We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #84 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Perthshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel with wonderful staff”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Booked into the Marriot so we could spend the day in the zoo which is a 10 minute bus trip away. After checking into the hotel we spent time in the pool, which was lovely, then went into the lounge near the restaurant with the 4 young grandchildren. We have had bar suppers in quite a few Marriot hotels where the food is usually okay but the food was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Definitely the friendliest hotel staff we have encountered for years! The rooms were nice although the bathroom was a little tired but that is my only slight moan. Breakfast was great and next morning, after checking out, we drove round the corner to the Gyle for some shopping. Would recommend this hotel and would certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicperthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    632
    204
    68
    30
See reviews for
367
480
60
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District
Level Contributor
150 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

I've stayed in this hotel before and everything is looking very tired these days. Although the room is very spacious (despite the bathroom being small)....the mattress on the bed was not in good condition (it sloped into the middle), the blind on the window didn't shut properly, and the decor looked sleepy. The TV entertainment system didn't work either. Plus we had a room with inter-locking doors and you could hear every word said in the next room even though they were talking normally.

Pretty poor quality for a Marriott.....

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We had a one night stay and 10 days parking at the Marriott. We had read the mixed reviews. When we arrived at the hotel I asked reception to make reservations at the chinese restaurant located nearby, which had been recommended in some of the reviews. Went to the room which was cold, smelly and a bit tired, before going to the restuarant I asked that that be sorted by our return (restaurant was awful and over priced - food poor) Fabio's was also recommended and was across the road (may have been better - don't know) also found a Frankie and Benny's closer to the Marriott - worth noting for families. Rturn to hotel and found they had changed our room but had not turned heating on - room was freezing, had noticed a heater in the corridor and decided to take that but was spotted by a member of staff. room was taking ages to warm up so I complained, said staff member who observed me steal a heater outside another room arrived. I explained that I am not accostomed to taking property outside other rooms but that we cannot stay in a room this cold. He kindly showed us 3 other rooms, however on our return to our room the room had warmed up and we decided to stay. Breakfast fab as always. On our return to the Uk the weather conditions were such that we decided to stay a night and leave in the morning, we were given a free upgrade and executive lounge access which was really nice as it included free breakfast and canapes in the room. when I asked why we were receiving the upgrade the staff member replied that they could recall our last visit. I thought the Pay per view was reasonable £6.50 especially as the Radisson in Malta charge £16.31 for older films. Really liked the Taxi transfers which are included in the price and not having to share a small coach with shoving people as we did at our last hotel and park place - Crowne Plaza. Staff here were incredibly friendly - Childrens meals £4.50 room service very good. I would certainly stay at a Marriott again and at this particular hotel. Great that car is parked on sight. Thank you all for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

i stayed here with my boyfriend and some friends on new years eve, we got a great deal on the hotel for the night. its about 4 miles from the center and was about 20 pounds in a taxi one way (it was new years eve). the reception staff were really friendly and helpful. when we arrived we went down the service entrance instead of the main entrance so we stopped at the top of the hill, but because of the terrible snow we were stuck!! the hotel manager came out and said we could leave it at the side and said he would help us move it the next day. so the next day he and about 5 other staff members helped us push the car up the hill!! they were great, and certainly went out of their way to help us.

The rooms in the hotel were nice and the beds were really comfy! we rang reception to get some more towels, which were delivered in 5 minutes! We had breakfast in the hotel too, there were many different things available and it was lovely!

Overall a great hotel with amazing service, would definately recommend as a good base to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikifitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed 30th of December through to 2nd of January, and paid £67.50 per night B&B for 2 nights and £130 B&B for new years eve. Weirdly, only managed to get those prices by booking the £67.50 nights via Marriott directly and the New Years eve via Ebookers. Marriot wanted something ridiculous like £250 for NYE, wereas Ebookers wanted £110 per night on all three nights. Another like trick worth trying for people booking at NYE - we booked room only via Ebookers as they wanted £146 for B&B, we phoned the hotel after booking and asked them to add breakfast to our deal which they did for £10 each, instead of the usual £15 each. I have quite often seen rates higher than £20 extra (2 people sharing) for "Stay For Breakfast" rates at the Marriott, so this is one to keep in mind.

Marriott Edinburgh is the usually high standard you expect from this chain. Loads of parking, although we went after there had been a snow fall which had iced up and they had made no attempt to treat the car park. Check in wasn't very good as a coach party arrived at the same time as us and decided they had priority over me and my wife who were waiting to be checked in, I duly and politely made my objections known and to be fair was immediately seen and was given a free upgrade. Lady who checked us in was very nice.

Room was very well appointed. Beds are so comfortable in these hotels. Our room, while Glasgow Road facing did not suffer any road noise. Air con and heating in the room worked really well. Bathroom was very nice and spacious, small bath, shower pressure was ok, but not brilliant. At one point we ordered room service which was a bitter sweet experience, bitter as the food was less than inspiring even for room service and was a long time coming, which meant it was hardly piping hot, sweet as they took longer than their 45 minute guarantee and so we were not charged. Internet and movies are very expensive but its great that they have put 32" LCD TV's in all the rooms now, all 3 Sky Sports channels available for you sport lovers out there.

Leisure facilities are reasonable. Nice area to sit out in beside the pool with wooden desk chairs, papers and magazines etc. Pool was well heated, and the jacuzzi was red hot. Steam room was very good as well. Changing rooms however are a disappointment, a bit grubby and very small.

Never had a bad breakfast at Marriott to date and here was no exception. Good, fast service, piping hot breakfast, eggs cooked the way you like them and they were even happy to cook fresh kippers each morning for you (you have to order these).

Hotel location, while not near the city centre, really isn't a problem as there are buses going from right outside the hotel every few minutes all through the day and night. £1.20 each way, £3.00 for a day ticket - try and make sure you have exact change as bus drivers can be a bit "funny" about such things. Good tip if you have internet access is via the bus website you can track buses now so you know when they are going to arrive and there is an iphone app as well that does the same thing, really useful for when your actually in the city center. Also, I found that Edinburgh breaks the rules in terms of big cities and car parking, I've always managed to park for free in the city, you just need to look around a little bit.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially over the holiday period, wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, indeed we are looking to go back. Remember to shop around with Marriott for the best deals though.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balearicrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The room was good and I loved that each night coming in from the cold you were offered some warm mulled wine to warm you up. We had a problem with the heater/aircon but the staff quickly supplied us with a heater. Had fun watching the bunnies outside of our window. Would not recommend the restaurant they were very pricey and the service was very slack. This is the restaurant that you also get room service from. One of our meals was cool instead of being hot or even warm. Hubby commented to them and they said they would do something about it and that was that. You can catch a bus right into Edinburgh from the motel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Room was roomy as usual for a Marriott and everything provided was of a high quality. We found the breakfast to be excellent and even when a family arrived late they were served. For about £90 per night b&b we felt it was good value. Service in the bar was however poor as the place was seriously understaffed and even the staff on duty complained about it. This was especially strange as the hotel was not that busy. In any event bar food was good. Being about 20 minutes from the city centre is a little inconvenient but the bus service outside the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddlerstrikesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,139 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,154 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing