We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #87 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for a night away with my boyfriend, the hotel isn't too far away from much especially if you drive. the hotel itself was lovely apart from a damp smell from the room we stayed and the price n choice of food, but what do you expect from a 4 star hotel. we also took full advantage of the swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room and gym, you can pay to get spa treatments done as well which I will be doing when I go back there next time. All in all I will definitely be going back there is also an 24/7 casino right across the road. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    647
    214
    73
    32
See reviews for
383
492
61
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We used the bar for food and drinks only tonight, with a late meal for a party of six after 10pm. Staff were so accommodating, so friendly, very polite, and exceptionally helpful.

The food was great, portions were huge and they even provided a doggy bag for food that couldn't be eaten - literally for the dog!!!

We took a birthday cake and the staff were so helpful by hiding it, preparing it, lighting candles and bringing it to the table. Not pre-planned with staff. They were great.

The bar area is a great space with great atmosphere.

Thank you Marriott for being so accommodating of our late meal and requests.

Been before this and will return time and time again going forward.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BBB2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek, the staff were helpful & friendly, room was spotless & had everything u would expect for a comftable stay. The hotel is about a 20 min car journey from the city centre, so getting taxis could be expensive, we made use of the excellent public transport with buses stopping just outside thehotel every 5-10 mins. £1.50 for any journey or £3.50 for an all day ticket. Would stop here again next time I visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at the Marriott Edinburgh after receiving some bad news. The staff were very accommodating. We ended up having Room service for tea and were happy with the choices available to us.
Lovely hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Check in/out can take a lot of time. Lot's of tourists travellers and hen parties.
Staff is helpfull and friendly.
BIG restaurant nice bar, average menu. Price is in the middle. My burger was asked medium to rare, it came out well done ; (
Rooms are ok bathroom, good showerjet, Big save and super internet 26 Mbps !!! top!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh_Marriott, Director of Operations at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked our bar, shower, speed of our internet service and most importantly found our Hosts to be helpful and friendly. I read your check-in and check-out experience and wanted to let you know that we have launched an excellent Mobile Check-In service where you can check-in from anywhere via your mobile prior to arriving at the hotel. Please let me know if you would like more information about signing up to this service as we’d be happy to help you. I understand that your burger was not cooked medium rare and would like to explain that our burgers are always cooked through as per the UK environmental standards however appreciate that when you requested this your server should have explained and asked our Chef to cook the burger to your preference. We all thought you took some excellent photos of the hotel and were impressed at how you managed to take a bathroom shot without getting your reflection or flash in the mirror! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Angela

Angela Humble
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent one night in Marriott, Edinburgh to visit the zoo, hotel fine, a little out of the way, really need taxi's to get about, to railway, Princess Street etc.
We had a junior suite, room was fine, quite compact bedroom & bathroom, unusual for the Marriott group but space is a premium in Edinburgh.
Hotel used by a lot business people. Bar area, litterally a BAR, not somewhere you could relax with a drink so we didn't.
Breakfast poorly serviced albeit not too many there when we ate.
On the whole, not one of the better Marriott's and wish we'd stayed in the Glasshouse now.

Room Tip: Would love to but can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388SUSH388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amhum419, Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfalls in service you received during your stay. I was disappointed to learn you felt our breakfast was poorly serviced as this is something which we normally pride ourselves on. Whilst I appreciate your bar can become busy we have recently refurbished our outside patio area with a canopy which is a nice place to relax especially in the warm weather we are currently experiencing.
Whilst many of our guests find our proximity to the Zoo as well as the city centre a plus we fully appreciate how this is not convenient for all visitors to our beautiful city. The hotel is fortunate to have the benefits of excellent local transportation for our guests with a 24 hour bus service that stops directly outside the hotel. Journeys to the city centre normally take approximately 15 minutes however at peak travel times there may be a delay and we can now recommend to our guests the newly introduced tram service with the closest stop only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
I do hope that you will provide us the opportunity to take care of you on a future occasion so we can deliver the excellent standard of service that I know we are capable of. If you would like to discuss your comments further please contact me at the hotel. Should you plan a return to visit the zoo especially if the Panda's have a cub, please do let me know as would like to have the opportunity to take great care of you.
Yours sincerely, Angela
Angela Humble Director of Operations Tel: +44 (0)131 334 9191
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I regularly travel to Edinburgh due to my organisation's headquarters located there. My only choice is Marriott Edinburgh. It's 10 minutes walk to my business school at Gogarburn. The location for me is simply convenient. One can jump into the Airport link bus & reach in 10 minutes at a cost of mere 2.5 £. No need to hire a taxi if travelling light. Edinburgh zoo is just 2 stops away. One can catch local bus just outside the hotel and reach city in 15 minutes. Hotel has a nice indoor pool, jacuzzi and a gymnasium. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If going for a day long sight seeing, the hotel staff can arrange pick up from hotel itself. Well spread breakfast menu. The only thing that puts you off is the carpet and the property, looks a bit outdated. Self being an elite member of Marriott, get an upgrade every time I stay at Marriott, hence can't complain.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank maneeshchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,190 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#81 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing