We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit just as good”
Review of I.S. Edinburgh - CLOSED

I.S. Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Second visit just as good”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

International Starters has quickly become one of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh with a combination of excellent food, service and stylish decor.

We tactically picked 2/3 items each off the menu and a couple sides making sure we didn't double order as we thought this would be the best way to try as many things as possible and we were not disappointed!

One tip I would recommend is to starve yourself before visiting as there is so much food!

10/10

Helpful?
Thank danielallan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Right from the beginning this was easily the best experience of a restaurant i had ever had, we were greeted promptly and seated within minutes our server Annie, was brilliant with us all night and was well deserving of her tip, the food was excellent and one of the best crispy duck and pancakes i had ever eaten.

Would 100% recommend this place and will definately be back

5/5

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deangibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Portions and Pricey”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to IS on Saturday 8th Feb. Very pricey with two bottles of wine for 4 of us. £110.00
Food good but portions small. Prawns 4 small prawns nearly £6.00
Menu also very limited as well....
Service excellent though our waitress was a little star.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 989Heather000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good food and wel looked after in the restaurant”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

A variety of starters from around the world was what we ate. The food and service was good but the fare was a bit pricey for what we got. The portions were fairly small and pretty costly. However we did enjoy it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

i had never been to international starters before but me and my sister thought we would give it a try. i never really like trying new things because i am SUCH a fussy eater but i loved everything i was served. The waitress i have looked lovely and i had brilliant service-i would 100% go back just for that. The interior is just right for the type of restaurant as you cant really go with a theme as there is so main foods from all over the world served so i feel the interior is grand and wouldn't change a thing.
What i would also like to point out is that the manager turned people away at the door as they were to busy and didn't want to give the customers they already had a substandard service which i feel is BRILLIANT management and wish other restaurants would do the same.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I.S. Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing