We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely long weekend stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Edinburgh City Hotel for a long weekend when visiting Edinburgh for a wedding. It was the ideal base to explore the city, or walk for a leisurely afternoon on the meadows. The room was gigantic, which is handy when the other half brings circa 6 wedding outfits to choose from, and I have a full kilt outfit to sort out! The staff were excellent all round - happy to recommend places to go for dinner, or what events were happening for the Jazz festival. The breakfast was also very good, the smoked salmon being a highlight.

Will definately be back.

Room Tip: Speak to the lovely people on reception, or book in advance when the festival is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for the detailed and kind review. Very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially as you travelled to Edinburgh for a special event. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    489
    87
    20
    15
See reviews for
235
565
44
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterfield, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Before booking this hotel I read reviews on TA which were a bit mixed. Our experience on our 2 night stay was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had obviously been recently renovated. The decor was nice and the bed comfortable, and the room had tea and coffee making facilities.

Although the weather was warm during our stay, our room wasn't uncomfortably hot despite the lack of air conditioning - apparently there are fans available on request. The best thing about this hotel is the location - about 10-15 mins walk to Edinburgh Castle, 10 minutes from Grassmarket which has loads of bars and eateries, 10 mins walk to a coin laundry if you need to do laundry (it's just off Grassmarket), in short, close to lots of great things to see and do!

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast very nice. In all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r-e-s62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear r-e-s62,

Thank you for your very kind review and it was good to hear you had an excellent stay with us. We are very fortunate with our location and you are correct to point out that we are within a short walk of many popular tourist stops – it sounds like you made really good use of this. Thanks for your recommendation and if you travel to Scotland again it will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is located very well, but our experience at this hotel was uneven. In our room for the first two nights, my husband and I had a “double” bed that was slightly larger than a twin. We figured it was just the way it was done since we had yet to get a queen bed on our European trip, let alone a king bed. The room was warm and they had a fan for us. The place didn't feel all that clean, and I was grossed out when I noticed that the bottom sheet didn't go up to the top end of the bed leaving the mattress exposed. After two days, we requested a change to another room. That room had two beds made as one and the size of a queen bed – big improvement. Why two people in our group who were single had these large beds and we, a couple, were given the tiny bed is a mystery. Along with the larger bed, though, was a roasting hot room. Gorgeous weather outside, but the second floor room had a window that could only open about an inch (“for security reasons.”) Even with 2 fans in this room, there was no air circulation and it was almost unbearable, especially in the bathroom. There was also one thing I’ve never seen and quite odd: The blow dryer in both rooms was in a drawer, plugged in, and could not be removed, making it most difficult to use. The breakfast was good and included some hot food choices. Unfortunately, not even instant decaf coffee could be had. Having peeled and sectioned fresh grapefruit each morning made up for a lot - a real treat. The managers, desk staff and servers at breakfast were mostly helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but there was much room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear LFK1,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations as that is always our aim. It is pleasing that you had an overall pleasant stay with us but I shall address each of your points in my response. It would have been my preference, however, for you to have asked me or one of the team during your stay as we would have been able to assist you there and then.

Firstly I will speak with our linen supplier personally as your description does not meet the standards you should expect from your stay, but from an overall cleanliness point of view we are consistently ranked one of the cleanest hotels in Edinburgh.

The room that you were assigned was a double room, which you had booked, and as you pointed out the size of a double bed in Europe does tend to be smaller than the double bed American hotels provide. You had asked us at 3pm on your third day to change room and all those on duty went to great lengths to accommodate your request even though we were fully booked and your request was very late in the day. This meant that we remade a late departure from a colleague of yours to meet your requirements and our housekeeping team then stayed on late to clean your room for the second time so that it was fit for a new arrival. It is disappointing that the efforts by our team were not mentioned in your review. This room that we moved you to had originally been requested to be kept as a contingency room by your group co-ordinator which could then be used as a double or twin. We have a mixture of rooms types and we need to make sure that for each arrival date we have the room types that guests have requested available, and we spend considerable time making sure of this. If you had simply asked me during our conversations in the hotel I would have happily taken the time to explain this so it was not a mystery to you, and so that you did not leave the hotel thinking we had not done everything we could have to enhance your stay.

Finally, with regards to the windows in each room, each window is restricted to open no further than 6 inches simply to comply with health and safety regulations: we take our responsibilities seriously and we want all our guests to feel safe when they stay with us. It is very unfortunate that we experienced the highest temperatures that we have seen in many years during the days of your stay, and we did provide fans to our guests to help cool the room, but hopefully the plus side was you managed to enjoy Edinburgh in glorious sunshine.

Thank you for your feedback and we will do our best to continue to try and offer the best service we possibly can.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had two nights at the hotel with our two young boys. All the staff were very helpful. The family room had two separate rooms which was perfect for us.

The food in the hotel was reasonably priced and had something to suit all. We were a walk to the castle and to the train station - fantastic

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Blimgo,

Thank you for your 5 star review. It was great to read you chose to stay with us for your family trip to Edinburgh and that you enjoyed your room and dining experience within the hotel. It is really pleasing to hear we were able to make your vacation a good one!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Very clean room with a comfy bed. Breakfast decent, and a good selection. Very much based on luck to depend on what size bedroom you get, and whether you get a corner room with a sofa! (saw some of my colleagues rooms).
Overall, would recommend.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear DanG23,

Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your business trip to Edinburgh, in particular the breakfast you had each morning to start your day. Hopefully if you return to Edinburgh we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 night break. Room was spacious and clean. We had a large double room for three us.
Did not eat at hotel. Convenient for sightseeing , walking distance to castle and royal mile.
Definitely would stay again. Staff friendly and helpful.
Hotel used to be a large hospital , quite a wee bit of history there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 294Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear 294Marian,

Thank you for your kind and balanced review. It is pleasing that our hotel met your expectations and was the right fit for your 2 night break. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team and thank you for highlighting how well located our hotel is for sightseeing within Edinburgh.

Thanks for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Overall the location is good (near grass market), the room was great, and the service was very much beyond expectations.

The room had a perfect size for two people, and was very clean and well kept. It had everything needed for a comfortable stay - nothing more, nothing less.

The service was way better than we expected for the price. The receptionist gave us a bunch of great tips for the city when we checked in, and marked all of these on a map (including shortcuts to get to them). Whenever we addressed the receptionist (different person each time), the service was great, and given with a smile.

Would stay again, and definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear AndyJager,

Many thanks for the 5 star review. It was great to read that the service you received throughout your stay had exceeded your expectations and really helped to enhance your visit to Edinburgh: I will be sure to pass these comments to our reception team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing