We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #82 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tim
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True Marriott”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spend a "no kids weekend" here and were very pleased. Staff was extremely helpful and the hotel lacks nothing. Used a special dinner'n weekend deal which made it really cheap. Kitchen is good and prices fair. Airport and City shuttle stops right outside. It's also close to a quite large mall. Will stay here next time we go to EDI and we'll bring the kids - they'll love the pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    616
    193
    64
    29
See reviews for
359
465
57
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just another Marriott but average for the brand, as it could be anything else. Otherwise the staff are very helpful in this 'business' hotel. Rooms are functional although the room heating and cooling systems could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-Based-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel this weekend and were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. The first person we met when we arrived was the concierge (John from London) he exemplifies everything about excellent customer service and is a credit to the hotel.

The hotel was clean and the food was great and the leisure facilities were in good condition
And not overcrowded. I would recommend the hotel and would definitely stay again. A true warm welcome can go a long way!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This property fails to reach the standard of a Marriott. We checked into a very small room with a very small bathroom. With temps outside in the 70's the rooms were quite warm. The airconditioning did not work properly and we were switched to another room. The next room was also without airconditioning which meant a third room change. The cooling unit was quasi-working, although clearly it did not function properly and the room was warm. The air in the bathroom also had a damp smell. The entire property looked worn and showed signs of neglect. We ate at the lounge and found it to be very ordinary. After three wonderfull weeks in Ireland and Scotland, staying at hotels, B and B's, manor houses and 2 resorts, this was by far our worst stay. I would recommend looking elsewhere. If a Marriott property is a necessity, the better option should be the Marriott Dalmahoy. Further from City Center, but overall better choice. I regret that we didn't return there to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmac006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights for a weekend break, lovely welcome at reception,we were given a lovely large room which was exceptionally clean (the hotel infact was spotless), we ate in the Restaurant the Friday night, the Restaurant Manager was lovely so helpful, food was very pleasant, service excellent, breakfast was great, wide variety of food, chef making omeletts to order at no extra charge , this hotel has a great location although not in the city centre, the bus stop outside the door of the hotel has the main bus route for the Aiport to the City Centre (number 100,) which goes every 10mins takes around 20 mins, make sure you have the correct bus fare (1.40) one way .The Concierge were also very helpful and had a wonderful map which was a great, We will definatley stay again, I must comment on the General Manager Peter Dornom, very helpful, asked if we needed help with our luggage, at breakfast asked if we needed anything, in all the hotels we have ever stayed in we have never seen or had such a hard working, on the ball Manager (they are usally tucked away in an office) excellent Manager and the staff said he was a joy to work for well done to Peter Dornom.that is why the Hotel is so well run.

Room Tip: Join the Marriot Rewards programme
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCuaigScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a family trip and was very impressed in the areas that matter like cleanliness an staff helpfulness. Would be impossible to critise the pool and buffet breakfast. Staff were always friendly, helpful and cheerful, especially the lovely cockney night manager.

Only criticism would be the woeful wi-fi. I would expect wi-fi to be free as standard in a 4 star but they charge you £6 for an hour or £15 for a day. And it was an awful connection that kept cutting out. But other than that very happy with stay. Would choose it again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Located away from the main Edinburgh city area, however therefore is close to the airport / on the way to the airport.

Room was tiny and tidy. No issues.

Breakfast buffet spread was good - however a strange part I noted was that we were just not ALLOWED to help ourselves at the buffet counters. Only the server could do the same! Spread had some South East Asian preparations too, however those who don't miss 'Indian' stuff may find it to be an issue. But there are ample Indian and Bangladeshi restaurants some 1km down the road....

Room Tip: Try not to take the ones facing the road - due to the noise factor of traffic, as well as that of la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gautamkaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,068 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,094 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing