non-smoking so something like this should not have happened to take the shine off your stay.

Hopefully if you are in Edinburgh again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing