We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We stayed at the Marriott for a long weekend to explore Edinburgh and have a very good time.

The hotel is nice, with helpful staff on reception and in the leisure club, but there were a few areas worth pointing out for improvement:

- The hotel rooms are very hot. The air conditioning had no real effect and the window could not be opened very wide. Told reception about this, who (apparently) sent in maintenance, but this made no difference. Based on this I would NOT stay here in the summer
- If you make special requests, eg foam pillow, best to make sure you actually get these. We never did
- Whilst the food from the restaurant was very good, as was room service, when eating in we found the staff had to be continually prompted to actually serve us - our cloaks of invisibility must have been left on !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    608
    189
    63
    27
See reviews for
357
456
56
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Overall we had a pleasant easter stay.The hotel has an exemplary team who went the extra distance to make our stay a good one. Particular thanks to the young man who was extra attentive to our children at breakfast time and even made them unexpected ice cold hot chocolate. It was a great surprise and they loved it. Also thanks to the kind staff member who filled our ice bucket for us when we arrived

Having a room set aside for easter activities was a great idea and I truly wish more hotels would do this.

We enjoyed our room, it was clean and just right for us, with a 32’ Tv which was great for us to watch the new Dr Who on Saturday night!!

My compliments are mainly about the staff who put in a 4/5 star effort.

I must say though it’s a shame that some things about the hotel take the shine off what could be really special. On all three floors not one single ice machine worked- nor did they look like they had worked for a long time. In the morning there were many buckets around the floors in the corridors as the ceiling was leaking

Fiinally the kids activity room although a great idea still contained the same stale cookies and juice as the night before when we went in during the morning. Thankfully they were replenished later but first impressions count!

Overall I would say they have a 4 star team let down by a few things that are failing with the hotel itself. Fix these and it would be a winner .With a Marriott you expect the extras, the shine. That was not quite there on this occasion.

Thanks for reading

Paul Bocking

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed over the Easter weekend for 2nights. The check in was warm and friendly. We had booked two deluxe rooms which were quite large, the bathrooms are small and looked rather dated. One room had a very large water damaged mark on the ceiling which looked not very attractive - compalined but advised hotel was full not possibe to change and the apology was forced out of the Duty Manager. Breakfast was buffet style and fine, dinner in th resstaurant can be expected and the quality not that great - service was quite slow and not very friendly. it was clear to see why many people choose to eat out of the hotel.

Rather underwhelmed by this hotel - i stay in Marriott hotels regularly and this one disapointed. It is a bus ride( 20mins) from Edinburgh but that was not a problem, the staff just seem to let the hotel down and it does need some work in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

Booked into the Marriot so we could spend the day in the zoo which is a 10 minute bus trip away. After checking into the hotel we spent time in the pool, which was lovely, then went into the lounge near the restaurant with the 4 young grandchildren. We have had bar suppers in quite a few Marriot hotels where the food is usually okay but the food was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Definitely the friendliest hotel staff we have encountered for years! The rooms were nice although the bathroom was a little tired but that is my only slight moan. Breakfast was great and next morning, after checking out, we drove round the corner to the Gyle for some shopping. Would recommend this hotel and would certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicperthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level Contributor
148 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

I've stayed in this hotel before and everything is looking very tired these days. Although the room is very spacious (despite the bathroom being small)....the mattress on the bed was not in good condition (it sloped into the middle), the blind on the window didn't shut properly, and the decor looked sleepy. The TV entertainment system didn't work either. Plus we had a room with inter-locking doors and you could hear every word said in the next room even though they were talking normally.

Pretty poor quality for a Marriott.....

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

We had a one night stay and 10 days parking at the Marriott. We had read the mixed reviews. When we arrived at the hotel I asked reception to make reservations at the chinese restaurant located nearby, which had been recommended in some of the reviews. Went to the room which was cold, smelly and a bit tired, before going to the restuarant I asked that that be sorted by our return (restaurant was awful and over priced - food poor) Fabio's was also recommended and was across the road (may have been better - don't know) also found a Frankie and Benny's closer to the Marriott - worth noting for families. Rturn to hotel and found they had changed our room but had not turned heating on - room was freezing, had noticed a heater in the corridor and decided to take that but was spotted by a member of staff. room was taking ages to warm up so I complained, said staff member who observed me steal a heater outside another room arrived. I explained that I am not accostomed to taking property outside other rooms but that we cannot stay in a room this cold. He kindly showed us 3 other rooms, however on our return to our room the room had warmed up and we decided to stay. Breakfast fab as always. On our return to the Uk the weather conditions were such that we decided to stay a night and leave in the morning, we were given a free upgrade and executive lounge access which was really nice as it included free breakfast and canapes in the room. when I asked why we were receiving the upgrade the staff member replied that they could recall our last visit. I thought the Pay per view was reasonable £6.50 especially as the Radisson in Malta charge £16.31 for older films. Really liked the Taxi transfers which are included in the price and not having to share a small coach with shoving people as we did at our last hotel and park place - Crowne Plaza. Staff here were incredibly friendly - Childrens meals £4.50 room service very good. I would certainly stay at a Marriott again and at this particular hotel. Great that car is parked on sight. Thank you all for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchkinNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

i stayed here with my boyfriend and some friends on new years eve, we got a great deal on the hotel for the night. its about 4 miles from the center and was about 20 pounds in a taxi one way (it was new years eve). the reception staff were really friendly and helpful. when we arrived we went down the service entrance instead of the main entrance so we stopped at the top of the hill, but because of the terrible snow we were stuck!! the hotel manager came out and said we could leave it at the side and said he would help us move it the next day. so the next day he and about 5 other staff members helped us push the car up the hill!! they were great, and certainly went out of their way to help us.

The rooms in the hotel were nice and the beds were really comfy! we rang reception to get some more towels, which were delivered in 5 minutes! We had breakfast in the hotel too, there were many different things available and it was lovely!

Overall a great hotel with amazing service, would definately recommend as a good base to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikifitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing