We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$328
US$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$222
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
66
98
47
21
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
98
47
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal terraceno liftcalton hillfull scottish breakfastprinces streetrecommend this hoteldouble bedsmall hotelwaverley stationroom was clean and comfortablequiet streetcentral locationhaggisroyal milethe heart of the citylocation is excellentpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Staff were very warm and friendly. Was put in a room at the bottom of the stairs (6) that had a unique layout although i did quite like it. Only small thing i think they could improve on in regards to furnishing is replacing the small plastic cups with glass ones in the bathrooms. Breakfast was average, couldn't complain for the price tho. Location is a short walk to the station so is ideal!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times before each time stopping in a different room this time at the front room no 15 the room is very basic but clean and tidy could do with a couple of pictures on the walls and some coat hooks behind the door to hang coats on if you are a light sleeper it would pay to ask for a room at the back overlooking a very nice garden as the road outside of the front of the hotel is cobbled and the traffic rumbles over it all through the night the breakfasts are well presented lots of choices including porridge and served by very polite staff there are no lifts in this hotel but we found it good exercise walking up several flights of stairs which on the fifth day of our stay we could do without being out of breath the owners or managers are very nice people who we have met several times very friendly and nothing is to much problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from weekend in Edinburgh. Staff at the Abbey helped to make it a great stay.

Helpful friendly couldn't do enough to make our stay a great one.

Breakfast set us up for the day, room was huge, warm and beds comfortable.

Just 5 mins round the corner from Playhouse and free weekend parking. A winner all the way.

Original features, beautiful ceiling roses and cornising, huge high ceilings.

Room Tip: Room no9 huge with double and single bed. At back of hotel with view of garden
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deeprest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My trip to Edinburgh was a last minute decision and as I couldn't book a room in the same hotel where my friend stayed I booked into Abbey hotel. The reason for booking this hotel was that it was only a few doors down from where my friend stayed and was affordable and in a great location.

I booked a single room and although I felt that the room was tightly furnished it was comfortable enough and the temperature in the room was spot on. Not too cold or warm either in the morning or at night. The wifi also worked really well both in my room and in the breakfast room.

I found the bed (double) comfortable, the bathroom seemed to be recently renovated as it was pristine clean and the shower was powerful and hot.
Breakfast was tasty and a good selection from the traditional porridge to full fry-up and finally I must say that the staff were super friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank AndreaandHaydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had booked to go and see the Lion King Edinburgh and was looking for a hotel nearby and got the Abbey Hotel 10 min walk from the Playhouse, hotel was brilliant value and Breakfast was brilliant altogether great value for the money, Hotel was clean and staff couldn't of been more helpful and they didn't push you out the door at 11.00 the next morning they let you take your time.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovley and they have all different outlooks, gardens were well maintained.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews