We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well suited for big groups”
Review of Claremont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Claremont Hotel
Ranked #135 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well suited for big groups”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The landlord of this lovely establishment just couldn't have been kinder to us. Great bar downstairs and good breakfasts. Everyone came away from the experience feeling their money to have been well spent. Really nice location and easy enough to get to the centre of town on foot. Certainly gets my recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbuck451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
20
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a comfortable stay at the Claremont Hotel. Good amenities and sumptuous breakfast. In terms of service, it felt more like a hotel than a B&B with limited interaction with our hosts. Certainly a safe bet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nandita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My 12 years old son and classmates(40 of them) spent 3 days in Edinburgh, they stayed at Claremont Hotel, and they had an amazing time, nice selection of food offered, staff very friendly and welcoming , my son reckoned the hotel should be at least 3.5 STARS if not 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMIF986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Having never written a review before, it took something a bit special to make me do so. From the moment we arrived, a 12 man party on a stag do, we were made to feel very welcome and the owner went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Superb value for money, great location just a 10 minute walk from all the action. Terrific breakfast. Would 100% come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We took a group of Under 13s Rugby players mums and Dads, we had a fantastic time at the hotel, the bar and music was great, the rooms where also great, The scottish Breakfast was very nice. The Rooms where very large, each having their own bathroom, with a large group, we could have five people in one room, which met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

i stayed there on a school trip and the staff especially the owner were very friendly even when we came back at 11 o'clock at night the owner was still prepared to give us each a glass of water the beds were comfortable and the food was lovely!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great as i was in most of them and they are all very spacious and none of them are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bananas20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This Hotel is Brilliant we stayed here on a four day trip to edinburgh with a club.

The hotel yes is not brand spanking new, but it is warm with lots of space our club took up the whole hotel with 62 of us all together, 5 of us in room 19.

The shower was alright and the bathroom was very large for the room size which was great for 5 girls.

It had a spacious wardrobe, tea and cofee facilities, amazing breakfasts and we had a lovely disco with the manager as the DJ which was really sweet we were treated like 5 star adults instead of crazy kids the food was lovely and is great for all diets with something new every night.

I was sooooooo pleased and would stay again in a second i adored my stay at claremount hotel and i will never forget it brilliant for large groups.

The manager was extremely nice too. :)

Room Tip: I was in all of the rooms as we booked the whole hotel and were in a group trip with all my friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twilighter2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#112 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#122 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#128 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#142 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Hotel

Property: Claremont Hotel
Address: 14 - 15 Claremont Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 4HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Claremont Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing