We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment only 15 minute walk to the city...”
other travellers have booked this property
Large bright living room with seating area, large screen tv, Internet computer & Free WIFI, and dini
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large bright living room with seating area, large screen tv, Internet computer & Free WIFI, and dini
The twin bedroom with extra thick comfortable matresses. All bedooms located at the back of the apar The sunny living room has a large dining table with seating for everyone.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
65 reviews
Large bright living room with seating area, large screen tv, Internet computer & Free WIFI, and dini
The twin bedroom with extra thick comfortable matresses. All bedooms located at the back of the apar
The sunny living room has a large dining table with seating for everyone.
And the kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal or heat up your take-away.
Your pets are more than welcome to stay with you at the apartment at no extra costs!
We love the view from the bedroom windows, looking out in the back yard with its large green trees!
The outside of our building, which is a traditional Edinburgh tenement.
The Edinburgh farmers market, every Saturday 9-2
Princes Street Gardens with the Scott Monument. Between the arches you can just see the Balmoral Hot
Our favourite place in Edinburgh is Calton Hill, only a 10 to 15 minute walk up from the apartment.
Every year during August Edinburgh is host to the biggest arts festival in the world.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julieanne...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was very excited about my stay in Edinburgh until I stayed at this apartment! Dirty and broken furniture. Neighbours were aggressive coming to the door saying we were too loud and having a party when clearly we are adults not teenagers! Mould around bath, dirty sofas, dirty units and mould and dirt in fridge freezer looked like it had been there a very long time!
Will definetly not be coming back to this property in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thanks for providing your feedback.

Obviously you will know that we have three house-rules: "1. No Smoking", "2. No parties, of any kind" and "3. As the apartment is in a residential building, we expect guests to be quiet and respectful to our neighbours at all times."

We make this clear on all the sites we advertise this property including Reserve Apartments, which you booked through. We also told you on arrival that we live in the building next door and can pop over in minutes to help solve any problems, which is why we're confused that none of your concerns were raised with us at the time.

We encourage all our neighbours to contact us directly if there are any problems with the flat and/or guests and were surprised and upset to receive a complaint about your noise levels at 22:30, as you all seemed so nice on arrival.

We were already in bed but at 22:34 we texted the main contact number we had for your group with the following message:
"Dear guests. As it is now after 22.30 the neighbours would appreciate if you could keep the noise down. There are small children in the building who are trying to sleep. We would like to remind you that we have a strict no parties policy and ask all our guests to respect our neighbours as they are not on holiday. Annette, AJEM"

At 22:45, as the noise levels seemed louder, we managed to locate an alternative mobile number and re-texted the same message.

From 23:04 we phoned three times, but our calls were not answered.

We then started to get dressed to pop round and see you, as we could only conclude your mobiles were switched off. Or maybe too quiet to be heard.

Just after this time your door was knocked on and you state you were verbally abused by a neighbour. Obviously we can't really comment on this, perhaps someone was frustrated by your blatant disregard for the warnings we had sent, but it does seem out of character as all our neighbours are very nice.

However we understand an audio recording was made of the entire encounter. Whilst we're not sure if such a recording would stand up in court we imagine the neighbour would be happy to play it to police officers if further allegations are made as to their conduct.

Shortly thereafter, at 23:30 we received your text message apologising and we are happy to state that everything was quiet from that point on.

With regard to cleanliness, this property is the oldest in our portfolio and we do acknowledge that it's decor is getting a little tired.

To be frank, that's exactly why it is so cheap, less than £15 per person per night including booking agency fees, as we don't feel we can justify charging the rates we normally would for a spacious six-sleeper just 1.0 miles from the city centre.

For this reason we have already arranged for the property to be closed in January and refurbished. We can confirm that all of the items you provided photographs of, and more, are on the renovation list.

We're really sorry to hear you didn't have a great time with us and won't be returning, but sometimes customers and service providers just have to acknowledge that they're just not a good match for each other.

Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy D
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment only 15 minute walk to the city centre”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

When we arrived we had a really friendly greeting from the owner who was more than happy to answer any questions that we had. She also was easily contactable before arrival. Everything we needed was already there which made a relaxed experience. The apartment was only a 15 minute walk to the city centre, on a bus route and taxis were cheap as well. We all had a great weekend and all agreed we would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Dear Amy

Thanks so much for staying with us! We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This flat was very poor value for the rental we paid and does Edinburgh no favours.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

142 Easter Road is not suitable for rental at any price and definitely not at £700 pw. It might be usable as a student squat, which would seem quite appropriate for the generally malodourous area. The faults are numerous, including:
- Unsafe light switches (kitchen and bathroom)
- Defective furniture (living room bench and kitchen drawer falling apart)
- Unusable bath (no cold tap and no plug)
- Rough plank flooring that made walking without shoes hazardous
- Inadequate equipment: there were no kitchen knives
- Inadequate WiFi: the provision of a £20 repeater would have solved the problem
- Ridiculous (badly placed and remote only for cable) television
- Inaccessible, and consequently unopenable, windows and so inadequately ventilated
- Inadequate parking, often only available at considerable distances
- Stairs suitable only for athletes (and they used them at 3am, often arguing with each other)
On the other hand, the uncarpeted floors and furniture were of such condition that, had our dog been dirty, it would not have been noticed. The provision of supplies (which we did not need since the flat was advertised as self catering) did not compensate for an otherwise gruesome experience. It is very unlikely we will attempt to rent in Edinburgh again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 minutes to London Road Gardens
Liked least: Easter Road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you for your interesting review.

Andrew & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNIETA12...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWFULL...”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Bad street…opposite smelly pub….....up 2 dingy flights of stairs…roll top bath seen better day's,,,,it was ajoined to the wall ..by a piece of ugly looking wood….(used as a water stopper stuck to bath and wall)…filthy old shower curtain….dirty couches….tv up…way too high!!!! and not near seating area….bizzare set up…dirty floor boards….the worst thing was that ''big bed''….it was impossible to sleep in…as it squeaked any way you moved…i had to lay still….and the gas boiler was beside my head…,in the wardrobe!!!! it shrieked all night….i could not sleep….A polish man banged on the door dead on 10 am last morning…and started to open the door!!!! saying he needed to clean……get a skip…first….uccckkkk
annieta……..Dublin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Dear Tania

Thanks so much for your praise!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
France
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Dear Sally

Thanks for your feedback. I m glad to hear you liked our apartment. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing