We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad thing to say” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountain Court Apartments - Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad thing to say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The apartment had everything that was needed for comfortable stay. It was very clean, spacious, it was quiet so sleeping wasn't disrupted at all, the location was great, a black cab from the royal mile was only £6. There a tesco express just around the corner which was handy. The staff were very pleasant. Overall the stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review, it is always good to hear feedback on customers pleasant experiences, and we are glad that you were able to relax with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    88
    31
    15
    9
See reviews for
79
68
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here with friends. lovely central place. Well equipped apartment and staff were very helpful. would definitely recommend this place and will be my first choice if looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for the review, it makes everything we do worthwhile to see that we are keeping our residents happy. The comments will be passed onto the staff, and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

As me and my friends were down in Edinburgh to see Frank Turner at the Corn Exchange, we booked ourselvesinto a hostel (Edinburgh City Hostel Westend) only to discover that the address was wrong and there was no way to contact the tenants. So in a hurry, we went to lastminute.com and found an apartment for the four of us in this location. Needless to say, they were lifesavers! The apartment was brilliant with all the amenities you would need for a good night's kip, in a great location to boot, with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The only downside was the lack of hot water in the morning, but this was a small mark on a great apartment . The only like other thing I would say would be bring your own pillows as the ones provided were a bit thin for my likin. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellon1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Grove Apartments and for your positive feedback and constructive comments which I shall share with our team.

Please accept my apologies for the problem with the hot water and I have fed back your comments to our Housekeeping Manager with regard to the pillows.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy your weekend in Edinburgh after your initial problem with accommodation.

I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We booked the Grove apartments as part of a two-night special offer with an East Coast train ticket; it was pretty cheap so we didn't really have high expectations for the apartment.
However it exceeded everything we had hoped for. A clean, attractive two bedroomed apartment with a living room and fully equipped kitchen. The apartment gave us everything (salt, sugar, tea bags, dishwasher and washing tablets, towels, tea towel etc) AND a generous quantity of breakfast was provided - milk, yoghurts, cereal, juice, toast, butter, jam. It was supposed to be one day's worth but easily lasted for two.
The apartment was warm (perhaps slightly too warm), comfortable and quiet. It was serviced even though we were only there for two nights, and we had no trouble from neighbouring occupants. The staff were warm and friendly.
Don't come and stay here if you are expecting the lap of luxury - the flat was comfortable and functional, not modernist and boutique. The furniture was pleasantly bland, but better than we expected from reading other reviews and taking the price into consideration.
As for location - well it's 20 minutes walk to Princes Street. Other reviewers seem to think this is too far to manage but we live in London so it felt close for us, even taking two small children and some really bad Scottish rain into consideration!
Thank you, Grove Apartments, for making our stay a really easy and pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colorizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Grove Apartments and for your positive feedback.

I am pleased we exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the complimentary breakfast which was included in the package you booked.

I have spoken to our Facilities Manager with regard to the heating.

I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

After booking online and not really knowing what to expect, we were extremely happy with our stay here! Extremely tidy, friendly staff, great location and very affordable! I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessjowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain court member at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of our Grove apartments, it is great to hear that our valued residents are finding their stay to be a pleasant experience. We do look forward to welcoming you on future visits to Edinburgh.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Good value apartment, good check in, has all that you would expect from style of accommodation. Rooms small but ok. We stayed here several years ago, it is in need of an update, furnature is dated, carpets old. It's basic nothing special. Near conference centre but a good 30 minute walk to princes street same for old town and George street.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Separate bedrooms and living room with small kitchen makes these appartments Perfect for families. good location within walking distance of both Haymarket and Princess street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Morrison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - Grove

Property: Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Address: 121 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fountain Court Apartments - Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing