We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly building but 100% Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #86 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 16 July 2014

All you would expect from a Marriott.
Can recommend the sirloin steak in the restaurant.
The usual Marriott breakfast ( including haggis ) sets you up for the day.
A good start to our Scottish holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed several nights recently as the hotel was located close to where I needed to visit. However it is also convenient to access the airport and city via the new team service nearby. This made it good value compared to city hotels. All the usual services and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozpd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was good and met the expectations of a Marriott room. The food at the bar was average. Drinks were well priced. The location is good for the airport and there is an express bus into town. The closest restaurants are a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent overnight at Marriott , very convenient for Edinburgh airport.The hotel is comfortable and quiet and the staff very helpful.It has a very nice pool.
only problem was the restaurant , where while my husband;s dish was good, mine was uneatable. Overall definitely to be recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As many already mentioned this is a bit out-dated facility but with some pros.

Here the positives:
- Good and friendly service.
- Very good access to city and airport.
- Prices at the bar were cheap.
- Breakfast buffet was ok.
- Room size is ok.

Here the negatives:
- No 24h-room service.
- No fridge in the room.
- Thin walls, you could hear the neighbors.

As for the access to the city I suggest that you buy a daily ticket for £3.50 and take the bus 31 to the city. If you take the bus number 100 (airport express) you get also to the city but there is no daily ticket, therefore much more expensive.
The bus station is just 2 min walk from the hotel.

In general I am recommending this hotel, the positives are outcasting the negatives but to reach the usual high Marriott standard it has to do some major renovations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amhum419, Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Traveller,
I was delighted that overall you recommend our hotel. It was great to read the list of positive items and especially that you rated our good friendly service, thank you! As well as the good access to city and airport and that you were able to share logistic details. We do pride ourselves of a delicious buffet and I hope you managed to sample some of our signature dishes such as Macsween’s haggis, Stornaway black pudding and Stoats porridge.
I also wanted to let you know that we do offer a 24 hour room service menu with some hot and cold dishes that can be enjoyed throughout the night and I am sorry if you missed this. We also have portable fridges on request.
Should you plan a return to visit the hotel please do let me know as we would like to have the opportunity to take great care of you.

Yours sincerely, Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for a night away with my boyfriend, the hotel isn't too far away from much especially if you drive. the hotel itself was lovely apart from a damp smell from the room we stayed and the price n choice of food, but what do you expect from a 4 star hotel. we also took full advantage of the swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room and gym, you can pay to get spa treatments done as well which I will be doing when I go back there next time. All in all I will definitely be going back there is also an 24/7 casino right across the road. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We used the bar for food and drinks only tonight, with a late meal for a party of six after 10pm. Staff were so accommodating, so friendly, very polite, and exceptionally helpful.

The food was great, portions were huge and they even provided a doggy bag for food that couldn't be eaten - literally for the dog!!!

We took a birthday cake and the staff were so helpful by hiding it, preparing it, lighting candles and bringing it to the table. Not pre-planned with staff. They were great.

The bar area is a great space with great atmosphere.

Thank you Marriott for being so accommodating of our late meal and requests.

Been before this and will return time and time again going forward.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BBB2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,231 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing