We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement cake ”
Review of Cuckoo's Bakery

Cuckoo's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 56 Bakeries in Edinburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Welcome to Cuckoo's Bakery - the home of Edinburgh's quirkiest cakes! Whether you're looking to indulge an appetite for the finest handmade cupcakes, hungry for a delicious light lunch or simply hoping to pick up a tasty treat for a friend or loved one, now's the time to set your compass for Cuckoo's. Our Dundas Street Tearoom is in the heart of the New Town.
Reviewed 14 July 2023

We ordered a huge cake for a retirement party . It was fabulous- moist and delicious and it looked great . Many thanks to the bakers and the team for great service .

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2023

Excellent focaccia with very tasty filling. Coffee and cake also first class. Charming and helpful staff.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnmS270BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2023

The menu that is in the link doesn’t not match what the menu at the cafe says.
We went for French toast,eggs etc but they was only two toasties on the menu.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank Shaun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cuckoo's B, Owner at Cuckoo's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2023

Hi Shauno,

Thanks for the review, we've never updated our menu on Tripadvisor but will do so now. I'm sorry that this has left you disappointed.

However, whilst our menu is more limited, it's more than just a couple of toasties. We do a selection of Sourdough toasties, Warm Focaccias, Filled Croissants and Brioche. Soup with a warm Cuckoos cheese scone/warm sourdough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2023

I actually have not come in person but I used their services to get a cake delivered for a friend. I spoke to this fantastic and sharp woman called Fiona who was warm, funny, superbly helpful and made my experience on the phone such a seamless and pleasant one. Fantastic customer service. I would order all my cakes here just to interact with Fiona!

Thanks a lot Fiona 💕😊

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank djjbredg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023

Cuckoo’s is my absolute favourite cafe in the area. The team are brilliant and happy, the coffee is delicious and the red velvet cupcakes are incredible! Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cuckoo's Bakery also viewed

 
Whitburn, West Lothian
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cuckoo's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.