We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is great except the parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We really liked the ambiance of this hotel. The outside was stone and looked old (in a good way) but the inside was very modern and clean. It was decorated with modern tartan materials which I liked. The staff was very nice. The only thing I did not like about this hotel is that you have to park in a parking garage and the garage is a little difficult to get to because of the one-way streets. Once parked though it is a close walk to the hotel. I would stay there again if I ever return to Edinburgh. You are not right in the heart of the city (which as a tourist I would consider to be the Royal Mile and Grassmarket) but it was only a 5 pound taxi ride back to the hotel when we didn't want to walk and only a 15 minute walk when we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Casey M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and taking the time to point out the reasons why you enjoyed your stay with us. Over the last few years our shareholders have invested a lot of money to make the inside of our hotel very modern and comfortable, even though it is an old historic building. Added to that we are lucky to have a great team that is keen to help our guests enjoy their stay. Unfortunately, like many hotels in Edinburgh, we are not blessed with many parking options onsite. You are right in pointing out that the nearest car park is only a short walk but that by the nature of the one way streets in Edinburgh it is a few minutes drive. I will pass on your feedback to our reception team so that they can take extra care in explaining how to get to this parking area for future guests.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a very good, straightforward hotel - it does the simple things well, it's clean and efficient, but the staff are a cut above - they were unerringly helpful, friendly and accommodating. It's a bit like a well run, next level up from budget hotel - better than a Premier Inn, a very well run Best Western but with staff who give a far better service that many much classier hotels.

Location is good. Breakfast is very good. The bar and restaurant are a soul-less but efficient- eat out in Edinburgh (Fishers is fab) - but if you are staying in Edinburgh why would you want to stay in your hotel anyway?.
Rooms are clean and fine, although those fronting on on Lauriston Place must be a bit noisy.

I guess it's about what you pay and what you expect. If there's a good rate on offer, stay here and eat/drink out in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't on the high st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncleharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed two nights in June 2013. Our room was very large, extremely clean, with a modern bathroom with bath/shower. There was an in-room safe and the free WiFi reception was very good. There is very limited off street parking available on a first come first served basis.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in/out was easy and hassle free. The reception staff also serve as bar staff so there is sometimes a short wait for drinks to be served.
The full Scottish breakfast was very good.

The hotel is a short walk to Grassmarket, where there are numerous restaurants and pubs. A bit further on is the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, etc.

Room rates seem a tad expensive but given the location and what other Edinburgh hotels charge, we received reasonable value for money.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear pyctravellingman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after staying in June whilst travelling with your family. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the services our hotel has to offer and you found our team friendly and helpful.

I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to our team and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location in the city and provided a very good service. Staff were kind and our room was quite spacious and nicely decorated. The room did not originally seem to be great value for money but given the higher rates in the city and the overall experience, it is hardly a rip-off. Breakfast was very good, though we did not have dinner. Overall, when I'm next in Edinburgh I will likely stay elsewhere purely due to the choice in the city and the fact that the hotel didn't blow me away, but I would certainly recommend it to other travellers in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a good sized room for our stay and the location was great with the bus to town just outside,so getting about was easy.A short stroll to some good pubs and restaurants in the vicinity .
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytrippers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Excellent service. It was my mother's birthday and they made a very nice cake for her. Arranged for flowers to be delivered to room. Good breakfast. Rates a bit on the higher side, but to be expected during holiday season. The room was a bit small.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Billoob,

Thank you for reviewing your parent’s stay with us during the month of July. It was our pleasure to be able to help make the special arrangements that you had requested for your mother’s birthday, and I am glad they enjoyed their stay with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for two very pleasant nights in June 2013. Excellent rooms - the bed and linen were very comfortable, modern rooms, a flat screen TV with plenty of channels. Very large and spacious room and the same can be said for the bathroom.

The breakfast was pretty good too, there's a small Continental buffet but our room rate included the full English breakfast which you can customise from the menu which includes haggis. Very good hot chocolates from the coffee machine too.

Want to give a shout out to Caroline who was by far the friendliest, funniest and most welcoming receptionist we encountered on our seven week holiday. She helped us book train tickets to Alnwick, helped us find a fudge shop that we didn't even know the name of and was just generally very easy to chat to and made us feel right at home.

Location wise, it's at least a ten to fifteen minute walk to the train station and main tourist areas of Edinburgh including the Castle, Royal Mile and the Grassmarket. Overall, a very good hotel with affordable prices and fantastic staff. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Juliana M,

Thank you for reviewing your two night stay with us in June. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and felt you received value for money. I will be very happy to pass on your great feedback to our team, in particular Caroline.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully you had an equally enjoyable stay in the other hotels you experienced throughout your 7 week holiday.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing