We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic weekend and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oakmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend and great staff”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

When in Edinburgh we always here because you know what you are getting! This weekend was a special event, my daughters Hen party weekend so we booked the discover Scotland break this was excellent value for money. We had full use of the spa and an evening meal in the restaurant which was superb. The staff were great ( Young man from Greece was our waiter and he was fantastic and really looked after us) Also Ali in restaurant couldn't do enough to help us. Location of the hotel is really good for city centre activities because you can leave your car parked up and hop on the airport bus into the city which is approx 20 mins. The hotel is really comfortable and the staff are so helpful, cannot fault the breakfast. Highly recommended! Thank you Marriott once again and thanks for strawberries and marshmallows and the chocolate tart for Sam in the morning, very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    624
    200
    65
    31
See reviews for
364
472
57
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very attentive and helpful staff, breakfast is superb and not to be missed especially the Haggis. Only downside on the hotel is still the WiFi charges but apart from that a good hotel made special by the staff

Room Tip: i slept on the ground floor on an inside looking room and so had no noise from the nearby airport or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
573 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stay at this hotel every year, and always find the rooms, staff and food excellent. This year we experienced a problem...it was the same weekend as the Scotland France Rugby match so obviously they were under pressure. When we arrived in our room, all looked OK and we unpacked, and started to get ready to go to dinner, only to find that the loo had not been cleaned and was left unflushed by the previous occupants...NOT NICE.
We complained bitterly to the management who were great, and had the room recleaned whilst we were at dinner, they also arranged for a complimentary bottle of wine as an apology, which was well appreciated. Such prompt action by the management is a good gesture, and means that we will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low room near to the lift and amenties
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arriving late Saturday evening (Just in time for a very good supper in the Hotels dinning room), our plan was a short trip into the city on Sunday, followed by an onward journey North.

Other reviews say it all - the location for us was perfect. 3 to 4 miles, and a very quick and easy bus journey into the city via the stop outside and opposite the Hotel (5 mins walk max, and £1.50 to city centre, single journey per person) and you get off at the last stop, clearly marked on the electronic screen on the bus. From there it is a short walk up the hill to the Castle (10 mins walk), or even shorter walk onto Princess Street for shopping. Returning every 10 -15mins (Make certain to tell the driver you want to stop at the Marriot, as they can journey on to the Airport!)
The Hotel rooms are better than functional - quiet and comfortable - we slept well, and enjoyed a full on buffet breakfast which kept us going for the rest of the day.

One other thing, there is a Car valet service almost opposite the Hotel (200 metres towards the city, on opposite side of the road to Hotel) - after our brief city tour, we put the car into the car wash which was £6 for a hand wash, or £12 inc a vacuum inside before we left - great value compared to my town!

As the saying goes, location, location, location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it was great. Our room was big and clean with comfy beds. The swimming pool was a nice temperature & the sauna, jacuzzi & steam room were fab. The swimming pool changing room is tiny but we usually shower in our room in hotels anyway.
The buffet breakfast was tasty and well looked after.
The location is near to Edinburgh airport and the zoo in Corstophine but has a bus stop outside for buses into the city centre. The bus takes 10 mins or so. A black taxi to
Waverley cost us £14.
I have stayed in Marriott hotels in several locations but the staff in this one made this hotel stand out. Every time you walked past a member of staff they said hello & smiled, whether it was the cleaner, receptionist, waiter or anyone. They actively made conversation with you and went out of their way to help you. I can only assume that the manager puts customer service to the forefront of importance & I wish more would follow suit.
In particular there was a man waiting on us at breakfast on Saturday (22nd March) with black hair and I think he had glasses. He was helpful, funny and really made you feel valued. It's not often that a waiter has all 5 of us ladies laughing! (If staff are trying to figure it out, he was joking saying that he and my mum had a connection because he knew exactly when she would finish her food). I felt bad that I never took any cash to breakfast because he deserved a good tip.

Anyway, next time I'm over this side of the country I'll be staying here.

Thanks to every staff member that made our stay memorable:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LauraCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice stay here, booked last minute. We were in a deluxe room which was large enough and VERY comfortable.
A travel cot was provided as we had our 18month old son with us. Also, baby toiletries, nappy bags and a changing mat were put in the room!!! A lovely touch!

We had dinner here too in the restaurant. It was a lovely meal. All the food here was excellent. A great breakfast too.

All the staff, from reception to the restaurant were friendly and offered help.

The leisure club is TINY. Space is at a premium especially in the changing rooms and this made it very difficult (and stressful) to change our toddler. But the pool area was nice and had spa, sauna, steam room.

I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SuziGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed at the Marriott several times before flying off on holiday, and been extremely satisfied every time. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the hotel itself is clean and well-kept. Our spotlessly clean room had two queen size beds which were so comfy I wished we didn't have such an early start the next day! I had a problem trying to get the safe to work but the handyman came and fixed it immediately. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that - we usually take the bus into town and visit our favourite restaurant there. I always look forward to staying here - and feel confident that our car will be safe and secure in their car park while we're away. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attielattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing