We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a really hard time getting a decent hotel room for a good price. LIttle did we know that the Fringe Festival and the Edinburgh Military Tatoo was going on during our visit. So we paid more than expected. The hotel was hard to locate and the main entrance is in a courtyard, not in-front of the building. Our first room was small and the room safe was broken, we asked for a room change and the hotel staff was happy to oblige. The second room was bigger, but did not have a hair dryer and we had to ask for one. Although the room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly, we were disappointed for the price we pard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Doreen C,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after staying with us during the festival period. I was pleased to read you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly, particularly when you wished to change room at the beginning of your stay, and our receptionist was able to do this quickly for you without any fuss. We do also regularly check our rates against hotels of similar standard so that we are competitively priced, especially during periods of peak demand such as the Festival and Tattoo.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Scotland.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    495
    88
    20
    15
See reviews for
244
586
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel as had read about it's location and we were only there for a night so wanted to be close to everything. The hotel is very clean and also very central as you can walk into Princes Street for shopping and it takes about ten to 15 minutes. The checkout time for the hotel is 11am but when we asked after being out the receptionist said you can checkout for 12pm and there is no fee for this which was a bonus. We did the Edinburgh dungeons on Saturday but that wasn't very good and not worth the price (£16pp). They also don't tell you that it isn't suitable for people with epilepsy or pregnant people which is unfair as you have paid the price but need to miss out on certain things. On Saturday night we went to a Nepalese restaurant across from a pub called "Doctors" which was delicious and not too expensive. We went to the Hard Rock Café today and the food there was lovely so would recommend that. All in all we had a good weekend and from the hotel we could walk to various different parts of the city so would stay here if I came back and it is very reasonably priced!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Crystal K,

Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to provide the right base for you at a good price to explore Edinburgh with your boyfriend, and it looks like you had a great time with the exclusion of the dungeons. We are extremely lucky that our hotel is situated within an easy walk of many of the key tourist attractions, so thank you for choosing to stay with us because of the other positive reviews you had read about our location.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

On the basis of the good reviews on here and the location we booked a stay for two nights in a double room, with breakfast.

On arrival, we had a little hiccough in that they could not find our booking... but that was sorted reasonably quickly. Our daughter has a dairy allergy, so needed some food to be stored. The staff were accommodating and helpful with this.

The room was nice. Modern, clean and spacious. Unfortunately it wasn't actually a double. It was set up as a double, but on the night we found out it was actually a twin with the two beds pushed together and topped with the bedding for a double... not exactly comfortable when the beds aren't identical and not perfectly level. We probably should have complained at the time and got moved or a refund, but our daughter had been stung on the train up and was having a hard time of it - we didn't really have the energy.

The room and the hotel in general were clean and well kept. The staff were good in general (with the expected couple of unhappy ones). Free wifi worked well.

The restaurant, if you can call it that, is atrocious. I'm sure the response will be that everywhere has an off night, but the problem is basic. The food is described on the website with the following: "All dishes are prepared and cooked to order using the finest fresh local produce!". This is simply not accurate. For example, I ordered the haddock and chips. The haddock was ok, but I would suggest that it was not prepared on the premises. The peas were definitely from frozen, they were freezer burnt so actually still looked frozen despite being hot. The chips were dire. Certainly not home made and were poor quality. I pretty much just ate the fish. Even my young daughter wasn't interested in the chips, and that says something. My starter was chicken wings, which were ok. The dessert was fine, but again it seemed like something you'd buy in.

My partner had a game terrine to start, which was oddly flavoured (reminiscent of Chinese five spice), followed by a burger. The burger was the standard stuff. It came with a chilli jam, which she found to be less than palatable. Her dessert was nice, except the sauce was just a squiggle on the plate rather than an actual portion.

We weren't expecting much, we'd only eaten in the hotel because we'd run out of time to get somewhere else sorted out, but for the money it really was not good value. We would have been better going to the novatel or premier inn up the road.

Breakfast was good, apart from a lack of croissants the second day. We did ask if any more were coming out... they did, but were snapped up because everyone else had also been waiting on them.

Checkout was handled well, and there was a room available to store luggage until later.

If you took the restaurant out of the equation, I'd probably rate the place average. With a real double bed, perhaps very good or excellent even. I guess that most visitors don't use the restaurant on an evening, it certainly was empty when we were there, so the high overall rating achieved relates to the accommodation only. I'd certainly keep that in mind if I were going to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're booking a double, ask if it is a double and not a converted twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav3-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Dav3-E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and naturally I was disappointed to read that we were not able to live up to the many good reviews left by other TripAdvisor users. I think it is important for me to point out that we do prepare all our food in the hotel and our products are delivered to our hotel fresh from quality local suppliers. However, I can appreciate that if you had actually enjoyed your meal you would not have felt the need to suggest otherwise. Our chef and I will be changing our market menu at the end of this month so we will take all your feedback on board when discussing new options. With regard to the discomfort you experienced with the bed in your room: 12 out of our 14 superior family rooms are king size zip and link beds so that we have the flexibility to either make the room as a triple (with sofa bed), a twin or a king size double when the mattresses are zipped together and the bases linked together; the other 2 are queen size double beds. I am very sorry that our zip and link beds (a concept which is used by many hotels around the world, especially by smaller hotels like us with only 52 rooms) caused you any discomfort. We would have been happy to move you to another room if you had mentioned to us when you were in the hotel. Similarly if you had mentioned during or after dinner you were not happy with the quality of your dining experience it would have given us the opportunity to correct things there and then and it may have led to you having a more enjoyable experience overall – which is all we want for our guests when they come to stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in an excellent position to the castle and Princess street. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and clean. We will definatly stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed for a weekend and would return. The hotel is a good 5 min walk to Grass Market and far enough away from the hussle.
I have to admit from the outside the hotel doesn't look spectacular.
Good breakfast in a morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had to go to Edinburgh on unplanned business and had to find a hotel at short notice. It was the Edinburgh Festival and so hotels were booked up and those that were left were expensive.
The Edinburgh City Hotel is a good 3-star hotel close to the centre. The room I had (403) is on the 2nd floor (go figure) and was large floor area with bath/shower room. Bed was large but very hard and strangely offset from the wall mounted television. Not a bad nights sleep even though the room has no air conditioning and it was a hot and steamy night.
I have to say that the front of house staff are brilliant; they helped with Fringe arrangements and David (missed his surname) had a fantastic customer approach.
All all a good visit and next ime I will either miss the Fringe time altogether or book much earlier.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Dave W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. It is always nice to read when a guest has enjoyed their stay and found our team to be helpful and friendly, as that is always our aim.

It would be great to be able to welcome you back at any time of the year.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend were returning from Paris where we were subjected to a 6 hour Delay.
On Finally returning to Edinburgh we had missed our trains to Aberdeen and with no more that evening we were stranded.
The Tattoo and the festival were both on and we knew the chances of getting any kind of room was at least minimal.
Frantically ringing around we managed to make a booking for that evening at this hotel.
We arrived at 2 am to a very polite welcome from the French manager on Duty. We felt completely happy that some one was this jovial and welcoming which changed our moods instantly. We were offered refreshments and conversation which was very pleasing.
We stay in lots of hotels in Europe and we both have to agree that this room was by far the loveliest we have stayed in , very very clean, loads of pillars , bath and shower.
The morning breakfast far exceeded our expectations also, food and restaurant were superb.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any one
Thanks so much
Ricky and Sarah

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Ricky A,

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to commend Laurent for the service he offered when you arrived. I was delighted to read he was able to bring a smile to your faces after such long day of travels, but this is simply his normal manner: always helpful and positive.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding your room and breakfast, and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. I hope you had a great time on the rest of your travels in Aberdeen and Scotland.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#20 of 148 in Edinburgh
789 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing