We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impression - low - ending good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Ranked #85 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“first impression - low - ending good”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

1. staff never assume that you know how to spell someone's name - always ask first! And NEVER call a potential or actual guest a liar!
2. communication needs to be improved b/t the hotel and the reservations central team
3. after 1 and 2 were cleared up - the staff settled and new staff came on shift who were great!

4. room - fantastic - smelt fresh, bathroom clean, business/executive amazing and so were the night lady and breakfast lady/waitresses nothing was too much for them; they we only all too willing to offer help and make know what services or extras they could retrieve /prepare for us.

5. The fitness centre staff man was really informative and helpful - fantastic fitness centre - almost made us stay our entire 14 days in this one plac e- massive pool, spa and sauna too

:) really impressed AFTER the angryness at check was sorted out!

Rate wise mmmm - still more money than used to paying for a one night stay.

cleanliness - really good.
service - not easy to rate as above - because the service from different staff was far greater and better than from other staff.
location - fantastic - minutes from the airport and maccas
value - nmmm could be improved as it is about 30minutes to the city
rooms - nice, comfy, cosy, nice smell, aroma, non smoking -e xcellent
sleep quality - we're all very tired so slept well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieLadiesfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    624
    200
    65
    31
See reviews for
365
472
58
306
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swiss
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We spend here 4 nights. The service was awesome! Nice poolarea but didn´t use it. Bus stops very close to the hotel. Room and lounge little bit tired but didn´t bother me at all. Just a very good stay with outstanding service!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Lovely, cosy, comfortable hotel. We stayed here for one night to do some christmas shopping. It was perfect, very spacious clean rooms, complimentary mulled wine & festive nibbles. Helpful staff who gave my poorly daughter toast free of charge. Professional waiting staff & lovely breakfast. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissScotland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed at the hotel with my wife and my brother and his wife. We were having an overnighter in the city, eating out and having a few drinks.

Arrived early in the afternoon, the staff at reception were first class. They had a smile and a sense of humour - poking fun at my brother using a Hilton credit card in the Marriott.

The rooms are typical Marriott - well appointed and comfortable - flat screen TV, lounge area and kingsize bed in our room. ( I have a very comfortable sleep ).

We all used the spa - the pool, sauna and steam room were fine, the latter two being a little small but it was n't a problem for us.

Breakfast was very good with just as much choice as most similar hotels, although the bacon was a little streaky. That said, if that is all I can complain about, then it certainly has done well.

All in all we had a good stay - the hotel was value for money, comfortable and only 10 minutes from the city centre by taxi.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erskineblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, orkney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Was stranded due to snow. Luckily it was suggested I stay here. I am hoping the airline will pick up the tab if not I am well and truly skint. £125 per night including breakfast. Room was fabulous. Big bed to myself. Heat and ventilation controls to keep it warm or cool as I wanted. Staff all very helpfull when I was stuck especially concierge who kept me updatred by checkign his computer for up to date news of Edinburgh airport closure situation. I did use their computer in business centre but it was £5 for 30 minutes which I feel is very expensive. I stayed at the novotel and their internett access is free! Breakfast great although the fried eggs are done as you ask for them which is a bit of a pain as they take time and can be greasy. Very stressfull time being stranded but was made comfortable by surroundings and staff. Excellent soundproofing in rooms heard very little. Never experienced this level of soundproofing in a hotel before. Pool fab too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrkneyGal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARMEDFEE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

we stay in this hotel everytime we visit edinburgh and it is a lovely place and staff and always very polite ,we love the location of this one as we can park our car here and take buses into princes street etc a day pass is only £3.00 plus gyle centre is just a ten min walk away ,the only thing we ever find wrong here really is that the evening meals are way overpriced for what you are getting as is the bar and i think now that this chain is getting more custom from families like ourselves sometimes using tesco vouchers (minimum wage workers) that they should update their menu a bit more perhaps even offer a carvery at the weekends ,our advice is that a short bus ride away is a toby carvery where you get great value and great service like wise at gyle centre their is a frankie and bennys diner this is what we usually do when staying cant fault the marriott breakfast though its truly delicious

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARMEDFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I just returned from the Marriott after spending the weekend there when I was down for the Scotland v New Zealand rugby international.

The main reason I like this hotel is its location – it’s more on the outskirts of Edinburgh than near the city centre but it’s only a £1.20 (£3 for a day pass) bus ride away. I tend to avoid shopping in the city centre, instead preferring the various shopping parks/centres dotted around the outskirts of Edinburgh as well as the compulsory trip to Ikea! (you are about 3 minutes away from the Gyle Centre and only 15 from Ikea!) Parking is free too so if you do want to shop in the city centre, its easy to leave the car and jump on a bus heading towards the city centre. The location is great for Murrayfield too – literally a 10 minute bus ride away although it usually takes much longer getting back given the crowds!

Onto the hotel itself, the outside is nothing to look at but inside its very nice. Reception isn’t that big but you don’t normally have to wait too long before someone is available to check you in (or check you out). Those at the front desk are always very welcoming and able to sort out any problems that have arisen. There is only 3 floors in the hotel, so not a very big one although the corridors do feel very long when walking along them if your room is at the wrong end!

The bar area is very small and can at times be very busy especially if it’s a rugby weekend/a wedding is on although you do get a table eventually. I wouldn’t say the food is that cheap but their Marriott burger is very nice! We actually ate in the restaurant this time and I was actually quite surprised as to how reasonable the prices were. The drink (both soft and alcoholic) is quite expensive so not the place to drink if you want to have a session!

Breakfast is very good! It’s a buffet style with plenty of choice whether it’s the cereal, fruits, fruit juices, continental or the full traditional cooked breakfast. It was really busy on Sunday when we went down (a bit later than normal) but even then we only had to wait no more than 5 mins before we were shown to a quickly re-stocked table.

The rooms are very comfortable. I’ve been in both an executive (you get a sofa/2 seats) and non-executive (no sofa/seat) room. There is a nice big king size bed, large desk and very comfy swivel chair, an LCD TV (although no Sky Sports in the bedrooms) and the usual tea/coffee facilities as well as the wardrobe/safe. The bathroom is a fairly decent size although no separate shower from the bath. I do love the power the shower gives you, very refreshing and always plenty of hot water!

As normal the only downside is paying for the internet (up to £15/day) but rather than buying that, I use a pay as you go dongle which saves me money!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
Address: 111 Glasgow Rd, Edinburgh EH12 8NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edinburgh Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh hotels are renowned for their fine hospitality and the Edinburgh Marriott Hotel has established itself as one of the finest hotels in Edinburgh. An ideal location for weekend getaways or business trips, this stylish hotel accommodation is a five-minute drive from Edinburgh International Airport and 15 minutes from the centre of the city. Our Edinburgh hotel is ideally located for area events like the Royal Highland Show and Edinburgh Fringe Festival as well as rugby games at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium. You can enjoy Edinburgh's historic sites with a convenient local bus service to the city centre which runs regularly from the hotel. When planning an event, nothing compares to our Edinburgh hotel's service. Your event, whether big or small, will be planned with perfection. We offer 12 meeting rooms and on-site catering services for flexible space and menu options. Hosting a meeting or conference? We offer discounted rates for group accommodations at our hotel in Edinburgh, Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing