We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and authentic Spanish cooking”
Review of Malvarosa

Malvarosa
Ranked #633 of 2,554 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Friendly neighbourhood restaurant, serving delicious authentic tapas, paellas, sharing-boards,traditional homemade cakes and regional wines. Our selection of homemade breads are baked here every morning in the premises - you can even order them to enjoy at home, as with all our dishes. We are happy to organise group bookings, at-home 'tapas parties' and open-air paellas!
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Would recommend most highly.
Been a few times now over the last year and have
Never been disappointed with the welcome received
Food excellent and house wine good.
Reasonably priced and cheerful staff.
Tapas are really tasty
Waiting staff need some training but you need to start somewhere.
They also have the most wonderful homemade breads which are also for sale.

Will be returning regularly I am sure

Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Malvarosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have been to Malvarosa a few times over the years but less so lately due to babies- we had a great meal there on a busy Sunday night ( arrived at 8pm and all tables taken- make sure you book on the weekend). Staff are always attentive and courteous without being in your face which I think is important in such a small restaurant, particularly the woman serving ( sorry I am rubbish getting names) We had 6 tapas between two, love love the croquetas de pollo- a special that night. Crispy haddock with a sort of sherry marinade is excellent as is their home made bread. I had a great white wine - can't recall but it was the first one of the three on the list and other half loved his red. Best part of the meal for me was their chocolate con churros- actually better than I had in the famous place in Madrid years ago. Definitely recommend. Not a big bank breaker at about £40 for 6 tapas, 2 wines, choc and churros for two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elkey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We came on sunday evening for a few tapas and for firts time in long time a have a really nice relaxing and enjoyable time in a restaurant. The waiters was super. The spanish man did the right choice of drinks for the meal, the atmosphere was like a concert of very good music for me and my wife.
thanks to make my day

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Checked website first (open 1200---2200hrs) We made the effort to drive all the way through from Glasgow for a good paella.....only to find on arrival at 1420hrs that it was closed even though the sign in the window says open from 1200.....very disappointing. This was a Monday NOT Tuesday.

2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tapamalvarosa, Owner at Malvarosa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear customer,
We are very honoured that you took the trouble to make a long journey to enjoy our Paellas, but deeply sorry we have disappointed you.
As you were explained on the day, due to unforeseen circumstances we had to close for some essential maintenance work.
As this is a very small, family run restaurant, from time to time we may be unable to be open late afternoon. Therefore we would like to encourage costumers that if you know you are coming, please, give us a call.
Please, accept our apologies, and contact us to be able to make it up.
Regards,
Alvaro.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here several times in the restaurant and as take away, it has never failed to impress...service is excellent, food excellent and house wine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kefd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malvarosa also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Malvarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing