We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Overall the location is good (near grass market), the room was great, and the service was very much beyond expectations.

The room had a perfect size for two people, and was very clean and well kept. It had everything needed for a comfortable stay - nothing more, nothing less.

The service was way better than we expected for the price. The receptionist gave us a bunch of great tips for the city when we checked in, and marked all of these on a map (including shortcuts to get to them). Whenever we addressed the receptionist (different person each time), the service was great, and given with a smile.

Would stay again, and definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear AndyJager,

Many thanks for the 5 star review. It was great to read that the service you received throughout your stay had exceeded your expectations and really helped to enhance your visit to Edinburgh: I will be sure to pass these comments to our reception team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the Edinburgh City Hotel in mid June. The hotel is ideally situated near the beautiful Grassmarket area and is under a 15 minute walk from the city centre meaning Waverly Station, the Royal Mile and Princes Street are very accessible.

Upon arrival we found the staff very helpful. The girl at reception took time to find out the reason for our visit and went out of her way to mark cocktail bars and other points of interest to us on a map which was very much appreciated.

Our room was available for an early check in which was a bonus however had it not been there was space to securely store our luggage if we wanted to get out and about until it was ready.

The room itself was immaculate and spacious. There was no view to speak of but the large bed, couch and desk area were perfectly adequate for a short stay and would be useful during a longer trip although a small fridge would be a good addition. We took advantage of the upgrade option and we're welcomed with robes, slippers, wine, crisps, delicious chocolates and a bag of toiletries which was a welcome addition. The bathroom was quite small but had an over-bath shower and large wash hand basin so did what was required.

The hotel has no spa, swimming or gym facilities so might not be first choice for travellers not wishing to miss their daily workout but was no problem for us during a 2 night stay.

Breakfast was good with the usual choice of continental or cooked breakfast, a large range of juices and hot drinks. We ate out but the restaurant looked nice enough with a fairly good menu. The bar was adequate and very reasonable for central Edinburgh as was room service.

The Edinburgh City Hotel is quite well priced and has some excellent offers when booked in advance. It becomes quite expensive at short notice, particularly during peak periods such as the festival as expected.

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly consider staying again if returning to Edinburgh.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good position and the room was large, comfy and had all the amenities for the odd night's stay. I wouldn't want to stay for any longer. The restaurant menu is quite limited and basic but pretty cheap. An in-room fridge and air con would be good. The staff were helpful and polite. A good base for a city centre one nighter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CupcakeCandyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear CupcakeCandyQueen,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback from your recent stay and leaving a balanced review. On the positive side it was pleasing to ready you enjoyed our location, the quality of our hotel bedrooms and how helpful our team were during your stay. On the other side it is disappointing your felt your stay only merited an overall 3 star rating: our building is a Grade II listed building and as such it would not be possible to install air conditioning but any heat is circulated well and fans are available on request; an in room fridge is also available on request and we do not have fridges in each room simply to be a greener and more environmentally friendly hotel; and finally you are correct that our restaurant menu is a little more limited but we are trying to sell it at a price that offers excellent value to our guests and as such that does mean we cannot have a multitude of options. However, we are in the process of expanding our menu and your comments are very helpful in allowing us to try and improve the quality we offer to our guests.

I hope you had a very productive business trip to Edinburgh and thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location and great value for money.
We have stayed on a few occasions and always look forward to it.
The staff are always very helpful and the buffet breakfast has something for everyone.
Great stay as always.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear John R,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback of our hotel, and also thank you for choosing to stay with us each time you travel to Edinburgh now. We do our very best to look after our guests so that they receive quality service and value for money, with the hope that they will enjoy their stay enough to choose to book with us again if they return to our lovely city. So it was really great to read that we have got it right during each of your previous visits.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again sometime soon!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very clean & relatively quiet considering its city location, good sized room, delicious breakfast and helpful staff.

Would have been good to have a fridge in the room but staff were helpful in supplying ice bucket to keep cartons of juice we had purchased cold.

It's a 15 minute walk to the city centre, but there is a nice old town eating area a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, and an ice cream from Mary's Milk Bar on the way into the centre is a must!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy_and_Paul_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On our recent trip to Europe we stayed at this lovely hotel, just a few minutes walk from some of the cities main attractions, the hotel has a distinctive exterior and a modern contemporary interior, the staff were excellent and most helpful when it came to showing us what the best things to do were in the city, we would recommend this hotel to anyone, its stylish and relaxed and at a very reasonable price too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear patrick k,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt it represented value for money, especially as you were probably staying in a number of hotels during your travels through Europe.

Many thanks for your recommendation and I hope your other destinations proved similarly enjoyable.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Hotel is central located. Our room Nr. 312 was very noisy of traffic. Even when you close the windows. It was clean and furniture and bathroom were
new renovated. I can recommend the Edinburgh City Hotel if you get a quiet room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank gpollner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear gpollner,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review. I appreciate your balanced feedback and it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the standards of our rooms and would recommend our hotel. Obviously it was disappointing to read that you felt your room was noisy. All of our rooms have secondary glazing to try and minimise any noise disruption from the outside world. However, Edinburgh is a very compact city and due to our city centre location a little noise is inevitable no matter which hotel you choose, unless they are located outside the centre of Edinburgh.

I hope you had a pleasant time exploring our lovely city.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,387 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing