We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #88 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed one night our last night before heading back to Dublin. This hotel is located on a bus route, easy to get to from the train/bus station and is only about a couple of miles away from the airport. There is no hotel shuttle to get you to the airport, but the bus stops right in front of the hotel and will take you directly to the airport for about 2.50 pounds. This hotel is lovely, the rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were spacious and clean. The hotel staff was so nice and helpful; they went out of their way to help us with our instructions from our Aer Lingus. We had dinner at the hotel, it was good and reasonably priced. We did not eat breakfast in the dining room, but there is a cafe which is also a bar where you could get Starbucks coffee and pastry. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for the Easter weekend, I can not express how happy we were, the customer care and service here was second to none, (and I've stayed in many hotels). The staff, and I mean all the staff, from reception to the housekeeping staff were all so polite and were welcoming, always with a polite greeting. The staff exceeded all expectations. The rooms were well stocked and very clean, the leisure suite was great, and very clean, staff there were so helpful too. All in all it was a fab stay made better by the lovely staff. Thankyou

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123me321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very clean hotel, from the outside it doesn't look anything special but has a good quality finish inside. Large king size bed which was very comfortable with luxury style soft pillows, good size room. The window was fairly small with not much fresh air coming through but that was a minor issue. The staff were very attentive and helpful, enjoyed the accommodation but ate out in the evening in the city centre which was around £15 in a cab. 10 minutes walk into the business park and supermarket and close enough to the zoo and other attractions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePowerNapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is near to the airport and a 25 minute bus ride to the City Centre. But don't let this put you off staying here! The bus services in Edinburgh are fantastic!

Every one of the staff are fantastic they couldn't do enough to make our stay a great one and a promise to stay there again. It was my wife's birthday and within a minute of entering the room a knock on the door with a bottle of wine and a birthday balloon. the room was spacious and spotless. the swimming pool was the same with towels provided. Breakfast was excellent, being non meat eaters we asked for vegetarian sausages which were served quickly along with plenty of choices and a decent cup of coffee we were set up for the day.

From the airport take the 100 bus which is outside and takes you 2 stops (Maybury) right outside the hotel on the main road. £3 return. No problems with these buses as they are available pretty much within a few minutes of each other.

The hotel is 25 minutes on the bus into the city centre. However get the 31 or 12 and this costs £3.50 for a day pass. This included the 22 service to Ocean Terminal, (not outside the hotel.) The 100 does the job but does not have a day pass available.

The tram is being tested at this moment in time but it didn't look like stopping at this hotel tho nearer the time a stop may be made.

There is a large shopping centre a 5 minute walk away (Gyle Centre) apart from the shops such as Morrisons, Marks and Spencers etc the 22 bus is a direct service to the Ocean terminal, but it's a long way round! take the 31 / 12 and change in the city centre to the 22.

Yes this hotel is a way out of the City but with this excellent public transport service it really is not a problem. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Room spotless could not fault it, staff helpful and friendly the young girl In leasure club especially helpful thank you to every one made or stay special. We will be returning in a few months time as my little boy did not want to leave :-D

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank emmas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here as attended wedding at the hotel....absolutely fantastic, staff very attentive, food amazing. Room I had with my Mum was twin room, so comfortable and spacious. would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a little luxury at very affordable prices. They also have an amazing spa you can use as a guest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebell744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

... good clean rooms with good furniture and bathrooms. Free parking and very professional staff. Bus stops are just outside with buses to city centre or (opposite direction) airport which is only a few miles away. I had a drink with a few colleagues in the bar (endless supplies of nuts...) and for once I felt the environment and service justified the over-the-top hotel bar prices. We ate out for dinner each night but the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,300 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,318 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing