We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“single room very disappointing compared to double rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
orkney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“single room very disappointing compared to double rooms”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I always stay at this hotel and am usually very happy with the rooms and hotel overall. This time I arrived early and there were no rooms available. I was informed I could take a single room or a disabled king size, or call back after 2pm leaving my luggage with them. I was in a rush and on my own so I was happy to take a single room. I got the impression that these rooms are rarely used, it was shabby and cold. When I turned the heating up there was a strong burning smell, dust? There was a large gap between the door and frame which let in a large amount of light, directly opposite the bed which kept me awake. The bed was uncomfy and creaky nad I had no clock. The skirting board was coming away from the wall. Usually I stay in rooms at the back of the hotel but this one was on the corner of Morrison St and therefore noisy with traffic and people outside. Premier Inn try not to put single female travellers to the end of corridors but thats exactly where this room was. In hindsight I shoud've refused the room and checked in later.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnhutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    1,114
    406
    140
    64
See reviews for
689
1,042
146
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Does what it says, we stayed for the rugby and as such the prices had been inflated which meant the value was not what it should be. But straightforward and coped well with a busy weekend full of happy guests.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The rooms were spotless, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The hotel was in a fairly good location about 10-15 mins from the Royal Mile. If you are catching the train to Edinburgh, I recommend you get off at Edinburgh Haymarket, as it is practically across the road.

The staff were extremely helpful, and knowledgable about attractions and directions etc.

We booked ahead and got this room for £30 which was fantastic value. On the day we left we were able to leave our luggage in the luggage room till it was time to catch our train, which was very helpful indeed.

The breakfasts are a tad on the pricey side at £8, but to be fair, they are all you can eat, and have a good selection of both English and Continental items.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_and_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
We are delighted that your had a good time during your stay with us. It is great that you made your booking using our Premier Offer and that you found our hotel and facilities to be to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to continue to meet the expectations of our guests and give you the best possible service. Thank you so much for your review, we do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here for the rugby international in early February and whilst it didn't blow me away there were very few complaints. The staff were very friendly and efficient, rooms pretty basic (it is a premier inn!) but clean and the beds comfortable with a good buffet breakfast for £8.00. Ideally located in the Haymarket within easy walking distance of the city centre and Murrayfield, I would definitely recommend for a short stay away when you don't need to spend much time in the hotel itself. Ideal for rugby.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
We are pleased that overall your stay with us met your expectations and your enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed five nights to take in the rugby international. Hotel very crowded over weekend but high standards of service maintained by pleasant, hardworking staff. Just a ten minute walk up to Princes Street so all sights/sites conveniently close without the noise and crowds of the centre. We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast wonderful - all you can eat buffet of everything imaginable (except kippers, which we would have liked!)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Having just returned home from a two night stay at Premier Inn Haymarket I can highly recommend it for a comfortable cosy place to stay. It was a bitterly cold day when we arrived but we were quickly checked in and were able to regulate the heating in our room so it quickly became very warm.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant the first night and it was fine for what we paid, £11-95 for two courses. The breakfast is £7.99 each which is for as much as you can eat and plenty tea, coffee and juice which you can refill if needed. The staff throughout our stay, in the restaurant and reception were friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was`spotlessly clean and very comfortable and as it's only a 10 minute walk into the centre of town this Premier Inn is perfect for a stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Hotel itself is not too bad although it is huge so fairly noisy in the corridors at night. Also a lot of noise outside around 3am when the bars kicked out. Fairly central location.
Booked a disabled room which was on the first floor - ok but no slip mat in the bath and bath taps which were difficult to turn on. Was also advertised as having a bed which raised up - which it did not. My partner is disabled and therefore this would have been of great benefit.

Ate in the restaurant the first night - lamb rogan josh was on the menu as a special and my partner ordered this. Meatballs in gravy turned up - when we queried that this was not lamb rogan josh the waitress went to the kitchen and told us the chef said it was a special scottish version. To us it looked as though they had run out and had shoved some meatballs (definitely spaghetti meatballs - you could taste the tomato in them) in the leftover sauce and then watered it down..... We were late and too tired to argue with her so gave up - didn't bother to eat in there again. Breakfast was ok but really busy and often no tables available. OK as a reasonably priced hotel but we probably would not choose it again. Shame as Premier Inn are usually good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at the Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket hotel. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at the Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket hotel. I can confirm that bath mats are available on request at reception and all our baths have a not slip area by the shower, also you can request with reception that bed raisers are put under the bed if required. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,828 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing