We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #22 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is about five to ten minutes away from bars etc which is a blessing at bedtime being in a nice quiet little street. I love the beds at this hotel and their sister hotel in Perth you get a great nights sleep. The staff are all very helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast and dinners are fabulous. We had room 307 which was lovely and cosy. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear magsrfc,

Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that you have also had a very enjoyable experience at one of the other hotels in our group, the Huntingtower Hotel.

Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    492
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
241
574
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great little hotel, cracking breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff all for a reasonable price. Only slight negative would be the location, was a good 15 mins walk from princess street and with an 8 yr old, walking back on the evening wasn't fantastic as some of the areas you have to walk through weren't particularly child friendly.
Apart from that there is little to fault.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heliocentricDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As the last stay of our Scottish tour, I'd plumped for the Edinburgh City. For some reason I thought it was nearer to Waverley - as we arrived in the evening and had a relatively early train out in the morning. On checking the map we found that it was (for us) probably a good 20 minutes away, so taxis it was!
The hotel entrance is round the back and a little courtyard harbouring several foreign cars. Check-in was painless and the receptionists were helpful - particularly in recommending some nearby pubs to eat in. Didn't fancy the hotel menu - anyone for pig's cheek?
Our room was pleasant, tidy and clean. The bed served its purpose and the bathroom was, again, clean and tidy. After venturing out for bangers and mash followed by a Fringe comedy event at the "Beehive", we returned to the little bar. Only Caledonian smooth and Stella 4 available on draught - neither of which is my preferred tipple - but, hey - when in Rome...
A pleasant night's sleep ensued, Breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared to our requirements. There is something about good bacon & eggs that sets you up for the day!
There was absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel as far as I could find (apart from limited bar), so why do I find myself being a little non-committal about it? I honestly don't know. Maybe it was just the end-of-break blues, or maybe there was just no real atmosphere about it. However I can happily recommend it to anyone and I am sure we will return when we have a little more time for walking!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoToCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a really hard time getting a decent hotel room for a good price. LIttle did we know that the Fringe Festival and the Edinburgh Military Tatoo was going on during our visit. So we paid more than expected. The hotel was hard to locate and the main entrance is in a courtyard, not in-front of the building. Our first room was small and the room safe was broken, we asked for a room change and the hotel staff was happy to oblige. The second room was bigger, but did not have a hair dryer and we had to ask for one. Although the room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly, we were disappointed for the price we pard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Doreen C,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after staying with us during the festival period. I was pleased to read you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly, particularly when you wished to change room at the beginning of your stay, and our receptionist was able to do this quickly for you without any fuss. We do also regularly check our rates against hotels of similar standard so that we are competitively priced, especially during periods of peak demand such as the Festival and Tattoo.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in Scotland.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel as had read about it's location and we were only there for a night so wanted to be close to everything. The hotel is very clean and also very central as you can walk into Princes Street for shopping and it takes about ten to 15 minutes. The checkout time for the hotel is 11am but when we asked after being out the receptionist said you can checkout for 12pm and there is no fee for this which was a bonus. We did the Edinburgh dungeons on Saturday but that wasn't very good and not worth the price (£16pp). They also don't tell you that it isn't suitable for people with epilepsy or pregnant people which is unfair as you have paid the price but need to miss out on certain things. On Saturday night we went to a Nepalese restaurant across from a pub called "Doctors" which was delicious and not too expensive. We went to the Hard Rock Café today and the food there was lovely so would recommend that. All in all we had a good weekend and from the hotel we could walk to various different parts of the city so would stay here if I came back and it is very reasonably priced!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Crystal K,

Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to provide the right base for you at a good price to explore Edinburgh with your boyfriend, and it looks like you had a great time with the exclusion of the dungeons. We are extremely lucky that our hotel is situated within an easy walk of many of the key tourist attractions, so thank you for choosing to stay with us because of the other positive reviews you had read about our location.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

On the basis of the good reviews on here and the location we booked a stay for two nights in a double room, with breakfast.

On arrival, we had a little hiccough in that they could not find our booking... but that was sorted reasonably quickly. Our daughter has a dairy allergy, so needed some food to be stored. The staff were accommodating and helpful with this.

The room was nice. Modern, clean and spacious. Unfortunately it wasn't actually a double. It was set up as a double, but on the night we found out it was actually a twin with the two beds pushed together and topped with the bedding for a double... not exactly comfortable when the beds aren't identical and not perfectly level. We probably should have complained at the time and got moved or a refund, but our daughter had been stung on the train up and was having a hard time of it - we didn't really have the energy.

The room and the hotel in general were clean and well kept. The staff were good in general (with the expected couple of unhappy ones). Free wifi worked well.

The restaurant, if you can call it that, is atrocious. I'm sure the response will be that everywhere has an off night, but the problem is basic. The food is described on the website with the following: "All dishes are prepared and cooked to order using the finest fresh local produce!". This is simply not accurate. For example, I ordered the haddock and chips. The haddock was ok, but I would suggest that it was not prepared on the premises. The peas were definitely from frozen, they were freezer burnt so actually still looked frozen despite being hot. The chips were dire. Certainly not home made and were poor quality. I pretty much just ate the fish. Even my young daughter wasn't interested in the chips, and that says something. My starter was chicken wings, which were ok. The dessert was fine, but again it seemed like something you'd buy in.

My partner had a game terrine to start, which was oddly flavoured (reminiscent of Chinese five spice), followed by a burger. The burger was the standard stuff. It came with a chilli jam, which she found to be less than palatable. Her dessert was nice, except the sauce was just a squiggle on the plate rather than an actual portion.

We weren't expecting much, we'd only eaten in the hotel because we'd run out of time to get somewhere else sorted out, but for the money it really was not good value. We would have been better going to the novatel or premier inn up the road.

Breakfast was good, apart from a lack of croissants the second day. We did ask if any more were coming out... they did, but were snapped up because everyone else had also been waiting on them.

Checkout was handled well, and there was a room available to store luggage until later.

If you took the restaurant out of the equation, I'd probably rate the place average. With a real double bed, perhaps very good or excellent even. I guess that most visitors don't use the restaurant on an evening, it certainly was empty when we were there, so the high overall rating achieved relates to the accommodation only. I'd certainly keep that in mind if I were going to visit again.

Room Tip: If you're booking a double, ask if it is a double and not a converted twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav3-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Dav3-E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and naturally I was disappointed to read that we were not able to live up to the many good reviews left by other TripAdvisor users. I think it is important for me to point out that we do prepare all our food in the hotel and our products are delivered to our hotel fresh from quality local suppliers. However, I can appreciate that if you had actually enjoyed your meal you would not have felt the need to suggest otherwise. Our chef and I will be changing our market menu at the end of this month so we will take all your feedback on board when discussing new options. With regard to the discomfort you experienced with the bed in your room: 12 out of our 14 superior family rooms are king size zip and link beds so that we have the flexibility to either make the room as a triple (with sofa bed), a twin or a king size double when the mattresses are zipped together and the bases linked together; the other 2 are queen size double beds. I am very sorry that our zip and link beds (a concept which is used by many hotels around the world, especially by smaller hotels like us with only 52 rooms) caused you any discomfort. We would have been happy to move you to another room if you had mentioned to us when you were in the hotel. Similarly if you had mentioned during or after dinner you were not happy with the quality of your dining experience it would have given us the opportunity to correct things there and then and it may have led to you having a more enjoyable experience overall – which is all we want for our guests when they come to stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in an excellent position to the castle and Princess street. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and clean. We will definatly stay here again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing