We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Close to the airport”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here the night before flying out on business. The room price included free transfer to and from the airport which saved me money on airport car parking.The hotel is very clean and all the staff that I came into contact with were nice but professional.A friend joined me for dinner which we ate in the restaurant which was surprisingly good.They even gave me a free coffe to take in the taxi the following morning onmy way to the airport.
On returning from my trip abroad all I had to do was take a taxi from the airport back to the hotel and they reimbursed me the taxi cost.
I will use again if flying from Edinburgh

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspector777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    624
    200
    65
    31
See reviews for
364
472
57
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good friendly hotel staff, hotel is within easy reach of the m8. Only thing I would quibble is that the wifi is not included, costs over £15 for 24 hours. Not that helpful when staying on business. Food/room service was superb really great choice on the menu. Perfect for someone travelling alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stay in many hotels on business and was fortunate to stay here last Friday. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the food in the Source restaurant was fantastic. The room was very comfortable with a lovely bed and bedding. It is hard to find fault with this hotel but if I had to pick one thing, the 'voice-over man' in the lift does sound a little bored! although this did make me laugh very time I went in the lift! I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you've stayed in one of the other standard business Marriott's in the UK like Preston or Swansea then you know what to expect here.

Location wise it's not in the centre and takes a while in a taxi or bus, I stayed here as I was working at a nearby office so it didn't bother me too much. If you want to pop out for a bit to eat then you're next to a dual carriageway and there's a Shell over the road (a bit Alan Partridge but I can confirm Michael the geordie doesn't work there)

The rooms are 10 year old Marriott - perfectly fine but nothing amazing - I had a deluxe room which had a decent sofa in as well so it felt spacious enough. The heating was fine and the secondary glazing stopped any noise from the dual carriageway.

Bed was okay, I'd been spoilt by the fancy bedding at the glasshouse in down so the sheets seemed a bit rough but slept well enough. The only issue was in the morning when the VERY LOUD slamming of doors in nearby rooms woke me up 30 minutes before my alarm clock was due to go off.

I'm a gold to tried the exec lounge in the evening which had some nice canapes and decent wine and beer - the breakfast in there the following morning was nice enough also.

Can echo what a lot of the other reviews said - the thing that makes this place is the staff, both on checkin and checkout they were helpful, friendly yet super efficient - I had an electronic copy of my invoice on my phone before I'd stepped out of the front door!

Not my first choice of hotel in Edinburgh but solid enough, especially if you want to be near the airport/zoo/etc and not the city centre.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the extra for more space if you're going to be in there a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have just held my 60th birthday party at the Marriott Hotel in Edinburgh and cannot praise the team at the Marriott highly enough. From the start of the planning process with Karen from the events team, to the reception staff at check in, to Steven the head concierge through to Kevin who managed my party on the night, everyone delivered the most fantastic service. There was no request that was too much trouble and it enabled me to relax and enjoy my party knowing that every detail had been taken care of. My guests have all complimented me on the venue, the quality of the rooms and the helpful staff as many of them had arranged to stay for the weekend. I have the most wonderful memories from my birthday weekend, manybofbthem due to the fantastic Marriott team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It would be hard to find better restaurant staff anywhere. They did everything possible to accommodate us, and were friendly and helpful above and beyond the call of duty.
The hotel itself is well appointed, very close to the airport with buses leaving every 10 minutes directly to the centre of the city.
I would recommend this hotel for the staff alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie4870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over the New Year, myself husband and teenage daughter. Lovely welcoming reception, all staff I came into contact with were more than helpful, shared local knowledge with helpful tips for travel. Room was fabulous, more than enough room for 3. Included breakfast was very good, help yourself, all freshly cooked andplenty of it. Location is good, bus stop across road into city, run often and well priced. We enjoyed new year celebration in the city with free bus service back. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning to continue exploring Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing