We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special - overpriced”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #123 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nothing special - overpriced”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel was clean and pleasant but nothing special and certainly not worth the money. I would describe it as a B&B rather than hotel. The best thing about the hotel was the location. Enough spaces on the street for parking and in a central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    89
    40
    19
    17
See reviews for
38
69
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballantrae, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After being transferred here after a problem with our original hotel. I expected a nice hotel at 3 stars. however when we opened our room door we were greeted with a dark outdated room that needed completely decorated to bring it up to standard. The family room had 2 cups for tea/coffee and 2 towels in the bathroom, shower curtain was mouldy, bath was slippy when having a shower and water was lukewarm. Bathrooms door had no lock and door was hard to shut/open.

Sweetie lying on the stairs for hours was a nice touch with staff members going past it and not tidying it up. Bar was non exsistent, with the beer choice being a bottle of Stella or can of tennants. Plus no where to eat in the evenings in the hotel, although judging by the breakfast choice and taste in the morning was probably for the best. Sausages had no taste whatsoever (looked like wall's sausages) bacon had grease all over it, poached eggs tasted like they had been left in a local chip shops salt and vinegar filled newspaper overnight. The coffee was watery and continental breakfast selection was very poor. This was nothing though in comparison to hearing about the breakfast waitresses wine drinking habits and of the other girls trips to the dentist. On checking out there was no question from the owner(i'm assuming) about my stay. The £110 they are asking to stay here for a family room is very steep in comparison to what else is out there. Definitely not worth the money and if this is a 3 star hotel then i wouldn't like to stay in a 1 or 2 star. The AA should perhaps stick to recovering peoples car if this is what they regard 3 star. Shall not be returning ever again.

Room Tip: Pack a tent, very nice grounds across the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is smart from the outside. The reception , breakfast room and hallways are clean and smart.I asked for an upstairs room and we had a room on the top floor.I did not mind the many stairs even with luggage. The room however was a disappointment.The bathroom was standard white small bath with shower over the bath.There was a chip and crack in the toilet. The showere worked when it felt like it.
The room was around 6 feet wide and 14 feet long. The double bed was up against the wall.making it difficult for the perso near thw wall to visit the bathroom if needed.
The wardrobe was a cupboard built out into the room. This blocked the light to half the room.Part of the bed base was very dirty. The window had a broken pain of glass. The fabric chair in the room was stained.The decor was very dated and dull.Not inviting and you certainly did not want to spend much time in there.The beverage facilities were very good.
I am not sure if all the rooms are as small as this. It would have been small even with a single bed in it.If other rooms are bigger the very small rooms should be sold as that ( a very small double ) and the price should be cheaper than other rooms.
The staff were very pleasant. The Polish girl serving breakfast was very nice and very efficient. The breakfast was good with a good selection of food on the menu.
If you intend to walk from the station it takes about 10 -15 minutes. However Royal terrace has a hill at the start which you should keep in mind depending on luggage.
Would I recommend it no if the hotel is full you may get room 18 with no option to change rooms.

Room Tip: You cant really choose. You may be allocated the small rooms or basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathjohnson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Abbey Hotel
1. Booked in February-asked for few stairs and shower and preferably not basement.
2. Agreed via email with manager John and Deborah.
3. Arrived 27/4/12– two flights of poorly lit stairs to basement , 4 beds and a bath with shower over it. Bath grab rail missing.
4. I asked if they could be relocated. Manager offered another basement room which had just been painted, smelled strongly of wet paint, and was much smaller but had a shower.
5. Parents decided that as they had already settled they would not move.
6. Deborah asked if they did move did I think their room would need cleaning?
7. The manager said he could improvise by giving Dad a cardboard box containing last years Edinburgh guides to use as a step into the bath.
8. I told Deborah that I was really not satisfied as it was not safe. She told me that she had never received emails from me making requests and I must have emailed the wrong hotel/address.
9. I showed her all the emails from my iphone.
10. We booked a taxi from the hotel which was delayed for some reason. Deborah stood outside on the pavement with us in the cold complaining about the local taxis being useless. 10 minutes later she volunteered to ring another number.
11. Not once did we receive an offer of help or an apology. However, Deborah did state that ‘they are useless at looking after people’. Also they took off the bar bill from the final settlement as a ‘sort of apology for inconvenience’.
12. Appalling treatment/accommodation ....................Never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyHotel E, Manager at Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
sorry to hear your comments as we did everything possible to to sort this problem out.
we offered you in total 3 different rooms.
And the only reason we asked if room was used is because we where fully booked and as housekeepers had left.
You kept quoting manager and Deborah.I am the manager as well as PAUL. who JOHN is i`m not sure.as he anwsered your emails as you say,and we have never had a john here!!!
i wont say any more as you did put a formal complaint in to booking agent and it was rejected as your claims where slightly exaggerated.
the only thing i would add is that on booking these room at no point was it mentioned that your father was slightly disabled and was in a wheel chair..if we had known we would have informed you that our hotel is not suitable as we have no facilitys for wheelchairs and it also states that on booking sites.The Hotel was built in 1820 and there are stair to every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at the Abbey Hotel in January 2012 and while the owners, man and wife, were very lovely, helpful, and accomodating, the first people to 'greet' me were the 20 something housekeepers who literally glared at me. As a single woman traveling in a new country, I would have liked a less hostile attitude from the people I knew would be in my room. I could deal with the shower going from boiling hot to freezing cold every 10 seconds and the heater that was blocked by the curtain (so if I wanted a warm room, I'd have to open the curtain on the street level) but the atmosphere the housekeepers created makes me not recommend this hotel. Sorry, man and wife owner, you guys seemed really nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

As a family of 4 (inc young adult kids), the room was just the right size for our needs having stayed here for 2 nights. It is an excellent quiet location, 10-15 mins walk to eateries and 20 mins walk to the castle and Princes Street. Was able to access private off street parking (5 mins drive and 10-15 walk) at a reasonable daily rate facilitated by the hotel. Given it prime location, there is no need to drive when you can walk. Given the unusually warm weather in March, this was ideal for a walk/jog around the area. The staff was courteous and helpful. The Scottish breakfast was tremendous!

Room Tip: South facing rooms are quieter facing the hill/park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar_oz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed for a night with my wife and you simply cannot fault this place, 10 min walk to the old town, fantastic breakfast just all round great value! A stay in the abbey hotel is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stockocubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#126 of 149 in Edinburgh
206 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,168 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 149 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 149 in Edinburgh
804 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#128 of 149 in Edinburgh
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: 9 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elegant tree-lined terrace, overlooking the Firth of Forth, is the Abbey Hotel (formerly Greenside Hotel). Designed by the renowned architect William Playfair as a family town house for a wealthy merchant, this is an traditional Georgian building, built in 1820, with many of fine original features still in place. ***NEWLY REFURBISHED RECEPTION & PUBLIC AREAS****PLEASE NOTE RECEPTION IS NOT OPEN 24hrs.*Latest Check-In Time is 10:30PM - Should you have an unscheduled travel delay please call the Hotel to arrange a later check-in.The hotel is ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, being a 10 minute walk from the bustling cosmopolitan heart of the City.Only 10 minutes to Princes Street and Ocean Terminal for the Royal Yacht Brittania. Close to Playhouse Theatre (5 minutes walk), Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street (with it's famous gardens and views of Edinburgh Castle).Access to Edinburgh's International Conference Centre, the Airport and motorway networks is very convenient, and Waverley train and St Andrew Square bus station are close by. Our welcoming en-suite rooms offer the discerning traveller all the comforts expected, including Freeview Digital colour television, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and telephone.****Free Wi-Fi (Internet access is available in all bedrooms), also lap-top hire if required********Snacks available within the hotel, upon request*********Local Golf can be arranged*****Most of the hotel's refurbished rooms (new soft furnishings include DUVETS on guest beds, although blankets also provided, if preferred) provide wonderful views over Royal Terrace gardens and out to the Firth of Forth, or the tranquility of our own private gardens to the rear.Edinburgh has all that the visitor could wish for. With many fine art galleries, museums and theatres, a cultural presence is never far away. History is reflected in the Royal Mile, the Palace of Holyrood House and the Castle, all contrasting with the elegant terraces of the 'new town'.As a base for touring, Edinburgh is unbeatable.There is a wide variety of local shopping facilities, including Harvey Nichols, restaurants and bars. Just a few minute's walk from the Omni Centre which boasts a Warner Village Cinema , bars, restaurants, nightclub and comedy venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenside Hotel Edinburgh
Abbey Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing