We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #68 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just returned from my vacation and the best part of my trip was visiting Edinburgh and staying at Bell's Brae House. Ideally situated - just a 15 minute walk to the Castle. Stewart and Steph are the most gracious hosts. After spending a few minutes with them upon my arrival I felt like I had known them for years. The room was quite comfy and extremely clean. The bathroom is just across the hall from your room and was spotless. Stewart will cook you a massive breakfast in the morning which will keep you going all day long. I highly recommend Bell's Brae House.
Stuart Epstein
Woodside, CA
USA

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Everything about Bells Brae B&B in Edinburgh was perfect. The room could not have been more comfortable, with fluffy bedding, delicious biscuits and the most astonishingly beautiful view of the stone terrace full of flowers and the river below. Our hosts, Stephanie and Stewart, were delightful, both welcoming and helpful (great restaurant recommendations) with an ease that made you feel completely at home. The breakfasts were delicious, accompanied, most thoughtfully, by a print-out of the hourly weather report for the day. Their old stone house is beautiful, in a peaceful location that is a five minute walk to the center of Edinburgh. Amazing. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

It was an absolute treat to stay at this amazing historical property. Stewart and Stephanie were born to be B&B hosts - interested in you but not intrusive, genuinely pleased to welcome guests. The location is fabulous, with a real village feel along the river, but a short walk to the centre. The building is incredible - tiny staircase worn by centuries of feel, amazing view over the river, fabulous conversion from a Victorian schoolhouse for part of the building. The wate rrushing through the river lulled us to sleep. Great bathtub. Fabulous breakfast. You can meander along the river for miles, or stroll to the Art Museum, entering from the river.

There is only one guestroom in this unique property, so definitely book ahead. We'll definitely be back.

P.S Resist the tempting eyes of Pebbles, the spaniel - no food at the table!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just the type of B&B we love... very comfortable, quiet, friendly owners, great food, and a reasonable price. We took a taxi to the B&B and unless you have your own car this is highly recommended as the B&B is at the bottom of the hill right next to the river. On arrival we were offered a large pot of tea and biscuits. Steph was so helpful and chatty I had to remind myself we guests not friends, and we left her so we could get on with settling in. The room was gorgeous looking out onto the river with a very comfortable bed and tea/shortbread biscuits which were refilled every day. We agreed breakfast time for the morning and it was enormous - anything and everything you could possible expect from a Scottish breakfast and then some! We were in Edinburgh for the tattoo and it rained, rained, rained - Stewart and Steph offered us waterproofs for the evening, and we were so thankful.

In summary... absolutely wonderful hosts who went out of their way to help us and make our whole stay there so wonderful in so many ways, including ordering a taxi for us when we left. Loads of yummy breakfast food to set us up for the whole day, more than we could possibly eat. A very quiet and restful location

Be aware the staircase to the bedroom is an old castle like narrow stone spiral stair case (don't take large cases) . The bathroom is all yours but it is separate from the bedroom and there is only a hand-held shower in the enormous claw foot bathtub. Would I go back again - absolutely yes!

Room Tip: Book early - there's only the one room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailmantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great location, great house, great room, and specially great hosts!
We spent a night with our little daughter in Bells Brae House and we had a fantastic time.
Every detail was perfect, from the bath robes to the linen, the home made cookies, the luxury bed, the yummy breakfast, magazines, the views to the river... Anything you might want or need was there.
Stephanie and Stewart love being hosts, and it shows in the helpful, friendly, attentive and royal way they treat their guests!.
Gonzalo & Kate

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonthalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A picturesque yet convenient location with one immaculate comfortable well appointed and quiet bedroom overlooking the river. The friendly hosts cook a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#42 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,321 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#113 of 393 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
McCraes B&B
#41 of 393 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
10 Clarendon Crescent
10 Clarendon Crescent
#57 of 217 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dean Village 17 Bells Brae | Scotland, Edinburgh EH4 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Bell's Brae House Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing