We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First time in Edinburgh for my family & me and stayed at this hotel. It was a 1 night stay but couldn't be happier with it, great location, easy walking distance from the center or short ride by taxi. The hotel itself was excellent, starting with the staff who were always very helpful with us, the rooms exceded our expectations, spotless, comfortable beds. modern bathrooms. Breakfast was very good, lots of options whether the continetal or get something cooked for you.

Overall it was excellent, I will totally recommend this hotel and it'll be my first choice if I get the opportunity to visit Edinburgh again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcelag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear marcelag84,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for recommending us in your choice of title. I was delighted to read how much our team made you feel welcome and that you found our rooms and breakfast offering good value for money.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Really lovely hotel and staff - the room was very spacious, clean and well-maintained. We were welcomed pleasantly. Bags were kept without question while rooms were being prepared upon early arrival. Got smooth wifi connection. There was a good selection of breakfast and overall it's well worth what you pay. Only flaw is they gave us 2 single beds instead of the requested double-bed. Would recommend this nonetheless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rto_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed three nights while in Edinburgh for the open golf championship. We had struggled to find accommodation but were able to book the City hotel, how glad we were. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and efficient and the rooms were large and very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with a bath and shower over. Breakfast was cooked to order with plenty of choice. This hotel deserves more than a 3 star rating, it is within easy walking disance to the Grassmarket, George V bridge, the royal mile and Princes street and beyond. The reception and all the public areas and bedrooms look as if they have just been refurbished We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We were in room 201 which was at the end of the corridor and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Kenmags,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback from your recent stay with us. Our head housekeeper Tomasz was delighted to read your great comments about the cleanliness and comfort of our hotel, as he and his team work very hard to maintain the rooms and public areas. Our bedrooms were refurbished 3 years ago with our reception area 2 years ago and our restaurant just last year, so it is really nice to work in a hotel where our shareholders have invested so much to make the product as good as possible for our guests.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A long weekend for the Open this year. Arrived at the hotel which from the outside looks a little unforgiving - however pleasantly surprised once inside. Without a doubt great value for money. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Room was surprisingly large as only booked a double - sofa area with table and plenty of space. Clean and modern with maid service every day. Breakfast was faultless with a choice from a continental buffet and full Scottish cooked breakfast made to order (or a bit of both). Easy to walk to town £5.00 in a taxi. Definitely glad we booked thins rather than the overpriced premier inn just up the road. Would book again. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudiemackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Edinburgh to watch the Open golf at Muirfield. As ever, relied on TripAdvisor reviews to find something good and this filled the bill. We had room 310 which is, I think, one of the upgrade double rooms - definitely worth the extra. Breakfast was plentiful and you have a choice of continental or traditional Scottish - but... You chose what you want, which works really well - you know that it is cooked fresh rather than being laid out an hour earlier! It's 10 minutes walk to Grassmarket or a 20 minute walk to the stations (£5 in a taxi). There are shops and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a room with main road frontage and said that it was a little noisy with the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after staying with us over the weekend of the Open golf at Muirfield. I was very pleased to read that you picked us after checking previous reviews on TripAdvisor, and I am glad we were able to meet your expectations. I will also make sure I pass on your kind comments regarding breakfast to our team.

Hopefully if you are in Edinburgh again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in more of a residential area but it is easy walking distance from major sites such as the Grassmarket. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. It is a good location and value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Great location in the centre of town. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and a decent size with all the extras we like, such as tea tray and in room safe. It was a nice touch to have breakfast cooked to order rather than the usual buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,048 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing