We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveller rating
608
700
240
83
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
700
240
83
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrethe executive loungeclose to the airportleisure clubexpress busleisure facilitiestwo double bedssteam rooman early flightbuffet breakfaststayed here for one nightfamily roombus stophaggisporridgeprinces streettaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,489 - 1,494 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My wife and I were visiting Edinburgh for about a week and stayed at the Marriott Edinburgh primarily because we had to use up some Marriott reward points. It turns out that it was a fine place to stay: Our room was well equipped and very quiet and the facility as a whole is well maintained. Moreover, it was convenient to both the airport and downtown. There is a bus stop just outside the entrance at which you can catch a multitude of buses going downtown (both local and express routes) and even catch a bus to Glasgow which is less than an hour drives away. The hotel is slightly isolated in that there aren't any restaurants within a short walk; there is a large shopping center down the road which entails a fifteen minute walk or so to get to. The property appeared to have a booming meeting & conference business and we didn't seem to see any great number of tourists there.

You can get back and forth to the airport on the bus system but there wasn't so great a savings that I would haul luggage as opposed to a fairly quick cab ride.

My only real complaint is that they absolutely gouge you for internet access which is particularly irritating because their web site shows that listed as an amenity just like the pool and health club but it just isn't so.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don15215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Our stay at the Marriott Edinburgh was perfectly fine. It is probably best for:
1) Stays related to business meetings in close by office parks (RBS looks to have a pretty large campus closeby);
2) Fly away specials for early morning flights from Ediburgh airport
3) Stay with with package vacation;
4) Those willing to spend a bit of time on the convenient buses to city centre Ediburgh;

The hotel has recently undergone refurbishment and the interion fit and finish are pretty good. The exterior of the building looks a bit dated in part, but is more than functional.

The rooms are large, even by Marriott standards in Europe. They are pretty spacious compared to most other hotels you'd find in Ediburgh and elsewhere in the UK.

There are restaurants on the premises but our party only ate breakfasts and had drinks at the bar in the lobby. Both were fine and the staff was pretty friendly. Staff upon check in and check out were also efficient and friendly.

For those using mass transit, there are good bus connections to the airport and relatively frequent service to the city centre area. It is reasonable and efficient, but plan ahead if you're traveling during rush hour. Without your own transportation there aren't a lot of amenities located right next to the hotel. As long as you're using the hotel as a base with limited expectations for the surrounding area, then you won't be disppointed.

We stayed at the Marriott during fringe festival and various other festivals going on in Edinburgh. As a result, the nightly room rate felt high, even by Mariott standards. For those rates, I did expect a bit more from the Marriott.

All in all, a decent experience and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Just had a weekend at this Marriott and was not disappointed with the hotel. Staff very pleasant and the hotel is a good standard and very clean.

The bus stop is right outside with direct buses to/ from the airport (No 100. £2.50 single, every 8 mins) and into Edinburgh itself. Take advantage of the £3 day pass on the Lothian buses.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We used our Marriott Points to purchase my wif'e's flight from Atlanta to Edinburgh and have a week in he hotel with our four year old granddaughter. We had a great experience, wonderful welcome, shown to our room to see if it was OK. Breakfasts and pool great for our grand-daughter. No comlaints at all. Thanks for a great week!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotinAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I am a Marriott-phile having spent hundreds of nights in them over a couple of years with work. I've stayed in this hotel several times before, but this was the first time for pleasure. Our double exec room was elegantly dressed and a good size. The bathroom was clean and the shower good.

The hotel has a nice spa (pool, sauna, steam, hot tub, gym) and we enjoyed using it. It was clean and the staff there were helpful and friendly.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, and it was OK - not the best attempt which is unusual for a Marriott (perhaps chef was having an off day).

The staff were helpful and checked us in several hours early on our arrival. They also gave good information regarding local transport. The hotel is primarily a business hotel and therefore it is outside of the city centre. Buses run, from just outside the hotel, every few minutes to the town. The airport express buses (every 10 minutes) are cheap (GBP£1.20), quick, and clean. If you're going in and out during rush hour, bear in mind it is a city and the traffic can get bad. Out of rush hour it only takes 20mins and it's final stop is the very centre of town just off the Royal Mile (near the castle). The hotel does have free parking for guests.

Verdict: Friendly helpful staff, elegant rooms, relaxed spa. Location is acceptable for those wishing to explore the city providing you don't mind going on the bus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews