We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff but disappointing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh City Hotel
Ranked #19 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent staff but disappointing room”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We have just returned home following a stay at the Edinburgh City during a visit to the Edinburgh Festival. We had booked a total of 3 rooms for our stay.(two standard and a superior room) for the 5 of us. Each room was on a seperate floor (not a problem) but it did allow us to compare the rooms and types. The two standard rooms were spacious with seating areas and provided a good standard of accomodation. The superior room (on the 4th floor) had been recently decorated but was small (attic room) with little natural light (two small attic windows), no seating area and a lack of water pressure in the bathroom made it impossible to run a full bath. Compared with the two standard rooms it was a disappointment especially as it was a higher rate of room. When staff at reception were approached they stated that a superior room was simply a room that had recently been refurbished but understood our issue with the room and reduced the rate accordingly. We can obviously only comment on the superior room we were allocated but we would advise others who are not satisfied with their superior room to let the hotel know. We found the rest of our stay at this hotel to be very good with pleasant,helpfull and attentive staff. The location of the hotel is within easy walking distance of all the places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    498
    88
    20
    15
See reviews for
247
592
44
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

A dress of mine was damaged in my room and the person(s) who did this tried to conceal the damage by removing a handful of beads that was part of my neck tie from the room. By doing this I was no longer able to fix the dress and it is now un-wearable.

I complained to reception staff who smiled and nodded and only when pushed did they offer to get a supervisor. The supervisor listened to me, promised a investigation. No one admitted responsibility for the damage and this was where the hotel staff appeared to be leaving the issue. Again when forced they offered money off my next stay and that they would send the details to me by e mail. Several weeks on and nothing.

As if that wasn't enough I checked my receipt to find that I had not stayed there at all but my female room mate had shared the room with a male friend of ours. The hotel staff did not seem to understand the importance of our other half's seeing this 'evidence' when we got home telling us that the names didn't matter. Again by sheer force of will the hotel staff relented and issued us with corrected receipts about an three quarters of an hour after the problem had first been reported. Thankfully we were waiting at the hotel for a transfer otherwise I would have been even less impressed if that is possible.

Had the hotel have given just a little bit of effort to try and fix these issues I wouldn't have bothered writing this review as it is I'm annoyed, more fool them.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sticks80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEdCity, General Manager at Edinburgh City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Dear Sticks80,

Thank you for taking to give us some feedback following your recent stay in Edinburgh. I have now investigated with all the Duty Managers and Receptionists and we have no record of this incident happening at The Best Western Edinburgh City Hotel. I would be very grateful if you could please contact me directly on 0131 6227979 in order to discuss further. Thank you,

Carolyn Le Goff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

For a single night's stay in central Edinburgh, I was impressed with the Best Western Edinburgh City hotel. I'm not usually a fan of Best Westerns (previous ones I've stayed in have been noisy and chintzy) but this one was an exception.

The room they gave me was spacious with an adjoining small living room. Both rooms had a flat screen TV and giant windows. It was very nice to have such a big, well-presented room, and a shame that it was only for a single night (I arrived after 9pm and had to leave at 8.30!)

I imagine that at weekends it might be busier with tourists and groups of friends, which could make it noisier, but I certainly slept well the night I was there.

Breakfast was a little lacklustre, as in any chain hotel, but altogether it was clean, central, spacious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Over the years I've stayed in several Edinburgh hotels; Sheraton, Novotel, The Caledonian, The George, to name but a few. Without doubt the Edinburgh City hotel now tops the list. The first thing to say is don't be put off by appearances. From the outside the hotel looks pretty bleak and unwelcoming particulary when compared to the slick Novotel and Premier Inn which are just a stones thow away. However once inside any worries about the asthetics of the outside will disappear. The welcome is warm and the rooms are as good as many I have experienced in many 4 or even 5 star hotels. They are very spacious, clean, have wall mounted flat screen TVs, free Wi Fi, and decent sized bathrooms. We were happy enough with our night's stay and then to round off a near perfect hotel experience we enjoyed an absolutely fantastic breakfast which was as good as anything I've had in Scotland to date. Bravo Best Western. In the words of Arnold Swartzenegger "I'll be back"

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pichon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family.
We found this hotel to be comfortable and friendly. The reception staff were quick, efficient and friendly, always acknowledging you if they were busy with another customer. The rooms were comfortable with plenty tea and coffee. The house staff were very friendly.
We ordered breakfast the night before, it was cheaper to do it that way. This was very good, well worth the money. You could chose from a full Scottish breakfast with haggis (which was lovely) to kippers or salmon with muffins, yum. The staff again were very good, with nothing any problem. We asked for more toast and coffee which came very quickly. It was lovely. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to Princes street so pack your walking shoes. We used the Wifi internet which was free, we got on to it immediately. The only down side for me was our bedroom was at the front and the road traffic was a bit noisy, it was very warm so we had to have the window open but luckily I had my ear plugs. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank merry008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I chose this hotel largely because it had free internet service. We had sporadic internet service from our rooms. It was available in the lobby. But when the ad says wireless from the room and it wasn't, we were a bit perturbed, to say the least. We confronted the manager for a discount on the price. He refused saying that we got our reservations from expedia and it was fully paid. We said he could still discount it and he refused. Otherwise, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyq425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2010.

The good:
- Location can't be beat - the hotel is close to all the attractions;
- Big rooms (compared to London or NYC anyway);
- Pretty clean;
- At $110 per night (Orbitz deal), a great value for money;
- Excellent customer service. Run by local staff, very polite and helpful.

The bad:
Small quibbles, really.
- The mattress is pretty thin and the bed very firm - standard for Europe, but can take some getting used to for American guests.
- The elevator made dodgy noises (no incidents, but I kept taking the stairs afterwards).
- Checking out in the am, I had to wait for 10-15 mins for someone to come by since noone was anywhere near the reception area.
- Flipped the mattress (I do this in every hotel room to check for bedbugs and other critters). No insects, but seriously (pee) stained furniture under the bedcovers & mattress. Yes, it's like that or worse in most hotels and no, nobody ever cleans the bed under the mattress. Still, pretty gross. In fairness, everything else was spotless.

Overall: I had a great stay. Would definitely come here again.

Misc tips:
- For jogging: check out the meadows and holyrood park. They have a ton of paths popular with runners, cyclists and run commuters.
- Skip the breakfast at the hotel. Any newsagents shop or Tesco express will get you a better and more varied breakfast.
- Any visitor can walk in and watch the debates at the Scottish parliament (just south of Holyrood park) for free. No photography is allowed in the debate hall, but it's still pretty cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler14698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh City Hotel

Property: Edinburgh City Hotel
Address: 79 Lauriston Place | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH3 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few minutes from Edinburgh’s city centre and principal financial/business district, Edinburgh City Hotel is located in a superb spot. The Old and New towns are within easy reach, and tourist treats like Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Hollyrood Palace are as easy to get to free WiFi, stylish and comfy guest rooms and very competitive rates may just make your mind up that this is the hotel for you! Friendly welcoming staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Edinburgh is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Edinburgh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh City Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing