We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
711
532
97
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
532
97
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaternity hospitalroyal milelauriston placeminute walkgrassmarket arealothian roadlovely hotelgrass marketwithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againfamily roomlarge roomstayed here for nightsprinces streetedinburgh citymain attractionswould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice, yes a tad smaller than the pictures... no complaints. Staff was very nice and helpful. You are close to the royal mile and close to all kinds of eateries for any budget... also close or shops, in case you forgot something home... all around definitely recommend...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank tropicorneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I,honestly have nothing bad this at about this hotel it blew me away with the service the value and rooms are massive. U cannot lose if you book here u will be treated like royalty ¡!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;;;;;;;

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessejamessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear jessejamessmith,

Many thanks for the 5 star review and for leaving such kind comments. Our team works very hard each day to try and deliver a memorable experience for our guests and I am really pleased we were able to do so for you. Thank you for choosing to book with us.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We walked in the front door and right away we were welcomed by George (a young man from Barcelona) and he helped us settle right in. Our room (410) was delightful and quite spacious for a European hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. We were so delighted with a note from the Gen. Manager David congratulating us on our anniversary. The front desk staff continued to impress us - as we asked them a million questions! We had breakfast every morning we were there and the food was great, but what was even better is that David greeted us by name each morning when he seated us...that shows a very special regard for the guests at this hotel. The staff waiting on us was delightful too, especially April and Aga. If we are ever blessed enough to go to Edinburgh again, we will definitely stay with our friends at the Edinburgh City Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room, 410, was perfect!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mdenning1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear mdenning1951,

Many thanks for sharing your experience from your recent stay at our hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to Jordi, Aga and April who I am sure will be as delighted to read your review as I was.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over your anniversary and I hope you had a lovely time in London before heading home.

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A great little hotel that far exceeded my expectations in room quality and location given the very reasonable price. The front desk staff were very helpful as we'd never visited the city before and didn't have much time (2 nights) so asked about where the best places to go were and all their recommendations were spot on and they couldn't have been more happy to help us. They were also friendly and helpful when we needed an iron and when we wanted to store our luggage.

The room was great comfortable beds I'm not the best of sleepers but I had no problem here. It is located very close to the city centre (although not ideal distance from the train stations) but tucked away nicely on a side street meaning the noise levels were almost non-existent.

Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Jamie_rog,

Thank you for the very positive feedback after staying with us in June. It was great to read that you found your stay very comfortable and that our team were able to help you enhance your trip to Edinburgh by providing good recommendations.

I am glad you also found our location good for visiting the tourist sights in the city. With regards to the train stations: we are roughly equidistant from both Waverley and Haymarket train stations. If your preference is to walk I would suggest alighting at Haymarket and the walk will take about 15 minutes. From Waverley it is about a 25 minute walk mainly because the route is a bit hillier. A taxi ride from both stations will be approximately £7.00.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July.
Location is good, close to all the tourist attractions and not to far to walk on foot.
Staff were amazing. I ended up going to a&e one night and they were caring, ordered me a taxi and made sure I was ok.
We only had breakfast one morning and it was fine. Continental and buffet style.
Rooms - these were well furnished and spacious for me and my husband. Clean and comfy. Ours was hot but we managed to open a window to cool down. We needed an iron and one was provided without any issues.
We were also able to leave our bags after checking out as our flight didn't leave till 9pm.
Would definitely come back here. Great attentive service!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Lornaxx,

Thank you for your very thoughtful review. All our team were really pleased to read your kind comments about the service they were able to offer you and it is great to hear you will return!

Kind regards

David Clancy
General Manager
manager@edinburghcityhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews