We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silent surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambridge House

Cambridge House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge House
Ranked #378 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
bodø
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Silent surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Silent,no disturbing traffic.Easy to get a cab.Hottest shower i ever had.Also superb breakfast

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank øyvin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
1
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The Cambridge guest house was excellent :) My partner and I stayed there for 7 nights. The owners were really nice people and very helpful. If we had any questions or were unsure about anything, they were more than happy to help. The room were very clean and modern. We stayed in room 3, it was a little small but very roomy. There was enough room for both our big suitcases so that was great. In the room there was a desk, arm chair, flat screen tv, comfortable bed, kettle, free tea and coffee, sightseeing guide book and a cupboard. Our bathroom was opposite our room and was very clean. It had a shower in a huge bath with a massive square shower head. The walls are slanted but if you can get over that in the bedroom and bathroom then it is a fantastic place to stay. Great location, only a short walk to the main shopping strip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahW671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed in room one, probably the pokiest room I have ever stayed in. The room is so small that the bed is situated under the steep sloping roof with no headroom to sit up in bed if you are near the wall, because of this I banged my head on two occasions and reported this to the owners. The bathroom / closet is so small that to get to the shower you have to open the door, step in to the toilet then close the door to gain access to the shower.
This said, the shower was a good hot powerful one, the bed was comfy except for the roof problem. Only a small meagre offering of continental breakfast is available and the location won't suit some

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Cambridge House is a charming little guesthouse just outside the city centre of Edinburgh, Scotland. Walking from Princes Street takes about 15 minutes, but there are many bus connections almost to the guesthouse. The owners are very friendly, our room was very tidy, well equipped (TV, posh shower, kettle) and the surroundings were pretty quiet. Our holiday was very pleasant, the Cambridge House is definitely worth being booked for your time in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubycelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

The place is nice and compact with all the necesseties ...internet..LCD TV and nice furnishings...came to know that this place is only in business for a little while and is doing very good. The owner had put tremendous effort in this palce. The staff is courteous and accomodating. The rooms are clean with cozy furnishings. The continental breakfast in included.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainwalk063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinsberg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We, my husband and me, where in Edinburgh for leasure. We are Dutch and live in Germany, so it was going to be a long way from home. We booked at this B & B because it looked nice and was not to expensive. We wanted to see the city and also go into the Highlands, so a bed en breakfast was all we needed. We wouldn't be there much. But the time that we where there and talked to the owner, we noticed that he was very friendly and helpfull. He explained that he can make pre-bookings for you if you want. Also we could have asked for anything else and he would have helped us. The rooms were big enough and nicely redecorated. The bathroom was very modern and even had a rainshower in it!! This was great. Coffee and tea was available in the room and there also was a flatscreen tv on the wall. Breakfast was served downstairs in a seperate room. It was a continental breakfast but you could take as much as you liked. You wouldn't have to leave this place hungy. Everthing was really done with love. You could see that in everything. In the way they redecoraded, in the way they talked to you, in the way they where helpfull. Like I said, in everything you could see the love.
Mr. and Mrs. van der Heijden, the Netherlands/Germany.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mestkevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith House
#351 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Ardmillan Hotel
#168 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
St Bernards House
St Bernards House
#380 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#205 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#154 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Antler Guest House
#56 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Property: Cambridge House
Address: 8 Cambridge Avenue, Edinburgh EH6 5AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO CAMBRIDGE HOUSEYour Home away from home located in the heart of Edinburgh. Cambridge House Central Edinburgh was built in 1880. Located conveniently close to the main shopping area (Princes Street) and the (Royal Mile) it offers quality accommodation. Cambridge House is the ideal base whether you are travelling for leisure or on business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Hotel Edinburgh
Cambridge House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing