We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough Marriott close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very close by the airport this is a decent Marriott - rooms are standard Marriott wired appropriately with plenty of plug ins for your devices and wifi available. Hotel Restaurant had good Scottish fare and I dared try the Vegan menu- which was actually very good. Executive Lounge on the smallish size.
Health Club well stocked- but small and crowded. Equipment was life cycle and Cybex (knock of Nautilus). Good but not the best Marriott property.
Staff was eager to please and very helpful Our meeting room was good enough and tea service included a nice selection of gourmet teas.

For a business meeting close to the airport this is the ticket. For a personal trip I think one could do better staying in Edinburgh proper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel was 1st class. The staff couldnt do enough to help. Room was huge, clean and fresh. Room service was really nice and arrived quickly. Good curtains kept the light out for the kids in the morning! Was a very quiet room also. Would have liked a bit more options for kids on the menu (they both wanted chicken nuggets for a treat), but all in all you cannot fault this hotel or the staff

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibby12909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Large 80's block style Marriott in good setting,easily accessible from airport and main road in to city centre plus motorway network. Good disabled access.

Above par Marriott, excellent facilities though business facilities and wifi access expensive. The rooms are spacious and to high spec, usual excellent Marriott beds and sleep quality.

Breakfast very reasonable and items cooked to different stages eg bacon cooked from just cooked to very cooked allowing more choice.

Overall one of better Marriott's in my opinion

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I'm a leisure club member so we get a small discount off rooms if we stay at Marriott properties. I booked this hotel online but there was no box to put in that we were entitled to a discount so I rang the hotel to ask how I should get the discount. I spoke to at least three different people, none of whom had english as a first language and none of whom understood this really simple question ''no we don't charge for the leisure club sir'' was one response! I ended up cancelling the booking within a few minutes of making it and contacting the hotel, and confidence is severely dented if a hotel can't answer simple questions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here and were impressed with the cleanliness of our spacious room.
Not so impressive was the overhead shower over the bath with plastic curtain which is a particular dislike of mine.
On the plus side the water was piping hot and plentiful with a strong jet of water.
Lots of fluffy white towels and complimentary shower goodies.

The hotel was fully booked for the rugby & the staff coped very well,always polite and smiling.

Breakfast was lovely with a choice of fresh fruit salads,yoghurts,cheeses,hams and of course the fully cooked breakfast or cereals.
Plenty of breads and pastries and fruit juice all quickly served by the waiting staff.

Great swimming pool and sauna which was well maintained.
Plenty of free parking facilities and a great location for easy acess into the city sights using the frequent cheap bus services where an all day ticket cost £3.50 for 24 hours travel.

Free wi-fi also appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here in March and it was ideal, a great location too with easy access to the Motorway system and not far from the airport. The food was surprisingly good for a major hotel, and breakfasts a delight.
We had an executive room but to be honest I couldnt tell the difference. One dissappointment empty room fridge so whats the point and not even the usual bottles of water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel 8th march 2013 for a few days, hotel very clean, hotel room very clean and nice, bed comfortable, just out standing, breakfast food was lovely, staff very helpful and pleasant, would highly recommend this hotelm and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 103 which was lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,224 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing