We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality (if Slightly Hot) Budget Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Within easy walking distance of both the town centre (15 minutes) and the closest train station (5/10 minutes) this apartment seemed ideal for our visit to Edinburgh. On arrival at the reception building, we were met with professionalism and courtesy, and given the key and code to the building gate. The apartment itself is a little way up the road, and is accessed through a side gate.

Once in the apartment we were hit by quite a wall of heat, as this building is something of a sun trap and will heat up very quickly in the sun. This can be alleviated somewhat by opening the windows while you are out, so it is not too much of a concern. The apartment comes with all the necessities you would expect from this kind of establishment, all of them good quality and well maintained. Bedroom was somewhat small, but this was not too much of an issue as the rest of the place feels quite roomy.

We were in a corner room, which could get quite noisy with the windows open, which in turn became an issue when we had to try and keep the temperature down. It may be a different story in some of the other rooms. All in all though, I enjoyed my stay at this apartment, and it was ideal for a weekend break to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the review you have given to our Grove Street apartments, it is good to see that you had a positive experience overall and that you were impressed by many aspects. We are always looking at ways to make sure the apartments are as comfortable as possible so your comments are taken into consideration. We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain court team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Although it is quite a walk to the centre of town the apartments are located in a very quiet neighbourhood. There is very few opportunity for having a goof breakfast at a decent hour.
The two places closed do not open until 9 am.
The apartment itself is of a good size. We stayed with another couple and had 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The beds are rather small.
Everything is very clean and rather well maintained.
The staf are very friendly and always ready to assist you where possible.
Not a bad choice when staying in Edinburgh and if you are not afraid of doing a bit of walking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the positive review you have given to our Grove street apartments, it is great to see that you had a largely positive experience, and the staff will be informed of your comments, unfortunately we have no control over the opening times of local cafe's but we can pass on the comments.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed 3 nights with my family. The location was good for touring Edinburgh and we appreciated having the space of a 2 BR apartment for the 4 of us. However, we had requested a flat with a double and 2 singles and arrived to find we'd been assigned 4 singles. We managed, mainly because we were too tired to move. The shower was unreliable, with temps swinging wildly 5-6 times in one short shower. But it was quiet, relatively clean, and best of all, available when we needed it. We had a flat on the top floor, which I believe helped with the quiet. Avoid the ground floor at all costs as we (and presumably everyone else staying in the building) would come past your door on the way to the elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Su1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the review you have left our Grove street apartments, we do apologise about your room being assigned differently for your stay. However we are glad that you appeared to have a largely positive experience despite this and the situation with the shower which we will look into. We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had taken a 1 bedroom studio as I was traveling with my husband n two kids (1 and 5)....there was a double bed which was soo small that only me n 1 of my daughters could fit....sofa in the hall also was very small (5 year old fell out) ..finally v had to ask for an extra bed which was equally rickety.....and the rates for this was in line with what other better brands (likes of Radisson, thistle, etc...) Were offering right on the city centre aroubd Waverley n royal mile......this us a 20 - 25 min walk to the centre....complete rip off n extremely unsatisfying on service as well....we had to call 3 in half hour...to get hot water started in the room, etc....pl avoid this however tempting the photos may look!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Swati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

Having looked into your comments further I understand that you booked via a travel agency and your confirmation was for an apartment for 2 adults with a double bedroom, there being no mention of children. Unfortunately we were unable to offer to move you to a larger apartment since we were full, you then requested two extra beds which we placed in your apartment, we explained that it would be cramped. With regard to your reservation confirmation and the rates you may wish to discuss this with your travel agent. I have no record of your comments regarding hot water.

I would be happy to discuss your comments if you contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter and two young grandchildren. From the first day until the last the toilet would not flush properly. We complained but it was never fixed and on the last morning would not flush at all. The apartment was for 4 people but there were only 2 dining room chairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our apartment has fallen below the usual standard our guests expect. This is now being dealt with directly with our reception manager.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed one night with our family in this appartment and we were really impressed how good this appartment was equipped. There was really everything what you need, more then you expect for a stay for one night. The staff was very friendly and correct. The localisation is perfect in Edinburgh. You are very quick in the centrum of the city. The appartment was very clean and big.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank an v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the great review you have given to our Grove Street Apartments, it is always great to see our guests having such positive experience with us, location is one of the key factors of our apartments and we are very happy to see you were very satisfied with the facilities and the staff. We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future visits to Edinburgh.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights for work and was very impressed. My flight was delayed past 11pm and I called ahead to let them know and they were really appreciative. Apartment was clean and not too noisy. 10 min walk to haymarket tram stop, really near a tesco express and virgin active gym. I will stay again

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sezboshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the great review you have given to our Grove street apartments. It is great to see our customers are having such positive experience with us. We look forward to you next trip to Edinburgh, whether it is business or leisure.

Best regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Harris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - Grove

Address: 123 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing