We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value- weekend rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #84 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
speyside
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good value- weekend rates”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

tHE ROOMS WERE FINE, very comfortable beds, however the fridge did not work and the bathroom was a let down. The water was never very hot during our 3 day stay..Breakfast was very good but dine elswhere in the evenings. Good Italian and chinese walking distance but weekends book! I dont think it would have been worth the week day rate though. Staff were friendly till check out and the member of staff was very abrupt verging on very rude.Great for the airport but not great for downtown Edinburgh if you are hoping for the city on your doorstep. Decided not to go back despite the comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essySpeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    631
    204
    68
    30
See reviews for
367
480
60
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north east scotland
Level Contributor
677 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I travelled to Edinburgh by train - the hotel is an £11 ride in a taxi from Haymarket railway station to the west of the city ( more from Waverley) - passing the zoo and Murrayfield - a great place to stay if you are overnighting a rugby international ( but not wanting to experience a night in Rose or George St celebrating a win).

It is a large hotel obviously set up for conferences , business events and weddings. I had booked in some weeks earlier and the team at reception were ready to process me in a quick and effective way - a couple of signatures and I was walking a long (long) corridor to a well appointed room - comfortable queen size bed - suite with leather sofa , chairs , desk and large TV - forget the views little to see. The bathroom was well kitted out deep bath and a forceful shower plus plenty of soaps , shampoos and lotions - thick towels and lots of them.

I was attending a formal dinner - possibly 120 people attending - the food and the service was very good and everyone I spoke with seemed pleased with the night. The bar as you would expect was pricey but very pleasant with plenty of quiet spots in and around it.

Breakfast is a buffet - a very large buffet with the full range - from fruit to cooked to pastry and the coffee was good. Check out was fast and the taxi I had ordered was waiting just as requested.

This is an effective and efficient hotel with well trained staff - I would certainly suggest you use it for a short stay - probably for business - if you are visiting Edinburgh for a few days and you want to see and taste the city - head for the centre - if you can I suggest the Scotsman , not much more money but a much better all round experience.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed here at the beginning of October with my husband. Fabulous hotel. A bit out of the city centre, but the bus stop is just beside the hotel and the cost is £1.20 and if you a a bus pass free. Food was excellent and the breakfast huge. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms escellent. We are goind back at the end of November

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergranAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Burgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I stayed here on the night of my wedding. The venue for my wedding didn't offer any rooms for guests and we were leaving for our Honeymoon the next day. We stayed here and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and a decent size and the bathroom was clean and also quite large. The bed was very comfy and the buffet style breakfast had a lot to offer.

The hotel is 5 minutes away from the airport hence our choice to stay here and I was happy with the choice we made.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C41rns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed for one night in September. Almost 40 minutes on the bus to get to the city center. Nothing around to keep a tourist interested. Right on a very busy road - insist on an interior/courtyard room. Rooms are very average except for the always amazing Marriott bedding. Internet at 15 pounds is pretty outrageous considering slow and spotty service. Staff was fine. There were tour buses, a wedding, and some sad business people while we were there - just a dark, sad vibe. Hate to say it as I love Marriott, but would never even consider staying here again. This is definitely a place where you want to stay in the city center even if it costs a few pounds more a night.

Enjoy Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Room was large and very clean & the windows opened for fresh air. Shopping mall, with grocery store and food court, was w/in walking distance from hotel. Not close to town, but bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Bathroom large, clean and had a deep tub. Very comfy bed and towels were good and thick. We stayed here as part of a bus tour, so cannot comment on the price of room.

Really good food at hotel restaurant, but as commented on by others, service was ridiculously slow. The restaurant was not crowded and there seemed to be plenty of staff for the ratio of diners. If you are on a time schedule, don't eat here. But I must say that the sticky toffee pudding we had there was the best we had on our entire trip. Brkfst was also very good, with a large variety.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here free (Marriott rewards points) with spouse and adult daughter and son-in law (2 rooms) for one night prior to flights back to USA the next day. The location is near the airport – 10 minute cab ride (about 9 GBP) but not very convenient to downtown Edinburgh, although a bus from the airport to downtown does stop outside the hotel. The hotel is immaculate with large rooms very nicely decorated. The beds were most comfortable and the toilet and shower room fully equipped with amenities. The front desk staff was very accommodating when daughter & son-in law asked to change their room immediately after check-in because someone had been smoking in the “no smoking” room. They were switched immediately. The staff also arranged for taxi’s to the airport the next morning (one at 3:45 am) and they were on time. We did not eat at the hotel (it was more expensive than we wanted); rather we walked 10 minutes to an excellent Italian restaurant (Fabio’s). Ask about it! So, this is a very nice, upscale Marriott – with no free internet access by the way - close to the airport. I would only stay here again if I needed to be near the airport, otherwise I would stay elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,132 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing