We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #95 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is a very good, mid-priced hotel made excellent by the staff who can't do enough to help guests. The meal deal is really good value. The location is great, only about 10 minutes walk to the castle and 2 minutes from Haymarket Station where the airport bus stops. The bathroom was clean and fresh with plenty of hot water. Highly recommended for a weekend in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

I am glad you found the Meal Deal to be such good value and I will ensure that the lovely comments about the staff are passed on.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,872)
There are newer reviews for Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 2,873 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is failry new built hotel in a nationwide chain but it is one the best Premier Inns we have stayed in. Goood location within easy reach of Haymarket railway station and the aiport bus (and soon to have a tram stop). There are buses and taxis in the streets next to the hotel and you can walk down into Princes Street and the Castle areas if you fancy a gentle stroll. The hotel is large and very busy and is popular with tourist and business guests. Check-in was quick and efficient and we took the lift up to our room which was large with what must have been a king sized bed; spacious bathroom with plenty of hot water (but no toiletries) and enough room for clothes storage (open shelves and hangers). There is a desk with the TV and coffee /teas facilities and they provide a hair dryer. Ironing facilities are available on each floor. We liked the "blackout" curtains which helped get a good night's sleep. Bufffet breakfast was served in the ground floor restaurant/bar area and was very good with a choice of hot and cold dishes including fresh fruit; cereals; a full cooked breakfast and plenty of toast; croisants etc. (I reckon that breakfast costs were cheaper if you booked them with your room). It is self-service but there were plenty of staff clearing away dishes and cleaning the tables - it was very busy at the weekend. The bar is open till 1 am. They offer a left-luggage facility and the reception staff were very helpful with bus times and other local information. Free "Metro" papers available in the morning. There is a car park (chargeable). This is large hotel with many rooms (all the same no doubt) but it was just what we needed for our short visit and we would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same with street views. Double glazing kills the street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

At Premier Inn we value all guests’ feedback; I am glad to hear that you found our location so useful and enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. I will ensure that the kind comments are passed on to the whole team.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Good location for princes street etc for shopping. About 10 mins walk. The hotel itself was very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Had dinner on the meal deal and there was enough choice on the menu to have a good value meal. There are of course plenty of eating places in the area. Rose street is a good spot for bars and bistro/restaurants. The Rutland at the top of princes st was good and there is a jazz bar just round the corner. All in all had a very enjoyable weekend staying at the premier and exploring edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navidrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

At Premier Inn we value all guests’ feedback; I am glad to hear that you found our location so useful for the city and that you enjoyed your experiences in the restaurant.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Booked 1 night here as we were to be in Edinburgh for 1 night after our overnight flights/airport hangouts. We had paid ahead of time so it was only $80.

Room was clean...no view...both cold and hot water faucets only produced warm water. It's right across the street to the Haymarket train station which was our appeal. Breakfast buffet had adequate options, but the quality was average.

Pretty sure the beds were comfortable, then again, after being up for 30 hours and walking around the city for 2 hours, anything would have been.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck33m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review of our hotel, I am please that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Picked this hotel as it had car parking, straight forward check in, room available for early check in.
Room as expected, bathroom a little dated and worn but clean. Easy access to centre walking distance even for kids. Evening meal really good and breakfast again excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genna40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

At Premier Inn we value all guests’ feedback; I am glad to hear that you found our location so useful for the city and that you enjoyed your experiences in the restaurant.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Myself and my huband booked into this Premier Inn as we were flying in to Edinburgh from Krakow and would not be landing until midnight. We thought it would be easier to stay there and travel back through to Glasgow the next day as we would shattered after week in Krakow. The plane was actually late so we did not arrive until 1 am but it was one of the best decisions we made. The welcome was great,the room and facilities were just as advertised and the bed was one of the most comfortable ever. It was spotlessly clean and we got the perfect night's sleep. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was delicious. We will be back.

Room Tip: Not sure re other rooms but ours overlooked the back I think and we never heard a sound
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIFFITHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

At Premier Inn we value all guests’ feedback; I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your lovely comments are passed back to the team.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nothing bad, then good. It is strategically located in the city centre, walking distance to all the central places. I haven't bad thing to tell about, I haven't been disappointed by anything but also not excited about the rooms or the breakfast. It might have had another trip advisor mark if they would have offered a free wifi, it wasn't the case only 30 minutes.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank Antonello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaymarketOps, Duty Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. We do value your feedback.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

John Boswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
597 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#49 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing