We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #87 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Food”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here in March and it was ideal, a great location too with easy access to the Motorway system and not far from the airport. The food was surprisingly good for a major hotel, and breakfasts a delight.
We had an executive room but to be honest I couldnt tell the difference. One dissappointment empty room fridge so whats the point and not even the usual bottles of water.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    648
    215
    74
    32
See reviews for
383
494
61
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel 8th march 2013 for a few days, hotel very clean, hotel room very clean and nice, bed comfortable, just out standing, breakfast food was lovely, staff very helpful and pleasant, would highly recommend this hotelm and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here from the 1st/3rd march we had a junior suite for the first time and it fabulous,from the minute we walked in we were greeted my Ahmed at reception he is a very friendly well mannered man and he cannot do enough for you we have stayed here a lot in the past and he is the same every time you check in and greets you by your name as soon as he see's you it makes all the difference. Once checked in we went up to our suite it was spacious and very clean and as usual at the marriot a very comfy bed we had loads if space in both living area and bedroom and the bathroom was huge!!! Went to use the swimming pool and again greeted with a smile and warm welcome by Scott he also very friendly and always pleased to see you back again. Breakfast as usual was great and staff well mannered and very efficient can't fault them at all. We love staying here and now staff recognise us it really does make all the difference can't wait for our next stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a upgrade its well worth the larger room, ask for 2nd/3rd floor really quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamgaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights whilst attending a training course on the gyle business park, excellent service as usual when checking in nice large rooms with large tv massive comfortable beds chairs desk windows that open etc, you can't beat a Marriott bed so big and comfortable best sleep have had in ages. Had the Marriott burger in bar and on rooms service both times nice, 3rd night walked round to gyle shopping centre to frankie and bennies. Food and breakfast in hotel great loved the Marriott breakfast as usual perfect and haggis nice too good helping every day (book when checking in and only £10 each). Leisure club fantastic friendly and polite staff and lovely and warm steam room and hot tub which you don't always find in hotels. Really would recommend apart from the fact of the wifi an absolute disgraceful charge of £15 in room 1h free in bar area but didn't seem to work why marriot persist with ibahn Internet I don't no maybe 10 years ago fine but now get something like BT openzone so people can keep it touch with there family or work etc, other than this fact was a great stay and as always warm, friendly and relaxing and a good reason to choose this hotel. Tip plenty of taxis and busses close by not to far from Edinburgh park station and transport to the city. Close to morrisons and big shopping centre for a look around. Meals at hotel £10-£20 beers £4.10 a pint.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodzy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here in feb 13 before flying to Val D'Isere. Having just driven 4 hours south, we were weary and irritable but the staff were more than helpful, helping to empty the car and check in ws quick as well.
We had a family room. The room itself was large and spacious, with good food that was reasonably priced which is rare for these kind of hotels. Good to see the staff were always smiling, happy and helpful. Would stay agin if flying early....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiRobertGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here 6&7th march. The service was very good compared to other comparable hotels in Edinburgh. The hotel in well kept and shiny clean. My room was lovely and the bed was so comfy with Egyptian cotton sheets. It had every thing one would want tea coffee, fridge, safe, hair dryer, iron and board. The only let down is the doors are fairly heavy so make a lot of noise when closing. I had dinner and breakfast here and the food and service was fab. Location isn't great if you are wanting to walk out of hotel and sight see but has a taxi rank and a regular bus service. Lovely gym and a well kept pool. In all I loved it and this will now be my preferred hotel when I travel to Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaQueenofYorkshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed here as part of a six nations rugby weekend with my family. There is plentiful free parking but you have to right turn through a traffic jam to get to it.

Check in was efficient and the staff helpful, changing allocated rooms to allow us to check in early. Our double superior room was excellent, roomy with a sofa area.Our sons' twin room was more basic but still plenty of room for two teenage rugby players.

The leisure suite was Ok but nothing special and the real disappointment are the public areas. The bar is tiny and impersonal with poor drinks selection and mediocre food. The main restaurant is more like a self service cafeteria and has no charm, only a sense of being processed through. Braekfast was entirely adequate. Having said that the staff themselves were very good in the bar and efficient in the restaurant.

The hotel was a little bit out of Edinburgh City Centre and close to the airport but you cross the road and get a £1.40 express bus in (c20-25mins). This worked very well for us as we wanted to be outside of Edinburgh for our departure however I suspect it could be a problem in rush hour or weekdays.

Room Tip: Try a superior- a small incremental cost but worth it for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,192 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing