We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The B Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #133 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be so good”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a night in the city suites to celebrate our engagement. We booked here because we wanted a balcony to enjoy some drinks before and after we went to the theatre and the website states every apartment has a balcony. So we had booked the one bed apartment as we didn't need anything bigger. When we arrived the apartment was on the ground floor and it had a terrace which we couldn't use as there was building work going on the street outside. We had a small digger outside the window instead. We went back to reception to see if we could move or even pay for an upgrade but were told they were sold out and they had already upgraded us to a 2 bed apartment. True but not any benefit to us as there was just 2 of us. So unless we had an argument the 2nd room was pointless. To be fair the apartment was nice with an excellent living area and it had the equipment we needed. Champagne glasses and a kettle. I think they could possibly do with a bit more cooking equipment, etc but that didn't really affect our stay. The bedroom was nice but the bedding felt cheap. The tone of the place wasn't very customer facing with a 3 hour reception and threats to fine you if you check out late and other such things. All just a bit unnecessary.

Such a shame because a few nice touches and some decent bedding and these apartments could be really excellent. Felt a little bit like they want to do it on the cheap but a tiny bit more spent would get more return custom. If these things changed i would go back but I must say I left underwhelmed this weekend.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony book the penthouse apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    17
    6
    51
See reviews for
45
31
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Arrived at designated check -in time of 3pm and was forced to wait with 3 kids in torrential rain for over an hour. Several phone calls to several numbers with no satisfactory response. Eventually reception staff arrived and blamed lateness on their having difficulties cleaning flats because of the rain?! Several other guests had arrived and it quickly became apparent that our penthouse 2 bed flat had been double booked. The reception staff phoned the manager who informed us that the other family would get the penthouse as they had paid more than us! Luckily this family were so angry they decided to cancel the whole booking and stay elsewhere. Flat was in a fantastic location with good views but very poorly appointed with dirty bed linen, carpets and surfaces. This property was advertised as sleeping 6 but only had 5 beds - one of which was a fold down.No toiletries were provided and barely enough plates & cutlery. Certainly not 4 star accommodation. Would NOT recommend this company at all. They are obviously trying to make a huge profit from running a very low cost operation. Book at your peril!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramblejellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived at this place which appears to be in the middle of no where, jet lagged with 2 children and 4 suitcases and had to wait 3 hours in the cold for someone to open their office at 3 pm!!! and that person who claimed to be the manager was very unhelpful and his English hard to understand....NO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL
The apartment did not have views of anything worth looking at, The beds had one thin sheet (no Matteress protectors ) and you could see how old and dirty the matteress was(in both rooms) and you could feel every spring. The Bathroom had Broken shower roes and tiles , Mould and uncleaned dried Faeces on the toilet base. We had one towel each no face cloths or handtowels and no soap.
The washing machine was broken and in the kitchen only 3 forks (4 of us)
The Management or so called coud not care less!!!!
This Place Is Filthy .......disgusting and in the middle of a new housing estate......DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY STAYING HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris19692009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

long day checked in open front door - divider between lounge and hall missing old tape on floor , edges of kitchen units missing and was sharp , sink in guest bathroom did not stay closed , dirty carpet in bedroom , poor lighting in bathrooms , kitchen units been botched up , doors in kitchen unit loose , patio door did not close on last night crashed open at 4 in the morning , window handle in lounge almost falling off , hob extractor very greasy , mould in shower , sent a complaint in have waited a week no reply - the following week stayed at opposite block Ocean apartments ( different company ) chalk and cheese - Think they had embraced customer service , hygiene and maintenance .

Room Tip: rooms with view of sea will take your mind off the poor maintenance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Didn't know it went under the name of the b suites so I left the same review on the Glasgow city suites link. Anyway seeing as I found the correct page may as well leave the review again in its proper place.

We booked one apartment to sleep 4 for the amazing value of £88 for a nights stay.
When we arrived the apartments were on the harbour/dock front. The area surrounding the apartment blocks is picturesque and has a foreign feel to it.
Once inside we were greeted by a spacious living room/kitchen area. And two double, ensuite rooms.
There was also numerous cupboards with washing machines and hoovers in Ect.
Each bedroom had window doors leading to a massive terrace and there is a little cafe situated in the middle of the apartments near the entrance.
Over all apartment was really clean only complaint was the overily squeaky beds.

Apartments are 2 minutes away from a 24h asda and 10/15m driver from the city centre and edinburgh castle. And 20m drive from the zoo.

Would highly recommend this place and would stay here again if we ever visited this city again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nm-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had it not been for the fact that we had no other option regarding accommodation we would have checked out immediately.

The wardrobe door in the master bedroom is cracked and there is broken glass sticking out. Not ideal for adults and extremely dangerous for my 14 month old son.

The sink in the ensuite leaks. We were unable to use it. at least half the ensuite floor was soaked and very slippy when we arrived.

The hair of previous guests was still on the bottom of the shower and hadn't been cleaned properly.

The mattress covers on the bed in the master bedroom had red/orange stains which are so bad they were visible through the top sheet. Completely unhygienic.

The furniture is worn and needs replacing, in particular the dining chairs.

There was cutlery in the drawer that hadn't even been washed. The dishwasher had not been emptied and the dishes that were in the cupboard were filled with water. I lifted bowls and plates out to use and was soaked.

The overall cleanliness of the property was most unsatisfactory. It was certainly not cleaned to a minimum level of sanitation. the carpets were filthy and stained badly and there was a musty smell throughout. There was also a lack of hand soap for guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As soon as we arrived we were disappointed. The reception was manned by a shabbily dressed employee who spoke broken English - Not something you expect from an accommodation that claims to be "four star". We were given only one key for four of us which meant that my brother and I could not leave and enter as we pleased. When we reached the apartment, we realized that the common bathroom, that my brother and I were sharing, had no lock. We had an apartment with a double, en-suite room and a twin room with a bathroom outside. The double room was not bad, but the bathroom was small. The twin room on the other hand had ridiculously small beds. My brother and I could barely turn over without falling off the bed! Moreover, both the bathrooms had no toilet roll holders!
We decided to spend the evening on our balcony, but could not seem to figure out how to open it since it wasn't just a regular slide open kind of door. When we called the reception to ask him to come up and show us how to open the door, he refused for the first five minutes and finally, grudgingly agreed. Besides this, the oven didn't work properly and it took our pizza double the usual time to cook and it was still not cooked perfectly. One of the drawers was broken and we weren't told about it. The second day of our stay. the hot water stopped and the elevator was out of order. All in all, the accommodation was very disappointing.
The apartment is definitely not cheap and very far from the city but on the plus side the bus accessibility is quite good. The location is great if you just want to relax and are looking for a weekend getaway but not great for a first time visitor to Edinburgh who want to see all the sights. Another good thing is that there is a 24 hour ASDA within walking distance.
I would definitely not stay here again because of the poor service and badly managed apartment.

Room Tip: Be aware of the rooms you are getting, if you must stay here and make sure the attendant comes and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amishi2490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ocean Apartments
#28 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canon Court Apartments
#32 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
West End
Palmerston Suites
Palmerston Suites
#33 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B Suites Edinburgh

Property: The B Suites Edinburgh
Address: 1 Western Harbour Midway, Edinburgh EH6 6LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The B Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The B Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
The B Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing