We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #21 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. Good position,easy walk for sightseeing.
We had a large comfortable room for a very reasonable price.
The staff were very helpful. Plenty of restaurants/bistros/bars close by. We will be staying again. We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Paulynne,

Thank you for leaving such positive feedback after your recent 3 night stay with us. Our aim is to provide value for money and to look after our guests so that they want to return to us when they visit Edinburgh again so it is very pleasing to read that we will be your hotel of choice next time.

Thank you very much for your recommendation.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    492
    89
    20
    15
See reviews for
242
574
44
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We've just stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, Its such a lovely hotel, nice, and warm especially on the cold days. The staff make you feel more then welcome. Clean rooms, and excellent breakfast. Would surely recommend it, and would stay there again if visiting Edinburgh in future.
THANKS

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesmond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had high expectations for this hotel having read the reviews......maybe too high. When I first walked in, I thought I'd walked in to a hostel. This hotel is fine. Nothing special, but not bad either. Certainly not worth the £166 I paid for the first night. £70 for the second night is more appropriate. However, the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear LAScotty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I was disappointed to read that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion. There are occasions when Edinburgh is extremely busy at the weekend and when a room is purchased at the last minute the rate can be higher than the norm. However, we regularly check to make sure we are competitively priced and I sorry that you did not feel this represented value for money on your stay.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is to be highly recommended. There was nothing to fault at all. Older building housing a modern hotel. This was a great location close to railway and all Edinburgh city attractions.
Our room housed the two adults and two children very well. There were two rooms in fact, both with televisions.
The beds were attractive, clean and uncluttered. We got a great welcome from friendly staff who helped us enormously. The breakfast was good and served by staff who were courteous.
Better than the usual chains.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. Quiet , clean, lovely rooms and the staff were delightful. About 15 minutes walking from Princes Street and on the bus 35 route which took us via many of the sites out to Leith and Ocean Terminal for £1.50 each way. The breakfasts were very good, cooked to order (so not steamed and rubbery from being kept hot). Potato cakes and haggis added to a full English made it a very worthy full Scottish. I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one morning , though it was not to my taste as I like my salmon warmed through with the eggs, but that is my personal taste. We upgraded our package for bathrobes, wine, chocolates and crisps, and after long day sightseeing it was nice to have a bath or shower then relax in these lovely robes. Edinburgh is a fabulous city, lovely people, and full of great sights.We spent an hour and a half looking around Britannia at Leith and enjoyed our trip. We will return to this lovely city and this hotel.

Room Tip: We looked over the court yard and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEL529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear GEL529.

Thank you for your kind comments and detailed feedback from your recent stay. Edinburgh has so many attractions to see and it sounds like you really enjoyed visiting many of them. I was also really pleased to read that you enjoyed the superior package that you added on to your booking and that it enhanced the comfort you experienced during your stay.

Hopefully we can welcome you back when you choose to visit Edinburgh again.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

So pleased myself and two friends decided to stay in this great hotel. 5-10 minutes walk to Grassmarket, Royal Mile and Greyfriers. Our room, which was big enough for 4 people was large and cosy. Very clean, tea and coffee making facilities and two sinks in the bathroom (very handy for us ladies whilst getting ready for a night out!). Breakfast was included in our price and it was really nice either continental or a choice of a hot breakfast with toast. Staff were really friendly and went out of their way when we arrived to show us various locations on a map. Very quiet also so had a great couple of nights sleep and didnt hear a pin drop or any traffic noise. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments after staying with us in October. I was very pleased to read that our hotel and our team made your 2 night getaway with friends relaxing and enjoyable.

Many thanks for your recommendation!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful helpful staff, clean, quiet comfortable rooms, 5 min stroll to the grass market just blissful! Cannot recommend enough!
Didn't have the food so cannot comment on the dining but this is a little gem.

Helpful?
Thank FiF270
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear FiF270,

Thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation. The team and I were truly delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back one day soon.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing