We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£133
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Hotels.com
£140
Fully refundable before Sun, 3 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£126
Fully refundable before Sun, 3 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
643
113
18
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
643
113
18
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel no lift georgian townhouse junior suite lovely boutique calton hill beautiful hotel free standing bath top floor single room full scottish breakfast breakfast was delicious quiet street small hotel city centre home from home bathroom door
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2019

24 Royal Terrace is in a great location for closeness to the city centre whilst still remaining quite quiet. The hotel has an excellent garden at the back, ideal for a drink on a warm day. We stayed in one of the suites (room 3) and it couldn't be faulted. The staff were excellent and very helpful throughout our stay with a lot of very cool artwork on the walls.

The breakfast in the morning was exceptional with portions that would satisfy the hungriest of people, would absolutely recommend. On the Saturday night when we returned from dinner and drinks, we opted to have a drink in the bar and I wanted to try a whisky or two. After a quick conversation and my lack of whisky knowledge becoming apparent we were offered a "tasting tour" of the 6 whisky regions of Scotland for £30 as we were hotel residents. Despite it being late at night, our host took the time explaining about each region, the history behind it, the history behind the hotel being on whisky row, interesting facts about the bottles and how the shape came about, how it should consumed, how adding 6 drops of water changes the notes and flavours. It was absolutely brilliant and I would highly recommend this tasting tour if you are staying at the hotel!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZOWSKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2019

Dear ZOWSKO,

Thank you for taking the time to review 24 Royal Terrace. It's great to hear that you delved into our whisky collection and enjoyed a few of Tony's whisky stories!

Hopefully we will see you again sometime!

All the best.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019

1.Location: It's within walking distance of main attractions and shopping.
2. It's on a quiet, tree-lined street.
3. It's in an elegant Georgian townhouse with old world charm.
4. The beautiful garden is a lovely place to relax, have tea, or enjoy a drink.
5. Unique, interesting art adorns the walls.
6. Staff is very helpful.
7. Rooms are tastefully and elegantly decorated.
8.There is a wide array of amenities in the rooms.
9. Breakfasts, both continental and cooked, are delicious.
10.Unique, interesting art adorns the walls.
Bonus: Most days Scotch Whisky expert Tony is available in the bar to lead you in an educational, fun tasting of Single Malt Scotch Whisky from all five whisky regions.

Room tip: It's 70 steps up to the top floor and there's no lift (elevator). Ask for a room on one of the lower floors.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pstewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Hello!

Thank you for finding 10 (+1) lovely things to say about 24 Royal Terrace! It's always great to hear about what our guests enjoyed during their stay.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you and we do hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2019 via mobile

We got married in Edinburgh recently and had looked at lots of places to stay on the night of our wedding - we are so glad that we picked 24 Royal Terrace as they were so kind to us.
The staff accommodated an early check in so that we could have ample time to get ready. We were able to enjoy the luxurious bath, sumptuous furnishings and fabulous view.
The hotel then were happy to host our friends and family for a drinks reception after the wedding and looked after us all really well. The whole experience was so relaxed and enjoyable from start to finish. The staff could not have been nicer or more supportive.
The breakfast was amazing with excellent veggie and vegan options.
All in all, we genuinely couldn’t have had a more positive experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 451GinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Hi Gina,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us!

I hope you had an amazing Honeymoon and wish you all the best for the future!

Thank you for booking with us direct and we very much hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

What a find! Such a great little hotel a short walk from the main attractions. Comfy rooms and beds and lovely, clean bathrooms. Absolutely wonderful staff, great rooms and all in all a great experience. You're surrounded by art, of all different shapes and sizes, most of which is available for purchase, should you wish - brilliant! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Dear wendywoo1984,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you again in the future!

All the best,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2019

If you like to be surrounded by art of all shapes, sizes and styles in this attractive town house, then this is the place to stay in Edinburgh. The staff are attentive but not intrusive. The rooms are comfortable, breakfasts are wonderful and soon one feels so at home that this is tinged with regret at not being able to stay longer than 2 nights. Very easy to walk in all directions for access to Edinburgh's attractions. Will certainly return!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
24RoyalTerrace, Manager at 24 Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Hello Carol,

Thank you for your excellent feedback, we really appreciate it. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our wonderful breakfast!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, remember to book direct for the best rates available!

Best Wishes,
Jonathan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews