We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it so much we came back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mile Mansions
Ranked #122 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we came back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was our second trip to Edinburgh and we stayed at the Royal Mile Mansion again, only for 10 days instead of 3. As before, it is the perfect location for seeing Scotland. We hopped trains and buses, located a block or so from the apartment and traveled on day trips, keeping Edinburgh as our home base. This apartment is perfect for a long holiday. Some evenings we cooked in (Mark and Spencer's is just a couple blocks away) and sometimes we walked to one of many restaurants in the area. Again, perfect perfect perfect. We have found our home away from home in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: This is self catered so if you want maid service or a pool, this is not for you. If you want all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is surely the best accommodation you can choose in Edinburgh. Graeme was on time and showed us the beautiful apartment. It's central but so calm. You will sleep like a baby. We had 3 great days and can highly recommend it!!! Thank you Graeme!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sera15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

What a lovely pad. Stayed here with my hubbie for a couple of nights for a special birthday and concert trip. Were met by Graeme who had brought us some breakfast things and explained how everything worked etc. and then left us to it. Great location in the thick of it all, but very quiet in the apartment. No street noise, and such a comfy bed! Wel equipped, with lots of nice little touches like providing basic cooking supplies, shampoo/conditioner/ shower gel, a good hair dryer and GHDs! Nice little extras when you're self catering. Oh and there is a TV, which you can't see on the pics, but such a lot to do in Edinburgh so we only had it on for the news at breakfast anyway. Could easily have stayed for a week with so much to see and do and such a great base. Next time perhaps...! Thanks Graeme. Becky and Paul

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becksterooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This apartment is perfect. Graeme actually found us pulling our luggage up The hill from the bus stop. The location is perfect for walking to the Castle or to the Palace. Everything worked great. There were even umbrellas for the day it rained.
One hint, bring a wash puff and bath soap. Shampoo is there, detergent and dishwasher liquid is there, but no bath soap. Minor compared to everything else.
My only regret is we could not have stayed longer.
Eat at the little Italian restaurant on the corner. They actually made me Rosetta with salmon which was NOT on the menu and they have a great lemon sorbet.

Room Tip: We combined a business trip with several days holiday. Three days on Edinburgh is NOT enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The apt is large and in a great location. If you prefer having a place to yourself and being able to cook, etc, it's very well equipped. It was quiet and comfortable. We bought groceries and cooked two dinners there (also made breakfast each morning). I did have some trouble figuring out the stove (never could figure out the oven) and the washer/dryer is super slow, as others have mentioned. There were a few minor flaws: apt was alittle chilly-there's no coverings over the windows in the main room, (the space heater helped), the toilet seat was loose and the shower leaked (had to put a towel on the floor), but overall the place was relaxing. We didn't have a car, so had to hike uphill in the pouring rain with our luggage (don't go up the stairs)! We had alittle trouble finding it. Endinburgh is a beautiful city with lots to see and do and the Royal Mile Mansion Apt is in a super location to see it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMileMansions, Owner at Royal Mile Mansions, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank-you for taking the time to review the apartment. I just wanted to come back to you on some of the points that you have raised. Firstly, the toilet seat has been replaced and is 100% secure again. I also note your comments about the shower – this has now been completely re-sealed which prevents any leaking from taking place. I’m sorry to learn that you found the appliances difficult to operate, as I was under the impression that you were happy with the instructions and demonstration I provided when you arrived (and also during your stay) – however, I do take your feedback on board and will look at ways to try and simplify things further for future guests. Again, thank-you for your comments – it is important to us that we are continuing to provide an excellent service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a lovely 4 night stay at the apartment, I would highly recommend this apartment to anybody travelling to Edinburgh. Perfectly located and luxurious too. Graeme was helpful from the minute we booked right until the end of our stay.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMileMansions, Owner at Royal Mile Mansions, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank-you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and it was a pleasure to have you stay.

Kindest Regards,

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at the Royal Mile Mansions for 2 nights, our apartment was lovely and the location excellent. I was a little bit worried as it is so central maybe there would be a lot of noise but I never heard a thing. Graeme is a pleasure to deal with and even let us keep the apartment until we were due to leave for the airport. My only regret is that our stay wasn't for longer. Thank goodness for trip advisor otherwise we may have missed this little gem

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMileMansions, Owner at Royal Mile Mansions, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thanks very much for reviewing us - it is much appreciated. I hope you are still enjoying your travels. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are returning to Edinburgh in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apartments Royal
Apartments Royal
#85 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Old Town
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
#151 of 215 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Residence
Royal Mile Residence
#90 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mile Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Mansions

Property: Royal Mile Mansions
Address: Royal Mile Mansions 50/34 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mile Mansions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How would you like to spend the night? A stylish boutique apartment in the heart of Edinburgh city centre, Royal Mile Mansions offers the perfect antidote to unwelcoming corporate hotel chains.From the elegant four poster bed to the inviting contemporary dining area, we've done our utmost to make you feel at home. All our furniture has been placed with comfort in mind, ensuring that the rooms are as calming as they are luxurious. In fact, it would be all too easy to forget that you are in the very heart of Edinburgh city centre.Wireless internet access is also available for those who'd like to browse at their leisure.Whether it be for a shopping weekend in Edinburgh, business travel or simply a change of living space, one thing is for certain: your stay at Royal Mile Mansions will be a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mile Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Mansions Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing