We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short stop Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great short stop Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here in feb 13 before flying to Val D'Isere. Having just driven 4 hours south, we were weary and irritable but the staff were more than helpful, helping to empty the car and check in ws quick as well.
We had a family room. The room itself was large and spacious, with good food that was reasonably priced which is rare for these kind of hotels. Good to see the staff were always smiling, happy and helpful. Would stay agin if flying early....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiRobertGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    624
    201
    65
    31
See reviews for
365
473
58
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here 6&7th march. The service was very good compared to other comparable hotels in Edinburgh. The hotel in well kept and shiny clean. My room was lovely and the bed was so comfy with Egyptian cotton sheets. It had every thing one would want tea coffee, fridge, safe, hair dryer, iron and board. The only let down is the doors are fairly heavy so make a lot of noise when closing. I had dinner and breakfast here and the food and service was fab. Location isn't great if you are wanting to walk out of hotel and sight see but has a taxi rank and a regular bus service. Lovely gym and a well kept pool. In all I loved it and this will now be my preferred hotel when I travel to Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaQueenofYorkshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here as part of a six nations rugby weekend with my family. There is plentiful free parking but you have to right turn through a traffic jam to get to it.

Check in was efficient and the staff helpful, changing allocated rooms to allow us to check in early. Our double superior room was excellent, roomy with a sofa area.Our sons' twin room was more basic but still plenty of room for two teenage rugby players.

The leisure suite was Ok but nothing special and the real disappointment are the public areas. The bar is tiny and impersonal with poor drinks selection and mediocre food. The main restaurant is more like a self service cafeteria and has no charm, only a sense of being processed through. Braekfast was entirely adequate. Having said that the staff themselves were very good in the bar and efficient in the restaurant.

The hotel was a little bit out of Edinburgh City Centre and close to the airport but you cross the road and get a £1.40 express bus in (c20-25mins). This worked very well for us as we wanted to be outside of Edinburgh for our departure however I suspect it could be a problem in rush hour or weekdays.

Room Tip: Try a superior- a small incremental cost but worth it for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have stayed here a number of times and have had some dreadful experiences, cold rooms, incorrect bills, appalling food. So I thought this time I would be positive. The room was great,comfortable and warm. The air conditioning was noisy. The lounge and bar areas were comfortable and drinks not overpriced. The restaurant though sadly was a bit like Fawlty Towers. The staff were nice but really just about competent. The head waiter was in a panic despite there being dozens of empty tables and in fact was turning diners away! The food was average and 2 courses for 20£ was just about ok but if it was my money I would not have been happy. Marriott do need to look at this food issue as their restaurants are inferior to Hilton and in many cases Holidays Inns, who charge less.
i have given the hotel as a whole the good rating. But if I could I would not eat here.
Lastly this hotel is a good 4 miles from the city centre! It is not a good location unless you are wanting to visit the petrol station opposite. Paying 15£ for wifi is a real rip off and should be banned.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here this past weekend after a six nations match. Plenty free parking;very efficient check in, and an early check in which was very much appreciated;decent sized, clean and well appointed room; bathroom clean but a bit small. We pre-ordered breakfast at £10 each(£12.00 if you don't pre-book). A bit overpriced for a buffet breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay. Unfortunately the hotel had been having problems with the heating system, for which they apologised on check out. It was so hot that we opened the window overnight to gain some comfort. Would stay again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is let down by the quality of the restaurant food. The hotel has a great location, plenty of off street parking and the rooms are very comfotable. The staff and pleasant and very helpful. We were advised to book early for dinner on our first evening;but the dining room was almost empty and we had to ask for the air conditioning to be turned down as it was cold. We did order starters and we waiting 25 for the mains courses to arrive; these were not quite what we had hoped, the crab salad was extremely small, the chicken was also not a large portion, the lamb burger were not worth the price. Breakfast on both morning was very goood. We would stay at this hotel again, but we will eat out as we did on our second evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sela-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked a long weekend in Edinburgh and found a decent deal for 2 rooms at the Marriot Airport hotel. The hotel had free parking , which was plentiful, and is situated about 4.5 miles from central Edinburgh. As we were going to the Rugby International, it was only 2 miles from Murrayfield, which made it an ideal base. There were a lot of Scotland and Ireland rugby fans staying at the hotel, which made a great atmosphere in the bars pre and post the game. The 2 double rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and were complimented by shortbread biscuits.

We had pre-booked the rooms, and added breakfast at £10 per person per night. The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of pastries, breads, cereals, fruit, and cooked breakfasts. The eggs were freshly cooked to your liking at the grill, and included haggis, fresh porridge and black pudding on the menu. The waiters brought tea and coffee to the table. Breakfast was well worth the money.

The hotel also has good leisure facilities with a well stocked gym, spa area, and pool. This is complimentary to residents.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, and the concierge printed off details for everyone of the local buses going to Murrayfield stadium.

Though it lacks character compared to some older hotels, the Marriot Edinburgh Airport met my expectations.

The only disappointing feature is that you can only get free wi-fi for up to 1 hour in the restaurant/bar areas, otherwise you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U411483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing