We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hay Sushi

Hay Sushi
Ranked #1,288 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good food the soup was not too great but the rest was yum! like a lot of other reviews i read delivery time was a bit long but worth the wait! :-)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    20
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Food but order 2 hours before you actually want to eat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have ordered from Hay Sushi several times as the food is really good, however, recently the delivery time has taken longer and longer. On Saturday 15th February, I ordered some food at 5.40pm. As they had only been open for 40 minutes, you would not expect the delivery time to take 2 HOURS, especially when I live 10 minutes walk up the road! Unless everyone orders their take-aways at 5.30pm on a Saturday? I don't think so! Had it been 7pm or something I would expect to wait that long! The hot food that I had ordered was subsequently absolutely freezing but also moist with the condensation from in the containers, proving it had been warm once! No apology, and they charged me £2 for delivery! The hot food was disgusting due to the cold / moist issue but the sushi and sashimi was still nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Visited on way back from 6 six nations match. Was very busy and very slow service, but dealt with very well by staff. Some may rate lower because of this but I feel the food served was to high standard and my wife and I both enjoyed. Wouldn't have any hesitation in going back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally awesome food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The food was amazing, such good quality but amazing value- so much sushi!
The service was a little slow when we arrived and the atmosphere was a bit low but that could be because it was a Sunday
However, the waiter was really nice and gave us a card at the end to let us know about take away service should we ever have a random sushi craving!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadege S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing delivery service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Got a delivery last night with mixed assortment of sushi. Was very poor quality both the sashimi and maki sets. Although ordered at 9.30pm and was supposed to arrive at 22.45, the food did not actually arrive till nearly half past 11. The fish was lukewarm and smelt quite off. Wouldn't order from here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohinistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hay Sushi also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hay Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing