We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what it is ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Place Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Place Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

These apartments are clean and well maintained. They were a little hard to find as we had a long walk from the castle in the pouring rain.
I would have got a taxi if I has known how long the walk was. The literature suggested it was nearer than it was. The apartment we stayed in was compact and probably not made the best use of space. I thought it too expensive for what it offered.
Was also subject to "students?" running screaming and laughing through the corridors all through the night. Not sure if this is normal or just an isolated incident.
I personally wouldn't choose to stay here again for the price I paid.

The free Wifi was very useful.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    97
    37
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
90
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

basically university dorms.

stayed in loads of places in Edinburgh (some of the nicest places) and this is very very basic and unless you're getting it for £50 or less per night or less don't bother.

very, very small rooms. not big enough to stay with 2

Room Tip: avoid unless its less than £50 per night as it very very basic and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I upgraded from the Mackenzie suit also run by Edinburgh University but now showing its age although still brilliantly placed for the Fringe Festival.
The room I had was perfect for one with a lovely shower & kitchen but a few things badly designed and with minimal hooks for wet towels.
The very comfortable double bed was fixed against the wall on two sides so not accessible from both sides of the bed and with a very noisy light above the bed
There was no Mirror anywhere near the power points or desk so difficult for blow drying hair and the hairdryer was broken anyway!
The only full length mirror was placed too high on the wall for me to check my complete appearance (and again no power point near by).
My friend in a room opposite with a window opening onto the flat roof complained about strong cooking smells from the other rooms so check the orientation of the room.
However I loved having my own little apartment and the position is perfect for everything at the Fringe and with a lift for good accessibility and very helpful staff on the desk!
Watch out for the cab company on a fixed phone line from the lobby who tried to overcharge us from the agreed rate on the way back to the airport with a very aggressive cab driver. I complained to the University but had no reply!

Room Tip: Check the orientation of the room for noise and smells and the position of the bed if a couple. Wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was put in the Richmond Place apartments by work for one night and was given a Superior Studio. Wow, I was very impressed! It was clean, modern, spacious and relaxing.
I would recommend for business or pleasure, definitely worth a place on your short list to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCooper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

It is a good choice for a family , has a bedroom upstairs and a livingroom downtown stairs.
Hotel is very close to hunters square and royal mile.5 minutes walk to royal mile and central station, 10 minutes to castle and cannon gate.
A lot of restaurants and markets around.
But not a proper hotel mostly like an university accomodation,staff is very friendly

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Atıl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very compact apartment but modern and very clean. I thought the place was hard to find because it is only a small sign on the building indicating the hotel. The place is quiet but when there are people walking in the corridors hear them hugely. I found really very warm and friendly welcome. The internet is free which is great. The apartment is made of three small floor and there is a few steps each time it is not practical for luggage but for the price it is worth it. All done on foot as the Edinburgh Castle is just a couple of minutes (about 15 minutes). Also there is a Tesco (grocery store) close about 4 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queendv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh1st, Customer Relations at Richmond Place Apartments, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your recent positive and informational review of Richmond Place Apartments.

We are happy you found our staff friendly and welcoming and I will pass your kind words on to them. We recently started providing free WiFi due to reviews from our guests, so it is great to hear that you appreciated this. We really appreciate the time you took to take photos of the property to go with your reviews, our guests love to see as many pictures as possible.

If you return to Edinburgh we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

These apartments are really for students, though they do suit short stay. We had a room which fitted 4, with the kids on a Sofa bed in the main living space. Kitchen dining & living in one room was quite modern very clean but a bit compact for 4. Bathroom was tiny and was quite tight for a taller person. Easily within walking distance to all the sights but far enough to be quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edhill-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Kenneth Mackenzie
Kenneth Mackenzie
#134 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#25 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Apartments

Property: Richmond Place Apartments
Address: 5 - 9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH89VE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new, contemporary and independent serviced apartments, with 35 apartments in the centre of Edinburgh. All have modern cooking facilities, linen, towels, ironing facilities, TV, telephone and a safe. Full Scottish breakfast is available ( at extra cost) in the adjacent building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Place Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Richmond Place Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing