We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dec stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dec stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Last weekend we stayed for 2 nights. The room and bathroom was very clean and the buffet breakfast was really good. Our friends and us had a great stay and it was also made enjoyable by the friendly staff and maitre'd John who was also very helpful. Edinburgh is a fantastic city and will certainly be going again.

Leah and Gary French.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    624
    200
    65
    30
See reviews for
363
472
57
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Another great few nights spent at the Marriott in Edinburgh . Although not in the heart of the city this hotel has plenty of car parking onsite and the bus service into the City is excellent with bus stops right on the doorstep ! Staff are friendly and helpful , rooms are a good size and well equipped , food served in the bar or dining room is excellent with a good choice to suit everybody. I have stayed a few times at the Marriott and would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Joanfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We have got to say that this is without a doubt the best hotel in Edinburgh Glasgow street. First on entering the hotel, the reception had smartly dressed women with exceptional customer service they pointed us to our room. When we got into our room it was clean, had a seating area, a tv and a clean bathroom. We ate in the bar and it was lovely, we could not fault the service. We spoke to the house keeping lady for some more soap and she was so helpful. Breakfast was well organised and buffet style tasty faultless. We can not fault our stay and since we came back we have been telling everyone. Even though there was a function going on on the Saturday, it was quiet and comfortable. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephdan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Enjoyable stay at Marriot Edinburgh
Large Hotel on the outskirts of Edinburgh, but with excellent public transport links in to the centre
The Hotel was catering for several large christmas parties on the Saturday night but the food and service was not diminished
Popular hotel with good swimming pool and spa facilities

Room Tip: A high room is always a good bet for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83Mike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good hotel, very comfortable and above all, warm, which is what you need for Scotland. Good location, fairly close to airport and city centre easily accessible using public transport.
Good choice of food, especially room service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Although our hotel was full,we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and quiet. Unfortunately we had no hot water through out our stay. We were offered use of leisure facilities to shower and as that wasn't suitable given an apology and generous discount.
We ate in the restaurant which was very noisy as a wedding being hosted in the hotel was moved to the bar area. However again the staff were very attentive and we had a delicious meal.
Breakfast was excellent. Unlike so many hotels,the buffet always looks like you are the first to arrive,and so nicely presented. Very tasty. This was our second stay in this hotel. If we ate in the restaurant in the evening and there was an event in the bar, we would request a table furthur away from the bar area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a 2 night weekend break at this hotel. Upon checking in at the hotel we were told we had only booked a room only package and did we want to pay £10 each per adult for breakfast per day, an extra £40 for our stay. We had infact booked a bnb deal but this was not on the system and we had to them chase this up ourselves. Got into our room and the cot and king size bed we had requested were not there, instead we had 2 double beds... were they expecting our 1 year old to sleep in a double bed?! anyway quick phone call to reception and a cot arrived a few minutes later . Room could have done with a bit of modernisation...part of the ceileing had a gap in and when you looked up all you could see was dust and grime. Staff were great and friendly and nothing was too much, breakfast was good to. Like others had said charges for the internet were ridiculous you would have thought in a big chain hotel it would be free! swimming pool was good especially to take our little boy in although seemed like there was a bit too much chlorine in it but was clean and warm. Not sure if we would stay at this hotel again but if you want something cheap and cheerful then this is for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousesubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing