We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julie Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Julie Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed for one night , although not as central as I had hoped, the room if a little small for the price was clean and the bed bed very comfortable. The manager should be very proud of his /her staff because could not fault any one of them, from check in to check out they could not do enough to help. We ate in the restaurant at night and food and service was very good. Breakfast was very good also but i wasn't brave enough to try the haggis ! A great hotel but be prepared for a little walk to all the main attractions. Would stay again for definite

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jools49,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in March and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very lucky to have an enthusiastic and engaged team who try their best to help our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible and it was nice to read how much you appreciated their efforts. I have also passed on your positive feedback to our restaurant team.

Thanks again for the kind comments and it would certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back if you return to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    489
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
236
566
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I took a trip here at the start of February with my girlfriend for my birthday, a weekend break in Edinburgh. The hotel was lovely from the outside very aged but also looking modern at the same time, an interesting twist. We were greeted as soon as we got into the hotel by the reception who checked us in straight away and 2 minutes later we were in our room.

A huge king sized bed, fluffy pillows and a very comfy matress, absolutly no complaints with the bed. The room came with a rather large LCD TV with plenty of channels to choose from, complementary coffee and teas. The bathroom was excellent too, with all you would want and very very clean, not a spot of dirt anywhere. Something I did pick up on is the curtains, they were fantatsic, keeping out all the sunlight meaning if you wanted a lie in you certainly got one.

Great value for money, very clean and comfy, a great Edinburgh hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plumby94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Plumby94,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and complimentary review from your stay at the beginning for February. It was very kind of you to title the review “One of Edinburgh’s finest” and it certainly made our entire team smile when they read how much you enjoyed your birthday break with us. We are lucky to have had all interior areas of the hotel recently renovated to provide our guests with a comfortable, and modern, stay but we are even luckier to have a dedicated team working to keep our product at a level that generally tends to exceed our guest’s expectation.

Many thanks for your recommendation and a belated happy birthday from all the team!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were in Edinburgh to attend a concert and booked a hotel which gave easy access both to the venue and the city centre. We knew we would arrive hours before check in time, however on arrival the receptionist made enquiries to see if there was a room available for us. Unfortunately there wasnt but it was nice that she tried. We left our bags and went out for the day. Upon our return we checked in and asked about the opening hours of the restaurant. We need to leave for our concert by 6 and that was the time the restaurant opened. The receptionist spoke to the chef and asked if he could open the restaurant an hour earlier for us. We were delighted that he did, not only for the convenience of eating in the hotel but also for an excellent meal. The breakfast was plentiful and was a good start to the day - at £8 per person very good value for money.

I would particularly like to thank the staff who were very helpful and welcoming

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone else visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCE_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear JCE_08,

Thank you for your lovely review titled “Great stay”. We are very lucky to have an engaged and enthusiastic reception team who try their very best to make each guest’s stay special and I was delighted to read you felt you received the very best in customer service during your time in our hotel. I have passed on your feedback to the team and also let our breakfast waitresses and chef know how much you enjoyed your start to the morning in our restaurant.

Hopefully we can welcome you back if you return to Edinburgh for another concert or simply a leisure break to experience the sights our lovely city has to offer.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and felt compelled to write a review.
Really nice stay, all staff were very polite and helpful. We stayed in a family room with our 2 young children, the room was really spacious, clean and comfortable.
We booked in B&B and the breakfast was lovely with great choice including full Scottish with potato scones and haggis!!
Great location - 10 minutes walk with 7 year old to Grassmarket area and 15 minutes to the castle.
All in all I couldn't fault this hotel and found it excellent value for money (3 nights B&B for a family of 4 £220)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is fantastic; about 10 minutes walk from Princes Street, very near to the university and within walking distance of lots of lovely cafés and bars. We were able to leave our luggage in the cloakroom before check in and for hours after check out. The rooms were clean and modern, with a flat screen TV, bath and shower. We didn't go for breakfast as it was extortionate, and there were plenty of places nearby to go. We brought takeaway food back to the hotel twice, and the restaurant staff were happy to provide us with plates. The only downside was the bed, which was a little uncomfortable, and left both my partner and I with back ache. However, seeing as it was quite good value for money, I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mhairi R,

Thank you for you review and it was really pleasing to read that you felt you received great value for money and excellent service, so much so that you gave your experience a 5 star review. Hopefully you may consider dining in with us on one night if you do choose to stay again, and I personally feel £8.00 for a cooked breakfast along with continental breakfast is good value for what we offer, but I appreciate that may not be to everyone’s taste.

Thank you for the recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Most of the staff (especially the general manager- David [?]) was incredibly kind and helpful. It was definitely nice that we could get breakfast delivered to our room for those mornings that we had early tours planned. The location was ok, it was fairly close to the city centre sights. The food was good, nothing to complain about there. The bed could have also been more comfortable but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

very good hotel for the price , fine enough breakfast and good staff
bars open 24/7 if you want a late night dram
location is very good few mins walk to Edinburgh royal half mile etc, and not to far to dock land

Room Tip: use the gap between double glazing as a mini fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadsideshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing