We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #58 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at Bells Brae House recently and were blown away by the beauty of the room and service that we received. The attention to detail is second to none and we were sad to leave the bed behind - it was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in!! The B&B owners are so friendly without being intrusive and the roll top bath is an added luxury. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Bells Brae House to anybody looking for a peaceful stay in a beautiful city. Thank you Stephanie and Stewart :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowenasmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
111
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I didn't believe it was possible for any B&B to have 45 five-star reviews on Trip Advisor. But now I know why. The owners are lovely folks - warm and personable. They cooked us a hot breakfast every morning and had wonderful recommendations for touring the city. I really can't say enough about how much I'd recommend this place to folks.

You go up a winding medieval stair to your room overlooking the river. The large room and king sized bed were also a welcome change from the cramped, crowded hustle of London. After two weeks abroad, my time here in Edinburgh was the first time the whole trip where I actually felt like I was on vacation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KMHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at Bells Brae while on a theatre break. This B&B is something very different from the norm. It is in an exceptionally lovely setting considering it is in the heart of a city. The room and the interior of the building are tastefully furnished in character with the history of the building. Stewart and Stephanie are impeccable hosts who produce a lovely breakfast in the morning, the candelabra on the table just goes to show that they really care about there guests. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennedyjames01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Bell’s Brae is located in a charming and historic property, beautifully restored and very comfortable. Our room looked out onto the Water of Leith, providing the feeling that you are miles away from the bustle of Edinburgh, even though Princes Street is only a ten minute walk away. Hosts Stewart and Stephanie made us feel very welcome right from the start, giving us an orientation to the surrounding Dean Village and attractive Leith Walk along the river. Breakfast was a delicious and sumptuous affair, with a wide choice to satisfy all tastes. We felt very fortunate to have made the decision to stay at Bell’s Brae and wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else if we are in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The room was just lovely. The bed was super comfortable - the best we've ever slept in!
Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of dishes. The hosts are quite superb- they went out of their way to be helpful and helped us pick up our rental car and did our laundry.
The B&B is located in a peaceful and pretty location but so convenient to the main streets and shops in Edinburgh.
The herbal teas and homemade shortbread were a special treat.

You can't beat Scottish hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynjc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Superbely decorated historic building, great room with view over the river, very friendly service and good cooking with innovative recipes. Lovely bathtub in private bathro. The best B&B we have had in our Scotland holiday. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in in July and had a brilliant stay. The room is so pretty and the whole house is really beautiful and unique. We were made to feel very welcome and the room had everything we needed, the herbal teas and shortbread were lovely too. The bed was so big and comfy also.
It was really close to the city centre but was so quiet at night.
The breakfast was gorgeous too, everything appeared to be homemade.
Have already recommended this B&B to friends and family and would definitely stay again, it really is a unique gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty7617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,063 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#17 of 392 in Edinburgh
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 392 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#25 of 392 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
The Edinburgh Lodge
#106 of 392 in Edinburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bell's Brae House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Dean Village 17 Bells Brae | Scotland, Edinburgh EH4 3BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Bell's Brae House Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing